Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Professional Writing: Research and Practice reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Professional Writing is an extremely diverse field and part of the point of the module is to highlight its diversity. Students will find there own key texts depending on what genres interest them.
Media Semiotics by Media semiotics is a lucid investigation of the critical approach in contemporary media studies. Using examples such as Big Brother and Billy Elliot, Jonathan Bignell steps easily from basic concepts to more complex theories, while devoting chapters to specific media forms. New material in this second edition includes sections on men's style magazines, docusoaps and 'reality TV', digital interactive television, and mobile phone text messaging.This study begins by explaining the concept of the sign and the ideological roles of media in contemporary culture. The book then scrutinises advertisements, glossy magazines, daily newspapers, TV programmes, recent films and interactive media, with each chapter containing close analyses of particular examples. Key strands in critical theory which are allied to semiotics, such as ideology and psychoanalytic theory are explored. Media semiotics moves on to discuss the challenges to established semiotic methods posed by audience studies and postmodernism, and considers 'new media', including computer games, the Internet and the World Wide Web.
Call Number: 302.23014 BIG
Publication Date: 2002
Copywriting by This title is the first in the Basics Advertising series, which follows on from the successful The Fundamentals of Creative Advertising . It highlights the importance of being able to think both verbally and visually by conveying the idea that creative ad concepts, with their combination of words and images, often arise as a result of collaborative efforts between both the conceptual copywriter and designers or art director. Subjects covered include- how to generate ideas, improving and mastering your language skills and how to create effective advertising copy. The book also features a chapter on 'Advertising around the World', which highlights the increasing dominance of English as an international language of commerce and marketing. This title is suitable for first and second year undergraduate students of advertising and marketing courses, all students needing to understand the basic concepts of the discipline before moving into more specific areas of advertising, and practising conceptual copywriters.
Call Number: 659.132 BOW
Publication Date: 2008
The Discourse of Advertising by The Discourse of Advertising explores the language of contemporary advertising. Cook argues that advertisements are always in complex interaction with the texts around them, with music and pictures, and with the people who make and experience them. This second edition addresses contemporary advertising in the context of current changes in communication. Advertisements span a range of mediums from billboards to email and the author sensitively analyses their social functions and effects on the individual. New advertisements include those for Barnardos and the Royal Navy,Philips, Wonderbra and Wrigleys, and the book has also been substantially rewritten. This is a comprehensive and invaluable reference guide to all aspects of the language of advertising.
Call Number: 659.101 COO
Publication Date: 2001
Marketing in the Age of Google by Search has changed everything. Has your business harnessed its full potential? A business's search strategy can have a dramatic impact on how consumers interact with that business. But even more importantly, search engine activity provides amazingly useful data about customer behavior, needs, and motivations. In this non-technical book for executives, business owners, and marketers, search engine strategy guru Vanessa Fox-who created Google's portal for site owners, Google Webmaster Central-explains what every marketer or business owner needs to understand about search rankings, search data, comprehensive search strategies, and integrating your strategy into the businesses processes. Updated statistics, tools, and recommendations Details about the latest changes from Google, Bing, and the overall search landscape Explanation and recommendations related to Google's substantial new search algorithm, know as "Panda" Discussion of the changing landscape of the integration of search and social media, including the addition of Google+ to the mix Traditional marketing isn't enough anymore. Businesses need to evolve as customer behavior evolves. Marketing in the Age of Google shows you how.
Call Number: 658.872 FOX
Publication Date: 2012
Trust Me, I'm Lying by You've seen it all before. A malicious online rumor costs a company millions. A political sideshow derails the national news cycle and destroys a candidate. Some product or celebrity zooms from total obscurity to viral sensation. What you don't know is that someone is responsible for all this. Usually, someone like me.
I'm a media manipulator. In a world where blogs control and distort the news, my job is to control blogs - as much as any one person can. In today's culture . . .
1) Blogs like Gawker, Buzzfeed and the Huffington Post drive the media agenda.
2) Bloggers are slaves to money, technology, and deadlines.
3) Manipulators wield these levers to shape everything you read, see and watch - online and off.
Why am I giving away these secrets? Because I'm tired of a world where blogs take indirect bribes, marketers help write the news, reckless journalists spread lies, and no one is accountable for any of it. I'm pulling back the curtain because I don't want anyone else to get blindsided.
