Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Step 9: Finding the full text
This page will show you how to find the full text of articles, even if they are not immediately available in the database you are using.
Finding full text journal articles
If you find a journal article citation with no direct link to full-text, try the following:
- Cinahl articles - display the citation and check if there is a DOI link towards the end (this will help you navigate to the full-text in another daatabase). Similarly for Proquest articles use the links provided to navigate to the article in another database.
- Copy and paste the article titles into Summon to check for full-text in another database (this should be the first result so you should not need to search furhter in Summon).
- Copy and paste the title of the article into Google - the article may be freely available on the web in an open access journal.
- Use the A-Z of Journals to navigate to your article - this is an alternative way of searching across the university's print and online collections.
- Check if your RCN membership gives you access to the journal.
- Check if you can access the article via your NHS Open Athens login if you have signed up for one.
L5, L6 and L7 students can a journal article if full-text cannot be found from any of the above sources. Books can also be requested.
All images included in this guide are available from Upsplash through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0