Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Heart of Darkness by Complete with documents putting this classic novel into historical context and critical essays that take several contemporary critical perspectives, this version of Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness with a variety of suppporting resources.
Call Number: 823.91 CON MUR
Publication Date: 2010
A Critical and Cultural Theory Reader by The Critical and Cultural Theory Reader is an introduction to the key readings in cultural theory. It guides students through the tradition of thought, from Saussure's early writings on language to contemporary commentary on world events by theorists such as Baudrillard and Zizek. The second and expanded edition of this highly successful Reader reflects the growing diversity of the field and includes thirteen new essays. Divided into six thematic sections: Semiology; Ideology; Subjectivity; Difference; Gender and Race, and Postmodernism, the Reader features an editors' introduction to the volume, introductions to each of the thematic sections as well as invaluable summaries of each of the extracts.
Call Number: 801.95 EAS
Publication Date: 2004
Additional Recommended Reading
An Introduction to Literature: criticism and theory by Fresh, original and compelling, An Introduction to Literature, Criticism and Theory is the essential guide to literary studies. Starting at 'the beginning' and concluding with 'the end', the book covers topics that range from the familiar (character, narrative, the author) to the more unusual (secrets, pleasure, ghosts). Eschewing abstract isms, Bennett and Royle successfully illuminate complex ideas by engaging directly with literary works - so that a reading of Jane Eyreopens up ways of thinking about racial difference, whilst Chaucer, Raymond Chandler and Monty Python are all invoked in a discussion of literary laughter. Each chapter ends with a narrative guide to further reading and the book also includes a glossary and bibliography. The fourth edition has been revised to incorporate two timely new chapters on animals and the environment.
A breath of fresh air in a field that can often seem dry and dauntingly theoretical, this book will open the reader's eyes to the exhilarating possibilities of both reading and studying literature
Call Number: 801.95 BEN + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Literary Theory: the Basics by This third edition of Hans Bertens' bestselling book is an essential guide to the often confusing and complicated world of literary theory. Exploring a broad range of topics from Marxist and feminist criticism to postmodernism and new historicism Literary Theory: The Basics covers contemporary topics including: reception theory and reader response theory the new criticism of postmodernism the 'after theory' debate post-humanism, biopolitics and animal studies aesthetics Literary Theory: The Basics helps readers to approach the many theories and debates in this field with confidence. Now with updated case studies and further reading this is an essential purchase for anyone who strives to understand literary theory today.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Literary Theory by A quarter of a century on from its original publication, Literary Theory: An Introduction still conjures the subversion, excitement and exoticism that characterized theory through the 1960s and 70s, when it posed an unprecedented challenge to the literary establishment. Eagleton has added a new preface to this anniversary edition to address more recent developments in literary studies, including what he describes as "the growth of a kind of anti-theory", and the idea that literary theory has been institutionalized. Insightful and enlightening, Literary Theory: An Introduction remains the essential guide to the field. 25th Anniversary Edition of Terry Eagleton's classic introduction to literary theory First published in 1983, and revised in 1996 to include material on developments in feminist and cultural theory Has served as an inspiration to generations of students and teachers Continues to function as arguably the definitive undergraduate textbook on literary theory Reissue includes a new foreword by Eagleton himself, reflecting on the impact and enduring success of the book, and on developments in literary theory since it was first published
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1996
Theory of Literature by Bringing his perennially popular course to the page, Yale University Professor Paul H. Fry offers in this welcome book a guided tour of the main trends in twentieth-century literary theory. At the core of the book's discussion is a series of underlying questions: What is literature, how is it produced, how can it be understood, and what is its purpose?
Fry engages with the major themes and strands in twentieth-century literary theory, among them hermeneutics, modes of formalism, semiotics and Structuralism, deconstruction, psychoanalytic approaches, Marxist and historicist approaches, theories of social identity, Neo-pragmatism and theory. By incorporating philosophical and social perspectives to connect these many trends, the author offers readers a coherent overall context for a deeper and richer reading of literature.
