Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Handbook of Language Variation and Change by Reflecting a multitude of developments in the study of language change and variation over the last ten years, this extensively updated second edition features a number of new chapters and remains the authoritative reference volume on a core research area in linguistics. A fully revised and expanded edition of this acclaimed reference work, which has established its reputation based on its unrivalled scope and depth of analysis in this interdisciplinary field Includes seven new chapters, while the remainder have undergone thorough revision and updating to incorporate the latest research and reflect numerous developments in the field Accessibly structured by theme, covering topics including data collection and evaluation, linguistic structure, language and time, language contact, language domains, and social differentiation Brings together an experienced, international editorial and contributor team to provides an unrivalled learning, teaching and reference tool for researchers and students in sociolinguistics
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Introducing Sociolinguistics 2nd edn. by This second edition of Miriam Meyerhoff's highly successful textbook is supported by the Routledge Sociolinguistics Readerand online resources common to both books. It provides a solid, up-to-date appreciation of the interdisciplinary nature of the field covering foundation issues, recent advances and current debates. It presents familiar or classic data in new ways, and supplements the familiar with fresh examples from a wide range of languages and social settings. It clearly explains the patterns and systems that underlie language variation in use, as well as the ways in which alternations between different language varieties index personal style, social power and national identity. New features of the second edition: a wider range of approaches to politeness theory incorporating an international range of research expanded sections on multi-lingualism and code-switching, social class, dialect contact and tracking change over time linkage to the new Routledge Sociolinguistics Readerwhich can be used alongside this textbook, allowing students to supplement and build on material covered in the textbook. a shared website serving both Reader and Textbook which includes web- and video-links, interactive exercises and an expanded online glossary at: www.routledge.com/textbooks/meyerhoff a refreshed text design to assist navigation through textbook and reader. Each chapter includes exercises that enable readers to engage critically with the text, break-out boxes making connections between sociolinguistics and linguistic or social theory, and brief, lively add-ons guaranteed to make the book a memorable and enjoyable read. With a full glossary of terms and suggestions for further reading, this text gives students all the tools they need for an excellent command of sociolinguistics.
Call Number: 306.44 MEY + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Frameworks of English 3d edn. by How does language work? What are the different elements? How do they all fit together? The Frameworks of English is a step-by-step guide through the various levels of language, describing the morphological, lexical, grammatical and phonological frameworks of contemporary English in a clear and logical way. Beginning with words as the building blocks of language, it investigates their internal structure and shows how words can be combined into larger and larger units, from phrases to sentences and beyond. The sound system of language is explored, covering the production of individual sounds as well as the features of syllable structure and connected speech. The third edition of this popular textbook: * features a new chapter on how to approach accent and dialect variation in English throughout the world * includes both spoken and written examples of electronically mediated language * offers updated suggestions for further reading and research * contains an expanded glossary of linguistic terminology to aid study With plenty of exercises and helpful cross-referencing The Frameworks of English covers everything that you need to know about linguistic structures.
Call Number: 425 BAL
Publication Date: 2013
A history of the English language, 6th edn. by A History of the English Language explores the linguistic and cultural development of English from the Roman conquest of England to the present day to provide a comprehensive overview of the different aspects of its history. This best-selling classic textbook has been revised and updated and encourages the reader to develop both an understanding of present-day English and an enlightened attitude toward the issues affecting the language today.
New features of the sixth edition include:
an additional chapter titled 'English in the Twenty-first Century', which examines the future of English and other global languages and includes an assessment of Chinese as a world language
an in-depth treatment of phonological changes, such as the placement of the Great Vowel Shift as a bridge between Middle English and Renaissance English
further coverage of corpus linguistics, especially for Renaissance English
fresh sections on accent and register
a new survey of the recent debate between "creolists" and "neo-Anglicists" on the origins of African American Vernacular English.
