Skip to Main Content
Key Texts
The Development of Language by Gleason, J.
Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 013441201X. Featuring a multi-disciplinary approach-and chapters written by outstanding scholars known for their expertise in the areas they discuss-The Development of Language focuses on language acquisition throughout the lifespan, with new coverage of linguistic achievements in the first year of life and through the middle school years. It examines what we know about language development using biological, social, and cultural contexts, while also investigating individual differences, atypical development, literacy, and language development in adults. Each chapter is written by world-renowned scholars and cutting-edge researchers, and each chapter provides a helpful summary, list of key words, a comprehensive text glossary explaining each term, and extensive links to video resources that help bring the concepts to clarity, through examples of child communication behaviors, insights into how research into child language is conducted, and first person interviews with influential researchers in the field. The new edition emphasizes language development in children who are learning languages other than English or are bilingual and includes new information about children with risk factors for language delay or disorder. Within each topical area, such as speech production, vocabulary, syntax, pragmatics, and literacy, the authors integrate discussion of potential problems or differences in how children learn the various aspects of language. Cultural influences that lead to group and individual variation in children's language environments and profiles of language development are addressed throughout. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded videos. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone for 50-60% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Call Number: 401.93 GLE
ISBN: 9780134161143
Publication Date: 2016
The Study of Language by Yule, G.
This bestselling textbook provides an engaging and user-friendly introduction to the study of language. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, Yule presents information in bite-sized sections, clearly explaining the major concepts in linguistics - from how children learn language to why men and women speak differently, through all the key elements of language. This fifth edition has been revised and updated with new figures and tables, additional topics, and numerous new examples using languages from across the world. To increase student engagement and to foster problem-solving and critical thinking skills, the book includes thirty new tasks. An expanded and revised online study guide provides students with further resources, including answers and tutorials for all tasks, while encouraging lively and proactive learning. This is the most fundamental and easy-to-use introduction to the study of language.
Call Number: 4700 YUL
ISBN: 9781107658172
Publication Date: 2014
Linguistics by Radford, A. et al.
Written by a team based at one of the world's leading centres for linguistic teaching and research, the second edition of this highly successful textbook offers a unified approach to language, viewed from a range of perspectives essential for students' understanding of the subject. Using clear explanations throughout, the book is divided into three main sections: sounds, words, and sentences. In each, the foundational concepts are introduced, along with their application to the fields of child language acquisition, psycholinguistics, language disorders, and sociolinguistics, giving the book a unique yet simple structure that helps students to engage with the subject more easily than other textbooks on the market. This edition includes a completely new section on sentence use, including an introduction and discussion of core areas of pragmatics and conversational analysis; coverage of sociolinguistic topics, introducing communities of practice; a wealth of new exercise material and updated further reading.
Call Number: 410 RAD
ISBN: 9780521849487
Publication Date: 2009
Recommended Reading
Mapping Applied Linguistics by Hall, C.J.
Mapping Applied Linguistics: A guide for students and practitioners, second edition, provides a newly updated, wide-ranging introduction to the full scope of applied linguistics. This innovative book maps the diverse and constantly expanding range of theories, methods and issues faced by students and practitioners around the world, integrating both sociocultural and cognitive perspectives. Practically oriented and ideally suited to students new to the discipline, Mapping Applied Linguistics provides in-depth coverage of: multilingualism, language variation and Global Englishes literacy, language teaching and bilingual education discourse analysis language policy and planning lexicography and translation language pathology and forensic linguistics The new second edition features contemporary examples of global applied linguistics research and practice, and includes updated further reading and new fieldwork suggestions for each chapter. The companion website at cw.routledge.com/textbooks/hall provides a wealth of additional learning material, including activities, flashcards and links to the latest online resources. Mapping Applied Linguistics is essential reading for students studying applied linguistics, TESOL, general linguistics and language and literacy education at the advanced undergraduate or master's degree level. It also provides a gateway for practitioners and specialists seeking to better understand the wider scope of their work.
Call Number: 418 HAL
ISBN: 9781138957077
Publication Date: 2017
The Development of Language by
Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 013441201X. Featuring a multi-disciplinary approach-and chapters written by outstanding scholars known for their expertise in the areas they discuss-The Development of Language focuses on language acquisition throughout the lifespan, with new coverage of linguistic achievements in the first year of life and through the middle school years. It examines what we know about language development using biological, social, and cultural contexts, while also investigating individual differences, atypical development, literacy, and language development in adults. Each chapter is written by world-renowned scholars and cutting-edge researchers, and each chapter provides a helpful summary, list of key words, a comprehensive text glossary explaining each term, and extensive links to video resources that help bring the concepts to clarity, through examples of child communication behaviors, insights into how research into child language is conducted, and first person interviews with influential researchers in the field. The new edition emphasizes language development in children who are learning languages other than English or are bilingual and includes new information about children with risk factors for language delay or disorder. Within each topical area, such as speech production, vocabulary, syntax, pragmatics, and literacy, the authors integrate discussion of potential problems or differences in how children learn the various aspects of language. Cultural influences that lead to group and individual variation in children's language environments and profiles of language development are addressed throughout. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded videos. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone for 50-60% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
The Study of Language by
This bestselling textbook provides an engaging and user-friendly introduction to the study of language. Assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, Yule presents information in bite-sized sections, clearly explaining the major concepts in linguistics - from how children learn language to why men and women speak differently, through all the key elements of language. This fifth edition has been revised and updated with new figures and tables, additional topics, and numerous new examples using languages from across the world. To increase student engagement and to foster problem-solving and critical thinking skills, the book includes thirty new tasks. An expanded and revised online study guide provides students with further resources, including answers and tutorials for all tasks, while encouraging lively and proactive learning. This is the most fundamental and easy-to-use introduction to the study of language.
Linguistics by
Written by a team based at one of the world's leading centres for linguistic teaching and research, the second edition of this highly successful textbook offers a unified approach to language, viewed from a range of perspectives essential for students' understanding of the subject. Using clear explanations throughout, the book is divided into three main sections: sounds, words, and sentences. In each, the foundational concepts are introduced, along with their application to the fields of child language acquisition, psycholinguistics, language disorders, and sociolinguistics, giving the book a unique yet simple structure that helps students to engage with the subject more easily than other textbooks on the market. This edition includes a completely new section on sentence use, including an introduction and discussion of core areas of pragmatics and conversational analysis; coverage of sociolinguistic topics, introducing communities of practice; a wealth of new exercise material and updated further reading.
Mapping Applied Linguistics by
Mapping Applied Linguistics: A guide for students and practitioners, second edition, provides a newly updated, wide-ranging introduction to the full scope of applied linguistics. This innovative book maps the diverse and constantly expanding range of theories, methods and issues faced by students and practitioners around the world, integrating both sociocultural and cognitive perspectives. Practically oriented and ideally suited to students new to the discipline, Mapping Applied Linguistics provides in-depth coverage of: multilingualism, language variation and Global Englishes literacy, language teaching and bilingual education discourse analysis language policy and planning lexicography and translation language pathology and forensic linguistics The new second edition features contemporary examples of global applied linguistics research and practice, and includes updated further reading and new fieldwork suggestions for each chapter. The companion website at cw.routledge.com/textbooks/hall provides a wealth of additional learning material, including activities, flashcards and links to the latest online resources. Mapping Applied Linguistics is essential reading for students studying applied linguistics, TESOL, general linguistics and language and literacy education at the advanced undergraduate or master's degree level. It also provides a gateway for practitioners and specialists seeking to better understand the wider scope of their work.