Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Research Project by Now fully updated, this guide to research work continues to be indispensable for students at school, college or university.In The Research Project: How to write it, Ralph Berry sets out in clear and concise terms the student's main tasks, in the order in which they will be encountered, covering:* choosing a topic* using the library* taking notes* shaping and composing the project* writing cross-references and bibliographyAn important new chapter on the internet takes into account the increasing changes in the way research can be carried out today.An example of a well-researched, clearly written paper with notes and bibliography is included for reference, and common pitfalls outlined.An esssential introduction for students just starting project work and an invaluable reference for the more experienced.
Call Number: STSK 808.02 BER + eBook
Publication Date: 2004
The Portable Dissertation Advisor by `I do not believe that I have ever seen a work of this kind that so thoroughly and so carefully examines the important consideration of working with the student′s advisor, relationships with the student′s supervisory committee, and the oral defense. Students using this text will certainly will applaud this work′ - Professor M Scott Norton, Arizona State University This book gives doctoral students the tools they need to complete their dissertation from a distance. The nature and purpose of dissertations, the culture of academe, finding a topic, conducting a literature review, doing research - all these topics are covered with the needs of this particular cadre of students in mind. For many years, Miles T Bryant has taught a course in the construction of the doctoral dissertation, working with hundreds of doctoral students in education and social sciences. He is active in the American Educational Research Association and is widely published scholar
Call Number: 378.242 BRY
Publication Date: 2003
Doing a Successful Research Project by This straightforward, student-friendly guide contains all the practical advice for successfully undertaking a research project, leading students through all the stages of the research process. The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook supports students in conducting their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from. Describing processes, tools and strategies in a simple, succinct way, it supports the reader carefully through the planning and design stages, to implementation, analysis and completion. Doing a Successful Research Project is suitable for an interdisciplinary audience all over the world. It is aimed at undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking a research project or dissertation across the Social Sciences, Applied Social Sciences, Education, Health and Business Studies. It can also be used as essential or complimentary reading on modules on Qualitative and Quantitative Research and Research Design.
Call Number: STSK 001.42 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree.
Call Number: 808.066378 GRE
Publication Date: 2019
Excellent Dissertations! by "I honestly found this better than my dissertation supervisor. It was never off my desk and I scanned it thoroughly and followed it religiously. Highly recommended with a proven technique to help you gain a good mark!" Amazon reviewer "This book is, well...excellent! Simply and succinctly it takes you through each stage of planning a dissertation." The Psychologist A dissertation is likely to be the largest single piece of work you will be asked to produce. This handy book guides you through the whole process: planning your dissertation project, managing it, and writing it up. It offers friendly and practical advice and addresses all the questions students ask, including: How do I choose a topic? How should I manage my time? How can I make best use of my supervisor? How many chapters should my dissertation have? Which is the best referencing system to use? Excellent Dissertations! Second Edition is a lively, concise and to-the point guide, which will steer you through the entire dissertation process.
Call Number: STSK 378.242 LEV
Publication Date: 2011
How to Write Dissertations and Project Reports by Fully updated since first publication in 2007, and with extended and revised sections in key areas such as Plagiarism & Copyright, Ethics in research, and Citing & Referencing, How to write Dissertations & Research Projects will allow a student to assess and address their particular weaknesses in researching and writing dissertations and longer pieces of coursework and delivers detailed tips, techniques and strategies to enable them to significantly improve their abilities and performance in time to make a difference.
Call Number: STSK 808.066 MCM + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
How to Do a Research Project - A Guide for Undergraduate Students by Written specifically to address the needs and concerns of the undergraduate, this tightly focused second edition guides students through the process of conducting and completing a research project. Friendly and accessible, this fully-updated second edition includes a number of accompanying student support materials to aid students further. Closely integrated sets of end-of-chapter tasks covering all aspects of research projects from design to completion, as well as suggested further reading, enhance each chapter. A wide range of additional helpful materials relevant to particular subject areas is also available on the accompanying website at www.wiley.com/college/robson. This textbook is an invaluable resource for students in a wide range of disciplines and fields of study, particularly those planning to use social research methods or to carry out a library-based study, for their undergraduate research project.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 ROB
Publication Date: 2016
Writing Your Dissertation by This book gives you the confidence, tools and techniques to produce a first-class dissertation. It offers practical guidelines to planning realistic timetables and structuring every aspect of your work. Find out how to avoid common mistakes and the best way to present your work, and even how to assess your dissertation in the same way as a university or college tutor does.
Call Number: STSK 371.30281 SWE + eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Your Undergraduate Dissertation by ′This book is one of the most helpful I have seen in terms of helping undergraduate students understand the methods and principles involved in carrying out research for the final dissertation which many degree courses require. In essence it is a complete guide, covering every aspect of the process, outlining each step from selecting a theme to final writing and submission′ -ESCalate Your Undergraduate Dissertation: The Essential Guide for Success is a practical step-by-step guide to managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. Nicholas Walliman offers a comprehensive and easy to follow guide to both the theoretical and practical aspects of doing a dissertation. This book provides a clear and structured explanation of how to undertake a project, helping readers to identify and acquire the necessary skills to plan and carry out the research and writing. This practical and concise book provides: - Advice for preparing a project and choosing a topic - Guidelines for writing a project proposal and producing a literature review - Advice on choosing and implementing appropriate methodology - An awareness of ethical issues - Methods of data collection and analysis - Information for writing-up the report - Interdisciplinary case-studies and `real-life′ examples to illustrate key themes This book is a compact, easy-to-read guide to all the essential facets of dissertation writing at undergraduate level. Written in a lively and engaging manner, its use of humorous illustrations, simple exercises and useful guides to further reading, make it an attractive handbook for students across the social sciences. Written by an experienced lecturer and writer, this book is a`must-have′ for a any student anxious to maximize their success in dissertation writing.
Call Number: STSK 378.242 WAL
Publication Date: 2004
Planning Your Dissertation by Dissertations don't have to be daunting. This essential guide takes students through the planning for each stage of their dissertation, from hatching an idea to handing in their finished project. Bite-size chapters cover everything from devising a research question and engaging with the literature to choosing a methodology and refining your writing style. It also includes nine sample dissertations, so students can better anticipate what lies ahead. Clear and concise, it provides practical advice at every step and action plans to help students to stay on track. This book is the ideal companion to all students completing a dissertation as part of their undergraduate or postgraduate studies. It speaks to students of all backgrounds, from science and technology to social sciences and humanities.
Call Number: STSK 371.302 WIL
Publication Date: 2013