Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Introduction to Linguistics reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you through this module.
Speech Sounds by Speech Sounds: * helps develop the fundamental skills of the phonetician * investigates the various aspects involved in the production of speech sounds * uses data-based material to reinforce each new concept * includes examples from a wide range of languages * provides dozens of exercises with solutions and cross-references * can complement existing course or textbook material. The second edition of Speech Sounds has been revised and updated throughout and includes new examples and exercises, a new appendix giving information on career prospects; and a fully updated further reading section.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005
An Introduction to English Language by How does the English language work? If you are interested in discovering the answer to this question, then An Introduction to English Language is the ideal place to start. Written in a clear, lively, and easy-to-follow style, this introductory textbook is based around three core topics of linguistic study: WORD: English words, how they fit into sentences, their internal structure, their meaning and how they make up vocabularies for various purposes. SOUND: the sound systems of English, its phonetics and phonology, and English intonation and stress patterns. SENTENCE: English sentence structure and introductory English grammar. Packed with classroom tested examples and graded exercises, the third edition of this popular book features: a multimedia companion website , containing Powerpoint slides, mini-lectures, quizzes and downloadable audio files to aid study new material on language variation and change, including more examples of regional dialects, and extra material on New Englishes a new introduction to linguistics as a subject, familiarizing students with key issues and topics. Carefully designed as a course-book for either group or individual study, An Introduction to English Language remains an essential text for students and teachers of English language and introductory linguistics.
Call Number: 428 KUI
Publication Date: 2010
A Course in Phonetics by Offering the most current coverage available, A COURSE IN PHONETICS, 7e remains the authoritative text for the study of phonetics. Combining Peter Ladefoged's student-friendly writing style with Keith Johnson's comprehensive presentation, the Seventh Edition introduces concepts of speech production, describes speech in acoustic terms, and teaches practical phonetic skills including IPA transcription. Expanded sections on acoustic phonetics and speech motor control bring instructors up to date and help students use tools for digital inspection and manipulation of speech. Numerous updates include MRI images of vocal tracts. In addition, the thoroughly revised companion website includes interactive exercises, instant spectrograms for every chapter, over 4,000 audio files of nearly 100 languages, and maps keyed to sounds of languages where they are spoken. With its broad overview and numerous examples, A COURSE IN PHONETICS remains the ideal introduction to phonetics-no previous knowledge required!
Call Number: 414.8 LAD
Publication Date: 2014
Linguistics by Written by a team based at one of the world's leading centres for linguistic teaching and research, the second edition of this highly successful textbook offers a unified approach to language, viewed from a range of perspectives essential for students' understanding of the subject. Using clear explanations throughout, the book is divided into three main sections: sounds, words, and sentences. In each, the foundational concepts are introduced, along with their application to the fields of child language acquisition, psycholinguistics, language disorders, and sociolinguistics, giving the book a unique yet simple structure that helps students to engage with the subject more easily than other textbooks on the market. This edition includes a completely new section on sentence use, including an introduction and discussion of core areas of pragmatics and conversational analysis; coverage of sociolinguistic topics, introducing communities of practice; a wealth of new exercise material and updated further reading.
Call Number: 410 RAD
Publication Date: 2009
The Study of Language by This bestselling textbook provides an engaging and user-friendly introduction to the study of language. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, Yule presents information in bite-sized sections, clearly explaining the major concepts in linguistics - from how children learn language to why men and women speak differently, through all the key elements of language. This fifth edition has been revised and updated with new figures and tables, additional topics, and numerous new examples using languages from across the world. To increase student engagement and to foster problem-solving and critical thinking skills, the book includes thirty new tasks. An expanded and revised online study guide provides students with further resources, including answers and tutorials for all tasks, while encouraging lively and proactive learning. This is the most fundamental and easy-to-use introduction to the study of language.
Call Number: 400 YUL
Publication Date: 2014
The Frameworks of English by How does language work? What are the different elements? How do they all fit together? The Frameworks of English is a step-by-step guide through the various levels of language, describing the morphological, lexical, grammatical and phonological frameworks of contemporary English in a clear and logical way. Beginning with words as the building blocks of language, it investigates their internal structure and shows how words can be combined into larger and larger units, from phrases to sentences and beyond. The sound system of language is explored, covering the production of individual sounds as well as the features of syllable structure and connected speech. The third edition of this popular textbook:* features a new chapter on how to approach accent and dialect variation in English throughout the world* includes both spoken and written examples of electronically mediated language* offers updated suggestions for further reading and research
Call Number: 425 BAL
Publication Date: 2013
A history of the English language by A History of the English Language explores the linguistic and cultural development of English from the Roman conquest of England to the present day to provide a comprehensive overview of the different aspects of its history. This best-selling classic textbook has been revised and updated and encourages the reader to develop both an understanding of present-day English and an enlightened attitude toward the issues affecting the language today.