I'm going to explain exactly how the media really works. What you choose to do with this information is up to
Call Number: 659.202856752 HOL
Publication Date: 2012
Butcher's Copy-Editing by Since its first publication in 1975, Judith Butcher's Copy-editing has become firmly established as a classic reference guide. This fourth edition has been comprehensively revised to provide an up-to-date and clearly presented source of information for all those involved in preparing typescripts and illustrations for publication. From the basics of how to prepare text and illustrations for the designer and typesetter, through the ground rules of house style, to how to read and correct proofs, Copy-editing covers all aspects of the editorial process. New and revised features: - up-to-date advice on indexes, inclusive language, reference systems and preliminary pages - a chapter devoted to on-screen copy-editing - guidance on digital coding and publishing in other media such as e-books - updated to take account of modern typesetting and printing technology - an expanded section on law books - an essential tool for new and experienced copy-editors, working freelance or in-house.
Call Number: 808.027 BUT
Publication Date: 2006
Subediting for Journalists by The new edition of Subediting and Production for Journalists is a concise, clear and contemporary introduction to the skills required for subediting newspapers, magazines and websites. Tim Holmes describes how subediting has developed, from the early days of print to the modern era of the internet browser and social media, and explores the many challenges for the sub working today. Using numerous practical examples drawn from print and online, Subediting and Production for Journalists introduces the various techniques employed by the sub to help make the written word stand out on the page, including: subbing news and features for sense and style writing headlines and sells making copy legally safe understanding production, using software packages and content management systems editing and rewriting stories for online publication creating suitable page furniture for websites handling and sizing pictures digitally handling audio and video. Subediting and Production for Journalists is the perfect guide for all those with an interest in subbing in today's multimedia environments, as well as anyone wanting to see their words come to life.
Call Number: 070.41 HIC
Publication Date: 2015
Magazine Editing by Including comprehensive coverage on both print and online, consumer and free magazines, Magazine Editinglooks at how magazines work and explains the dual role of the magazine editor. John Morrish and Paul Bradshaw consider the editor both as a journalist, having to provide information and entertainment for readers, and as a manager, expected to lead and supervise successfully the development of a magazine or periodical. Looking at the current state of the magazine market in the twenty-first century, the third edition explains how this has developed and changed in recent years, with specific attention paid to the explosion of apps, e-zines, online communities and magazine websites. Featuring case studies, interviews with successful editors, examples of covers and spreads, and useful tables and graphs, this book discusses the editor's many roles and details the skills needed to run a publication. Magazine Editingoffers practical guidance on: how to create an editorial strategy how to lead and manage an editorial team researching a market and finding new readers dealing with budgets and finance working with designers and production staff legal, technological and ethical dilemmas online distribution, social media and search engine optimisation managing information overload how to become an editor.
Call Number: 070.41 MOR
Publication Date: 2011
Analysing Genre by Genre analysis has a long-established tradition in literature, but interest in the analysis of non-literary genres has been very recent. This book examines the theory of genre analysis, looks at genre analysis in action, taking texts from a wide variety of genres and discusses the use of genre analysis in language teaching and language reform.
Call Number: 401.41 BHA
Publication Date: 1993
The Discourse of Blogs and Wikis by Blogs and Wikis have not been with us for long, but have made a huge impact on society. Wikipedia is the best known exemplar of the wiki, a collaborative site that leads to a single text claimed by no-one; blogs, or web-logs, have exploded into the mainstream through novelisations, film adaptations and have gathered huge followings. Blogs and wikis also serve to provide a coherent basis for a discourse analysis of specific web language.
What makes these forms distinctive as genres, and what ramifications does the technology have on the language? Myers looks at how blogs and wikis:
*allow for easier than ever publication
*can claim to challenge institutional hierarchies
*provide alternate perspectives on events
*challenge demarcations between the personal and the public
*construct new communities and more
Drawing on a wide range of popular blogs and wikis, the book works alongside an author blog that contains regularly updated links, references and a glossary. An essential textbook for upper level undergraduates on linguistics and language studies courses, it elucidates, informs and offers insights into a major new type of discourse. This coursebook will include a companion website.
Call Number: 401.41 MYE + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Genre Analysis by In recent years the concept of 'register' has been increasingly replaced by emphasis on the analysis of genre, which relates work in sociolinguistics, text linguistics and discourse analysis to the study of specialist areas of language. This book is a clear, authoritative guide to this complex area. He provides a survey of approaches to varieties of language, and considers these in relation to communication and task-based language learning. Swales outlines an approach to the analysis of genre, and then proceeds to consider examples of different genres and how they can be made accessible through genre analysis. This is important reading for all those working in teaching English for academic purposes and also of interest to those working in post-secondary writing and composition due to relevant issues in writing across the curriculum.
Call Number: 428.0071 SWA
Publication Date: 1990
The Language of News Media by Written by a linguist who is himself a journalist, this is a uniquely informed account of the language of the news media. Based in the frameworks of sociolinguistics and discourse analysis its concerns are with the notion of the news story, the importance of the processes which produce media language and the role of the audience.
Call Number: 302.23 BEL
Publication Date: 1991
Approaches to Media Discourse by This collection brings together in one volume current leading approaches to the study of media discourse.
