Skip to main content

Our Collections: Home

More books 2018

More Books 2018 will shortly be going live, this is where you decide the ebooks that we purchase 

How does it work? 

We will soon be making thousands of ebooks available to you through Summon, we  are making available titles from the major UK academic publishers and a selection of America University Publishers including:

  • Taylor and Francis
  • John Wiley
  • Springer
  • Cambridge University Press
  • Laurence King
  • Bloomsbury
  • Palgrave Macmillan
  • Oxford University Press

All you have to do is use an ebook and the following will happen:

  • If the ebook costs less that £70 we will purchase it automatically for you, you won't need to do anything.
  • If the ebook costs more than £70 you can request it for purchase, you will need to fill in the pop-up form available with the information about the book.
  • Once you have filled in the request for purchase we will let you know the outcome as soon as possible and let you know when you can use the book. 
  • It may be possible for us to make the ebook available to you on short term loan, and we may do this in some circumstances
  • During the More Books scheme we will be providing information about the books that you have purchased on this page. 

Please talk to your Academic Liaison Librarian if you experience any problems accessing books. 

We currently hold over 150,000 individual titles of e-books and books.

You can search for print books and ebooks in Summon.

Books provide in-depth coverage, detailed analysis and background information for both general and specialised topic areas. 
Books are also useful because they offer a foundation or overview of information related to a subject area.  You should use books to develop your understanding of a topic.

To develop our stock we receive reading lists from tutors, monitor publisher catalogues, and actively seek stock suggestions and feedback.

We review the collection annually to ensure that the materials continue to reflect the needs of our staff and students, and are in good condition. 

If you are a member of staff you will find more information to help you compile your resource and reading list by following this link 

If you find a book on your reading list that isn’t available in the Library please call, e-mail or come and speak to us in person at the Library Helpdesk and we will do our best to order a copy ASAP.  You can also fill in the stock suggestion form.

Reading and Resource lists 

We work closely with academic staff to provide you with access to the material on your resource list.  

If you are a member of staff you will find more information about how we can help you to compile or review your resource and reading list by following this link.  You will also find information about how we can support you during course validation and reapproval. 

As well as our print collection we have access to a vast range of e-journals through our full text databases. These can all be searched via the Summon search tool.

We have a wide variety of eResources to support courses at University of Suffolk. Including digital archives, online journals, media and company information. 

You can access these resources directly thorough our A-Z list of eResources. or use Summon to search for content. 

We have a collection of DVDs that can be borrowed, these are situated in the library.

Our online streaming service Box of Broadcasts enables you to view recently recorded and archive material from the main television channels.  

Loading ...

Learning Services Latest Tweets