Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Introduction to Programming reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Java How to Program by The Deitels' groundbreaking How to Program series offers unparalleled breadth and depth of object-oriented programming concepts and intermediate-level topics for further study. Their Live Code Approach features thousands of lines of code in hundreds of complete working programs. This enables readers to confirm that programs run as expected. Java How to Program (Early Objects) 9e contains an optional extensive OOD/UML 2 case study on developing and implementing the software for an automated teller machine.This edition covers both Java SE7 and SE6.
Call Number: 005.133 DEI
Publication Date: 2015
C# 6 for Programmers by The professional programmer's Deitel#65533; guide to C# 6 and object-oriented development for Windows#65533; Written for programmers with a background in high-level language programming, C# 6 for Programmers applies the Deitel signature live-code approach to teaching programming and explores Microsoft's C# 6 and .NET in depth. Concepts are presented in the context of 170+ fully coded and tested apps, complete with syntax shading, code highlighting, code walkthroughs, program outputs and hundreds of savvy software-development tips. Start with an introduction to C# using an early classes and objects approach, then rapidly move on to more advanced topics, including LINQ, asynchronous programming with async and await and more. You'll enjoy the treatment of object-oriented programming and an object-oriented design/UML#65533; ATM case study, including a complete C# implementation. When you've mastered the book, you'll be ready to start building industrial-strength, object-oriented C# apps. Paul Deitel and Harvey Deitel are the founders of Deitel & Associates, Inc., the internationally recognized programming languages authoring and corporate training organization. Millions of people worldwide have used Deitel textbooks, professional books, LiveLessons(tm) video products, e-books, resource centers and REVEL(tm) interactive multimedia courses with integrated labs and assessment to master major programming languages and platforms, including C#, C++, C, Java(tm), Android(tm) app development, iOS app development, Swift(tm), Visual Basic#65533;, Python(tm) and Internet and web programming. Features: Use with Windows#65533; 7, 8 or 10. Integrated coverage of new C# 6 functionality: string interpolation, expression-bodied methods and properties, auto-implemented property initializers, getter-only properties, nameof, null-conditional operator, exception filters and more. Entertaining and challenging code examples. Deep treatment of classes, objects, inheritance, polymorphism and interfaces. Generics, LINQ and generic collections; PLINQ (Parallel LINQ) for multicore performance. Asynchronous programming with async and await; functional programming with lambdas, delegates and immutability. Files; relational database with LINQ to Entities. Object-oriented design ATM case study with full code implementation. Emphasis on performance and software engineering principles. Visit www.deitel.com Download code examples For Deitel's programming training courses, www.deitel.com/training or write to firstname.lastname@example.org Join the Deitel social networking communities: Facebook#65533; at facebook.com/DeitelFan Twitter#65533; at twitter.com/deitel LinkedIn#65533; at bit.ly/DeitelLinkedIn YouTube(tm) at youtube.com/DeitelTV Google+(tm) at google.com/+DeitelFan Subscribe to the Deitel#65533; Buzz e-mail newsletter at www.deitel.com/newsletter/subscribe.html
Call Number: 005.133 DEI
Publication Date: 2016
Introduction to Programming Using Java, 7th Ed. by WELCOME TO the Eighth Edition of Introduction to Programming Using Java, a free, on-line textbook on introductory programming, which uses Java as the language of instruction. This book is directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java. It is not meant to provide complete coverage of the Java language.
The eighth edition requires Java 8 or later, and it uses JavaFX for GUI programming. Version 8.1 is a small update of Version 8.0. This version briefly covers some of the new features in Java 11 and makes it clearer how to use this book with Java 11 and later. Earlier editions of the book are still available. See the preface for links to older editions.
You can the download this web site for use on your own computer. PDF, e-book, and print versions of the textbook are also available. The PDF that includes links might be the best way to read it on your computer. Links to the downloads can be found at the bottom of this page.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2014
There are no recommended journals for this module.
There are no recommended websites for this module.