New features of the sixth edition include:
an additional chapter titled 'English in the Twenty-first Century', which examines the future of English and other global languages and includes an assessment of Chinese as a world language
an in-depth treatment of phonological changes, such as the placement of the Great Vowel Shift as a bridge between Middle English and Renaissance English
further coverage of corpus linguistics, especially for Renaissance English
fresh sections on accent and register
a new survey of the recent debate between "creolists" and "neo-Anglicists" on the origins of African American Vernacular English.
Balanced and wide-ranging, this textbook is a must-read for any student studying the history of the English language
Call Number: 420.9 BAU
Publication Date: 2013
Analysing Sentences by This highly successful text has long been considered a standard introduction to the practical analysis of English sentence structure. As in previous editions, key concepts such as constituency, category and function are carefully explained as they are introduced. Tree diagrams are used throughout to help the reader visualise the hierarchical structure of sentences. The final chapter sets the analysis in the context of generative grammar. In thisthird edition, Analysing Sentences has been thoroughly revised. It has an attractive new layout, more examples, clearer explanations and summaries of major points. A major change concerns the analysis of auxiliary verbs, which has been revised to bring it more in line with current thinking. Clear development from chapter to chapter, together with the author's accessible style, make this book suitable for readers with no previous experience of sentence analysis. A practical and reader-friendly text, it includes many in-text exercises and end-of-chapter exercises, all with answers, and Further Exercises, making it suitable for self-directed study as well as for taught courses. Noel Burton-Roberts is Professor of English Language and Linguistics at Newcastle University. He is the author of The Limits to Debate: a Revised Theory of Semantic Presupposition (CUP 1989), the editor of Phonological Knowledge: Conceptual and Empirical Issues(OUP 2000) and Pragmatics(Palgrave, 2007), and the author of numerous articles on various aspects of linguistics and the English language.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Semantics by Assuming no prior experience, this core textbook introduces formal semantics in an accessible and engaging way and provides students with a solid understanding of a range of semantic phenomena. It explores a wealth of topics, including generalized quantifier theory, referential opacity, aktionsarten, thematic roles and lexical conceptual structure, tense and aspect and event semantics. Chapters are illustrated with numerous examples to contextualise the theory, and practical exercises encourage students to engage with the text and develop their problem-solving skills. This is an essential text for undergraduates and postgraduates involved in the study of semantics. It is an ideal text for a wide range of modules on the philosophy of language, linguistic meaning and formal semantics.
Call Number: 401.43 KEA
Publication Date: 2011
English Phonetics and Phonology Paperback with Audio CDs (2) by Since the publication of the first edition in 1983, this course has established itself as the most practical, comprehensive text in the field and become widely used in many parts of the world in universities and other institutions of higher education. This new edition takes into account recent developments in the teaching of phonology. It includes updated references, fuller coverage of intonation, and a new chapter on different varieties of English with illustrative recorded material. At the end of each chapter in the book there are notes giving information on further reading, discussion of the more challenging issues, written exercises and, where appropriate, suggestions for teachers. In addition the audio CDs include recorded exercises for every chapter which are particularly helpful for non-native speakers. A full answer key is available at the back of the book. Additional exercises and other supporting material are available online.
Call Number: 414.8 ROA
Publication Date: 2009
Sociolinguistics by The way we talk is deeply influenced by our class, sex and ethnic background. It can also have a profound effect on how we are perceived by others. In this fully updated new edition of a classic text, Peter Trudgill explores the evidence - and the huge implications for social and educational policy . Why do men swear more than women? How do speech styles of most Black Americans, and whites growing up in 'Black areas' differ from those of other whites? Does it make sense to defend a language against 'contamination' from foreign words and phrases? Such questions illuminate many fascinatin g aspects of human communication, but they also lie at the heart of fierce political debates about how states should deal with their linguistic minorities, when teachers should correct their pupils' grammar and pronunciation, and whether language promotes racial and sexual stereotypes. Only sociolinguists can provide objective answers- their key conclusions are set out in this celebrated book.
Call Number: 306.44 TRU
Publication Date: 2000