Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There are no essential texts for this module.
Introduction to Education Studies by In this fully updated fifth edition of this much-loved textbook, students will be introduced to different ways of looking at education, supported by links to classic and contemporary research. Built around the essential themes of psychology, history, policy and sociology that underpin Education Studies courses, key updates include: · New 'Applying Critical Evaluation' tasks to help develop your analytical skills · Analysis of recent curriculum developments including EY assessment, Ebacc and T-levels · Examination of education policy up to, and including, 2019 · Enhanced discussion of educational neuroscience and the science of learning
Call Number: 370.71 BAR
Publication Date: 2020
Special educational needs, inclusion and diversity 3rd ed. by Special Educational Needs, Inclusion and Diversity 3E has established itself as the textbook on special educational needs (SEN). The new edition of this popular textbook retains its comprehensive, insightful and accessible approach and reflects the latest changes in policy and legislation. It provides a stimulating balance between theory, research and practice as well as a unique analysis of the implications for SEN of linguistic, cultural and ethnic diversity.
Recognizing the complex and difficult nature of many special educational needs, the authors place a firm emphasis on inclusion and suggest practical strategies enabling professionals to maximise inclusion while at the same time recognizing and supporting diversity.
Key features of the third edition include:
* The increasingly diverse SEN approaches and legislation across England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland, within an
* Provision and arrangements for 16-25 year olds
* Identification, assessment and intervention strategies for SEN from the early years
* Responding to the diversity of social, emotional and mental health needs within the context of behaviour and discipline in
Special Educational Needs, Inclusion and Diversity 3E is the definitive handbook that supports teachers, educational psychologists, SENCOs, SEN specialist teachers and other professionals in working with children who have SEN in an increasingly diverse society.
Call Number: 371.9046 FRE
Publication Date: 2015
Becoming a Reflective English Teacher by Becoming a Reflective English Teacher builds firm bridges between theory and practice, exploring how these can be brought together to create powerful contexts for teaching and learning across the broad spectrum of elements of the English secondary curriculum. By combining both theoretical and practical dimensions, the book enables you to reflect meaningfully on the processes and impact of your teaching. In a structured and practical way this book introduces you to the paradigmatic and theoretical issues underpinning English teaching. Through its focus on the significant aspects of the role of the English teacher, the book enables you to consider not just the practice of English, but also a range of historical, social policy and theoretical perspectives relating to the development and formulation of English as a subject. Overall the book provides a detailed understanding of the major foundations of English as an academic discipline, as well as what this means for your teaching. Key features include: Professional reflection -targeted reflective activities M level tasks -designed to help develop strong and meaningful connections between academic and practical components of the teacher's role Into Practice -opportunities to think about the practical application of material in the book This book supports students training to teach English in secondary schools, as well as the professional development of teachers of English early in their careers. Contributors: Angella Cooze, Robert Fisher, Jenny Grahame, Bethan Marshall, Jo McIntyre, Debra Myhill, Vicky Obied, Maggie Pitfield, Richard Quarshie, Gary Snapper, Linda Varley, Annabel Watson, Paula Zwozdiak-Myers
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Special Educational Needs by The contributors focus on particular areas of special educational need, arguing that effective educational provision can be enhanced with reference to the particular problems experienced by children. Set in the context of a generic understanding of special education, this timely book addresses commonly-raised questions: what is the condition and how can I recognise it? why does it occur? what sort of educational, personal, and social consequences are there associated with it? are there any specialist skills and resources which I should know about? what are the implications for educational provision, teacher support, curricular access, assessment and classroom management? This popular book has been fully revised to provide a comprehensive overview of special needs provision. A such it is the key text on special needs in the '90s.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1992
The Practice of English Language Teaching by In this new edition, Jeremy Harmer brings you *the evolving identities of global English *the impact of technology on teaching *the issue of context-sensitive methodology *DVD with clips from real classrooms, observation tasks and interviews
Call Number: 428.24071 HAR
Publication Date: 2007
What does this look like in the classroom? Bridging the gap between research and practice by Educators in the UK and around the world are uniting behind the need for the profession to have access to more high-quality research and evidence to do their job more effectively. But every year thousands of research papers are published, some of which contradict each other. How can busy teachers know which research is worth investing time in reading and understanding? And how easily is that academic research translated into excellent practice in the classroom In this thorough, enlightening and comprehensive book, Carl Hendrick and Robin Macpherson ask 18 of today's leading educational thinkers to distill the most up-to-date research into effective classroom practice in 10 of the most important areas of teaching.The result is a fascinating manual that will benefit every single teacher in every single school, in all four corners of the globe.