Call Number: 302.23014 BEL
Publication Date: 1998
Arts Reviews by Whether your passion is film, music, books, visual arts, or the stage, you can get closer to it as a reviewer and establish a career in one of the most influential roles open to a writer. A great review can be read by millions, and writing it calls for a high degree of skill. Based on a lifelong passion, packed into a few hundred words, and often written in less than an hour, a review makes heavy demands on a writer's technique and experience. This book explains how to seize readers' attention and how to be witty always, fascinating most of the time, and bitchy when you need to be. Reviews from classic writers like Pauline Kael or Kenneth Tynan are contrasted with today's hot names such as Mark Kermode and Stewart Maconie. The history of the critic is examined, including some of the groundbreaking groups who have shaped our culture--including Dorothy Parker and the Algonquin Round Table, the French New Wave directors who founded Les Cahiers du Cinema, and London's celebrated Modern Review. Interviews with successful journalists and commissioning editors from the NME and The Guardian about breaking into the field are also included.
Call Number: 808.066791 BRA
Publication Date: 2008
News Talk by Written by a former news reporter and editor, News Talk gives us an insider's view of the media, showing how journalists select and construct their news stories. Colleen Cotter goes behind the scenes, revealing how language is chosen and shaped by news staff into the stories we read and hear. Tracing news stories from start to finish, she shows how the actions of journalists and editors - and the limitations of news writing formulas - may distort a story that was prepared with the most determined effort to be fair and accurate. Using insights from both linguistics and journalism, News Talk is a remarkable picture of a hidden world and its working practices on both sides of the Atlantic. It will interest those involved in language study, media and communication studies and those who want to understand how media shape our language and our view of the world.
Call Number: 070.43 COT
Publication Date: 2010
McNae's Essential Law for Journalists by 60 years since the first edition published, McNae's Essential Law for Journalists remains the definitive media law handbook for students and journalists. Endorsed by the National Council for the Training of Journalists as the essential text for students and widely used in newsrooms across theUK, McNae's is unrivalled in its accuracy, detail and ease of use.With its easy-access summaries, clear cross-references and practical advice, McNae's continues to meet the needs of busy journalists who need quick and reliable answers to the questions they face in their day-to-day work while also providing students with authoritative coverage of key media lawtopics.A comprehensive website (www.mcnaes.com) accompanies this text, providing a range of resources including regular updates from the authors to help you stay ahead of the law, whether on the job or in exams.www.mcnaes.comMcNae's Essential Law for Journalists is complemented by a free to use website featuring the following resources:* Regular updates from the authors* Downloadable glossary* Self-marking multiple choice questions and chapter-related questions* Downloadable checklists* Additional chapters and content on a range of topics including terrorism, the Official Secrets Act, and Scottish media law* Weblinks
Call Number: 343.420998 DOD
Publication Date: 2014
Ethics for Journalists by Ethics for Journalists tackles many of the issues which journalists face in their everyday lives - from the media's supposed obsession with sex, sleaze and sensationalism, to issues of regulation and censorship. Its accessible style and question and answer approach highlights the relevance of ethical issues for everyone involved in journalism, both trainees and professionals, whether working in print, broadcast or new media.
Ethics for Journalists provides a comprehensive overview of ethical dilemmas and features interviews with a number of journalists, including the celebrated investigative reporter Phillip Knightley. Presenting a range of imaginative strategies for improving media standards and supported by a thorough bibliography and a wide ranging list of websites, Ethics for Journalists, second edition, considers many problematic subjects including:
representations of gender, race, sexual orientation, disability, mental health and suicide
ethics online - 'citizen journalism' and its challenges to 'professionalism'
controversial calls for a privacy law to restrain the power of the press
journalistic techniques such as sourcing the news, doorstepping, deathknocks and the use of subterfuge
the handling of confidential sources and the dilemmas of war and peace reporting.
Call Number: 070.4 KEE
Publication Date: 2008
The Universal Journalist by This is a new edition of the world's leading textbook on journalism. Translated into more than a dozen languages, David Randall's handbook is an invaluable guide to the 'universals' of good journalistic practice for professional and trainee journalists worldwide.Irrespective of language or culture, good journalists share a common commitment to the search for truth, often in difficult circumstances. David Randall emphasises that good journalism isn't just about universal objectives: it must also involve the acquisition of a range of skills that will empower journalists to operate in an industry where ownership, technology and information are constantly changing. This acclaimed handbook challenges old attitudes, procedures and techniques of journalism where they are seen as cynical and sloppy.A raft of new anecdotes, wisdom and warnings covering privacy, celebrity culture and the impact of the internet make this edition an essential companion for journalists in the digital age.
Call Number: 070.43 RAN
Publication Date: 2011