Call Number: 801.95 FRY + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Critical Theory and Practice: a Coursebook by Critical Teory and Practice answers lots of questions, but also stimulates new ones. Its tailor-made combination of survey, reader and workbook is ideal for the beginning - perhaps even bewildered - student of literary theory. The work is divided into seven chapters, each of which contains guiding commentary, examples from literary and critical works, and a variety of exercises to provoke and engage you. Each chapter includes a glossary and annotated selection of suggested further reading. There is also a full bibliography. The authors cover the key issues and debates of literary theory, including: * Language, Linguistics and Literature * Structures of Literature * Literature and History * Subjectivity, Psychoanalysis and Criticism * Reading, Writing and Reception * Women, Literature and Criticism * Literature, Criticism and Cultural Identity Critical Theory and Practice is an refreshingly clear, up-to-date and eminently readable introduction to the subject. It not only guides you through the terminology and gives you a selection of the key passages to read, it also helps you engage with the theory and apply it in practice.
Call Number: 801.9 GRE
Publication Date: 1995
Modern Literary Criticism and Theory: a history by Written in concise and clear language, this book offers an historical overview of literary criticism and theory throughout the twentieth century along with a close analysis of some of the most important and commonly taught texts from the period.
Provides an accessible introduction to modern literary theory and criticism
Places various modes of criticism within their historical and intellectual contexts
Offers close readings of some of the major critical texts of the period
Explores the works of a diverse group of 20th-century writers, including Babbitt, Woolf, Bakhtin, Heidegger, Lacan, Derrida, Judith Butler, Zizek, Nussbaum, Negri and Hardt
Covers formalism, psychoanalysis, structuralism, deconstruction, Marxism, feminism, reader-response criticism, historicism, gender studies, cultural studies, and film theory
Call Number: 801.950905 HAB
Publication Date: 2008
The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism by The gold standard anthology for anyone who wants to understand the development and current state of literary theory. Offering 191 pieces by 157 authors, The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism, Third Edition, is more comprehensive and more varied in its selection than any other anthology. Forty-eight NEW selections--concentrated mostly on the twentieth and twenty-first centuries--make the book not only the best overview of the history of theory, but also a remarkably up-to-date portrait of the state of theory today.
Call Number: 801.95 LEI
Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge Companion to Critical and Cultural Theory by Now in a fully updated second edition The Routledge Companion to Critical and Cultural Theory is an indispensible guide for anyone approaching the field for the first time. Exploring ideas from a diverse range of disciplines through a series of 11 critical essays and a dictionary of key names and terms, this book examines some of the most complex and fundamental theories in modern scholarship including: Marxism Trauma Theory Ecocriticism Psychoanalysis Feminism Posthumanism Gender and Queer Theory Structuralism Narrative Postcolonialism Deconstruction Postmodernism With three new essays, an updated introduction, further reading and a wealth of new dictionary entries, this text is an indispensible guide for all students of the theoretically informed arts, humanities and social sciences.
Call Number: 801.95 MAL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Literary Theory by This anthology of classic and cutting-edge statements in literary theory has now been updated to include recent influential texts in the areas of Ethnic Studies, Postcolonialism and International Studies
A definitive collection of classic statements in criticism and new theoretical work from the past few decades
All the major schools and methods that make up the dynamic field of literary theory are represented, from Formalism to Postcolonialism
Enables students to familiarise themselves with the most recent developments in literary theory and with the traditions from which these new theories derive
Call Number: 801.95 RIV
Publication Date: 2010
Using Critical Theory by Explaining both why theory is important and how to use it, Lois Tyson introduces beginning students of literature to this often daunting area in a friendly and approachable style. The new edition of this textbook is clearly structured with chapters based on major theories that students are expected to cover in their studies.
Key features include:
coverage of major theories including psychoanalysis, Marxism, feminism, lesbian/gay/queer theories, postcolonial theory, African American theory, and a new chapter on New Criticism (formalism)
practical demonstrations of how to use these theories on short literary works selected from canonical authors including William Faulkner and Alice Walker
a new chapter on reader-response theory that shows students how to use their personal responses to literature while avoiding typical pitfalls
new sections on cultural criticism for each chapter
new 'further practice' and 'further reading' sections for each chapter
a useful "next step" appendix that suggests additional literary titles for extra practice.
Comprehensive, easy to use, and fully updated throughout, Using Critical Theory is the ideal first step for students beginning degrees in literature, composition and cultural studies.
Call Number: 801.95 TYS + eBook
Publication Date: 2011