Call Number: 371.102 HEN
Publication Date: 2017
Approaches to Learning:a guide for teachers by "This book provides a really sound grounding in the theories that underpin successful teaching and learning. Without over-simplification it provides accessible introductions to the key learning theories with which teachers and students are likely to engage, and it has immense practical value." Professor Sally Brown, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK This comprehensive guide for education students and practitioners provides an overview of the major theories of learning. It considers their implications for policy and practice and sets out practical guidelines for best pedagogical practice. The book can be read as a series of stand-alone chapters or as an integrated overview of theoretical perspectives drawn from the philosophy, psychology, sociology and pedagogy that guide educational principles and practice. Each chapter contains: An accessible introduction to each theory A summary of key principles Critical insights drawn from the theories discussed Examples and illustrations from contemporary research and practice Summary boxes that highlight critical and key points made Practical implications for education professionals Approaches to Learning is an invaluable resource for students and practitioners who wish to reflect on their educational constructs and explore and engage in the modern discourse of education.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Primary English: Teaching Theory and Practice by The Sixth Edition of this popular core text provides the essential teaching theory and practice for primary English. It promotes effective teaching through secure pedagogical knowledge, covering the key skills of planning, monitoring and assessment and class management, and relating these specifically to primary English. This Sixth Edition is linked to the 2012 Teachers′ Standards. With full coverage of the theory and practice required for effective and creative English teaching, this text is an essential guide for all trainees working towards QTS. Throuhgout, practical guidance and features support trainees to translate this learning to the classroom, embed ICT in their lessons and to understand the wider context of their teaching. Trainees will find it helpful to use this book alongside Primary English Knowledge and Understanding. About the Achieving QTS series All the books in this successful series support trainees through their initial teacher training and guide them in the acquisition of their subject knowledge, understanding and classroom practice. All new titles within the series link to the 2012 Teachers′ Standards and take into accont recent changes in Initial Teacher Training. Jane Medwell is an Associate Professor of Education at the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. David Wray is Professor of Literacy Education at the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. Hilary Minns co-ordinates primary English courses in the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. Elizabeth Coates works in the Institute of Education, University of Warwick, where she co-ordinate Early Years courses. Vivienne Griffiths is Professor of Education at Canterbury Christ Church University.
Call Number: 372.60440941 MED
Publication Date: 2012
Education Studies by This book is an essential guide for all education studies students, providing you with a clear overview of the key issues within your first year. It is an introductory text that encourages critical engagement, to enable you to develop a detailed understanding of the power and importance of education. The issues are presented in four main sections - Theoretical Perspectives; Policy; Society and the Individual; Inside the School - helping you to make the connections between the different themes. 'Stop, Think and Do' boxes play a key part throughout the book, encouraging you to critically reflect on both the issues within the chapters and within Education as a whole. Other features include: Introductions to each chapter to link the themes discussed in each section A summary of the key issues in each chapter for reflection Examples and case studies Links to key readings The book helps you to extend your understanding of educational issues beyond schools to other phases of educational provision.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Reflective Teaching 2nd Edition by Reflective Teaching is the most lucidly-written resource for teaching today. It is the best-selling, one-stop resource for trainee and newly qualified teachers. Tie-in website - contains further resources and material for learning. This is updated religiously by the authors every term. Improved text design and layout - to help the student navigate the text Reflective activities, chapter summaries and checklists - to allow students to navigate sections and check their learning Further reading and updated references - for each chapter Indexed - according to the requirements for qualified teacher status. Checklists - to provide at a glance guides to best classroom practice Summaries - of the structure, themes and objectives of each chapter. Reflective Teaching is the definitive textbook supporting reflective teaching and high quality classroom practice. It provides comprehensive support for trainee and newly qualified teachers and classroom support staff, and is widely used for in-service courses and school-based development activities. with two supplementary resources. These are: Readings for Reflective Teaching: a mini-library providing easy access to 120 key education texts, both classic and contemporary. www rtweb.info: a regularly updated website offering guidance on further reading, illustrative activities, and a compendium of educational terms.
Call Number: 370.7 POL
Publication Date: 2005
Special Educational Needs and Disability by Special Educational Needs and Disability: The Basics provides an engaging and comprehensive overview of special educational, and additional support, needs in education contexts in the UK. The third edition of this bestselling publication covers the historical development of special provision and national policy-making, and summarises current and proposed legislation and statutory guidance across England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, examining the fundamental principles of the field from policy to practice. Additional focus is given to recent legislation in England extending the age range of young people identified as experiencing difficulties from birth to 25 years, and the implications this has for practice. Fully updated to incorporate recent research evidence, this indispensable book covers essential features of policy and practice that teachers need to consider in and outside of the classroom, including: the identification and assessment of young people¿s special or additional learning and behaviour needs, and/or disabilities approaches to planning in order to meet special or additional learning needs of children and young people ways to address barriers to learning and behaviour associated with a variety of difficulties statutory guidance outlined in the Codes of Practice in England (DfE, 2015), Scotland (2010), Wales (2004) and Northern Ireland (1998) special educational, or additional support, needs provision and the wider children¿s workforce implications of disability legislation across the UK This is an ideal starting point for all those with questions about what constitutes special educational, or additional support, needs and disability and how to support those children and young people who experience such needs. It is essential reading for trainee and practising teachers, policy-makers and all those working with young people and their families.
Call Number: 371.90941 WEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2018