Balanced and wide-ranging, this textbook is a must-read for any student studying the history of the English language
Call Number: 420.9 BAU
Publication Date: 2013
Women, Men, and Language by In this second edition, Jennifer Coates has thoroughly revised and updated the text, incorporating new material in the field of language and gender. She provides an overview both of traditional lore about the linguistic behaviour of women and men, and also of recent research findings in sociolinguistics and related subjects.
Call Number: 400 COA
Publication Date: 1993
The Handbook of Sociolinguistics by In 28 newly- commissioned chapters, distinguished contributors provide an up-to-date overview of sociolinguistics.
Call Number: 306.44 COU
Publication Date: 1998
An Introduction to Sociolinguistics by In this best-selling introductory textbook, Janet Holmes and Nick Wilson examine the role of language in a variety of social contexts, considering both how language works and how it can be used to signal and interpret various aspects of social identity. Divided into three sections, this book explains basic sociolinguistic concepts in the light of classic approaches as well as introducing more recent research. This fifth edition has been revised and updated throughout using key concepts and examples to guide the reader through this fascinating area, including: a new chapter on identity that reflects the latest research; a brand new companion website which is fully cross-referenced within this book, and which includes and video and audio materials, interactive activities and links to useful websites; updated and revised examples and exercises which include new material from Tanzania, Wales, Paraguay and Timor-Leste; fully updated further reading and references sections. An Introduction to Sociolinguistics is the essential introductory text for all students of sociolinguistics and a splendid point of reference for students of English language studies, linguistics and applied linguistics.
Call Number: 306.44 HOL + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Linguistic Variation and Change by The study of variation and change is at the heart of the sociolinguistics. Providing a wide survey of the field, this textbook is organised around three constraints on variation: linguistic structure, social structure and identity, and social and linguistic perception. By considering both structure and meaning, Scott F. Kiesling examines the most important issues surrounding variation theory, including canonical studies and terms as well as challenges to them. Research in non-English and non-European contexts is also addressed. A range of different topics within sociolinguistics is covered including: The linguistic variable and its status Sociolinguistic methods The description of variable patterns Linguistic and social structure Social meaning and perception. With over 50 figures and a practical section on methodology, this textbook is an ideal solution for undergraduate and postgraduate students of sociolinguistics seeking a comprehensive study of variation and change.
Call Number: 417.7 KIE + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Sociolinguistics by Sociolinguistics: Method and Interpretation presents a thorough and practical description of current sociolinguistic methodology while recognizing that methodological decisions can never be separated from questions of theory. Presents a thorough and practical description of current sociolinguistic methodology. Considers a range of issues including speaker selection, data collection, social considerations, phonological and syntactical variation, style-shifting and code-switching. Recognizes that methodological decisions can never be separated from questions of theory. Stresses the need for the entire research process from the initial design of the project to the interpretation of results to be grounded in theoretically defensible positions. Shows how the research paradigm established by a few influential pioneers has been fruitfully expanded by exciting new trends.
Call Number: 306.44 MIL
Publication Date: 2003
Variationist Sociolinguistics by Variationist Sociolinguistics: Change, Observation, Interpretation presents a comprehensive, intermediate level examination of Language Variation and Change, the branch of sociolinguistics concerned with linguistic variation in spoken and written language. Represents the most up-to-date coverage of the history, developments, and methodologies of variationist sociolinguistics Addresses all aspects of linguistic variation, including areas not usually covered in introductory texts, e.g. the phonological, morpho-syntactic, discourse/pragmatic Outlines comparative sociolinguistic approach, data collection, methodological issues; and addresses state-of-the-art contemporary quantitative methods and statistical practice Features cutting-edge research at an appropriate level to facilitate student learning Engages students throughout with a variety of pedagogical features, including Mini Quizzes to test comprehension, extensive Exercises at the end of each chapter, the opportunity to do hands-on quantitative analysis of a never-before published data set, and Notes and Tips that offer insight into conducting sociolinguistic research. Extra materials and answers to the exercises are available at www.wiley.com/go/tagliamonte
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011