Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advanced Literature Search Guide for Nursing and Health Sciences: STEP 4: Choose your databases

Step 4: Choose your databases

This page will help you with choosing which databases will be best to use for your literature search. 

Choosing a database

To ensure your search is comprehensive, you should search several specialist databases using the ones that are most relevant to your topic. 

Make sure you are using the right tool for the job. Look at the description of the database to see if it will be relevant to your topic.

If you start searching and are not getting many results, it might be worthwhile looking in another database to see if it has content that is more relevant to your topic. 

Recommended databases

Take a look at the A-Z of eResources and filter to your subject to see a full list of recommended databases with links to access them. 

Here are just a few which may be useful. We recommend starting with CINAHL, as this is a large database covering a range of health-related subjects. 

British Nursing Database (Proquest) 
Includes key nursing journals 

CINAHL
​Includes key nursing and allied health journals - the best starting point for searching

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews  

Education Journals (Proquest)  
Useful for social and education topics within nursing and health

Emerald Management Plus
Covers health management journals rather than clinical practice

Family Health (Proquest)  
Includes medical journals and consumer and news magazines

Health Management (Proquest)  
Covers health administration

Health and Medical (Proquest)  
Aggregated search of Proquest health and medicine databases. Useful for radiotherapy.

Medline 
Covers medicine and nursing journals with very little full-text. TIP: Does not work well in Internet Explorer

NICE Healthcare Databases Advanced Search
Requires an Athens login. TIP: Most of these resources are already provided by University of Suffolk; however NICE databases remain accessible to students who leave University of Suffolk but stay in practice. An OpenAthens login is required to access these resources

Nursing and Allied Health (Proquest) 
Covers nursing, allied health and complementary medicine journals

Pyschology Database (Proquest)  
Covers psychology and mental health journals

PubMed 
Medline with a friendlier interface and additional in-process and older content with access to Clinical Queries

ScienceDirect​  
Useful for radiography and medical topics

All images included in this guide are available from Upsplash through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0