Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There are no key texts for this module. The tutor will provide a selection of poems in class and on the online learning environment.
Women, Writing and the Reproduction of Culture in Tudor and Stuart Britain by In Tudor and Stuart Britain, women writers took active roles in negotiating cultural ideas and systems to gain power, in participating in politics through writing, in shaping the aesthetics of genre, and in fashioning feminine gender, despite constraints on women.
Call Number: 820.99287 BUR
Publication Date: 2000
Early Modern English Poetry by Early Modern English Poetry: A Critical Companion presents twenty-eight original essays on the major poems of the English Renaissance. Each essay is written by a leading scholar and examines a poem in the context of an important topic in early modern culture. The selections providegroundbreaking scholarship on subjects ranging from the invention of English verse, Petrarchism, pastoral, elegy, and satire to women's religious verse, the politics of town, the place of homoeroticism, and Cavalier poetry.An ideal supplement to both primary texts and anthologies of Renaissance literature, Early Modern English Poetry offers fresh approaches to poems by Sir Philip Sidney, Edmund Spenser, Christopher Marlowe, William Shakespeare, Aemilia Lanyer, John Donne, John Milton, and many others. The firstthree chapters set the rest of the volume in context with coverage of the sixteenth-century invention of verse, print and manuscript culture in early modern England, and Renaissance treatises on the art of poetry. The remaining chapters are structured around authors and their works--which are eachrelated to a specific issue in early modern culture--and organized chronologically according to the dates of composition or publication of the poems discussed. This innovative and flexible design corresponds perfectly with courses in which students first read a primary text and then expand theirunderstanding of the work with detailed critical commentary. The book is enhanced by a general introduction, recommended reading lists at the end of each chapter, and a chronology of Renaissance poetry tailored to the book's contents. Early Modern English Poetry provides an accessible introductionboth to a key selection of canonical poetic works in English and to historical and cultural topics that illuminate them.
Call Number: 821.09003 CHE
Publication Date: 2006
The Seventeenth-Century Literature Handbook by The Seventeenth-Century Literature Handbook is an accessible, authoritative and comprehensive introduction to English literature in the seventeenth century. It provides a one-stop resource for literature students, with the essential information and guidance needed at the beginning of a course through to the development of more advanced knowledge and skills.
- introductions to authors, texts and contexts
- guides to key critics, concepts and topics
- an overview of major critical approaches, changes in the canon and directions of current and future research
- case studies in reading literary and critical texts
- an annotated bibliography (including websites), timeline, glossary of critical terms.
Written in clear language by leading academics, it is an indispensable starting point for students beginning their study of seventeenth-century literature.
Call Number: 820.9004 EVA
Publication Date: 2010
The New Oxford Book of Seventeenth-Century Verse by Alistair Fowler's celebrated anthology includes generous selections from the work of all the century's major poets, notably Donne, Jonson, Milton, Drayton, Herbert, Marvell, and Dryden. It strikes a balance between Metaphysical wit and intellect and Jonsonian simplicity, while also accommodating hitherto neglected popular verse. The result is a truer, more Catholic representation of seventeenth-century verse than any previous anthology.
Call Number: 821.408 FOW
Publication Date: 2008
A New Companion to English Renaissance Literature and Culture by In this revised and greatly expanded edition of the Companion, 80 scholars come together to offer an original and far-reaching assessment of English Renaissance literature and culture. A new edition of the best-selling Companion to English Renaissance Literature, revised and updated, with 22 new essays and 19 new illustrations Contributions from some 80 scholars including Judith H. Anderson, Patrick Collinson, Alison Findlay, Germaine Greer, Malcolm Jones, Arthur Kinney, James Knowles, Arthur Marotti, Robert Miola and Greg Walker Unrivalled in scope and its exploration of unfamiliar literary and cultural territories the Companion offers new readings of both 'literary' and 'non-literary' texts Features essays discussing material culture, sectarian writing, the history of the body, theatre both in and outside the playhouses, law, gardens, and ecology in early modern England Orientates the beginning student, while providing advanced students and faculty with new directions for their research All of the essays from the first edition, along with the recommendations for further reading, have been reworked or updated
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
A Companion to Early Modern Women's Writing by This timely volume represents one of the first comprehensive, student-oriented guides to the under-published field of early modern women's writing.
Brings together more than twenty leading international scholars to provide the definitive survey volume to the field of early modern women's writing
Examines individual texts, including works by Mary Sidney, Margaret Cavendish and Aphra Behn
Explores the historical context and generic diversity of early modern women's writing, as well as the theoretical issues that underpin its study
Provides a clear sense of the full extent of women's contributions to early modern literary culture
Call Number: 820.992870903 PAC + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Early Modern Women's Writing and the Rhetoric of Modesty by An in-depth study of early modern women's modesty rhetoric from the English Reformation to the Restoration. This book provides new readings of modesty's gendered deployment in the works of Anne Askew, Katharine Parr, Mary Sidney, Aemilia Lanyer and Anne Bradstreet.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
English Lyric Poetry by English Lyric Poetry is a comprehensive reassessment of lyric poetry of the early seventeenth century. The study is directed at both beginning and more advanced students of literature, and responds to more specialised scholarly inquiries pursued of late in relation to specific poets.
This extremely lucid and elegantly written book avoids the limitations of much recent criticism. Donne, Jonson, the Spenserians, Herbert, Milton, Marvell, Vaughan, as well as many non-canonical and women poets, all receive sustained, fresh, and detailed analysis. Jonathan Post seeks to assimilate many of the post-New Critical theoretical concerns with readings of the major and minor, male and female, authors of the period.
Call Number: 821.040904 POS + eBook
Publication Date: 2001
Green Thoughts, Green Shades by Green Thoughts, Green Shades is a strikingly original book, the first and only of its kind. Edited and introduced by noted seventeenth-century scholar Jonathan Post, it enlists the analytic and verbal power of some of today's most celebrated poets to illuminate from the inside out a number of the greatest lyric poets writing in English during the sixteenth and seventeenth century. Written by people who spend much of their time thinking in verse and about verse, these original essays herald the return of the early modern lyric as crucial to understanding the present moment of poetry in the United States. This work provides fascinating insights into what today's poets find of special interest in their forebears. In addition, these discussions shed light on the contributors' own poetry and offer compelling clues to how the poetry of the past continues to inform that of the present.
Call Number: 821.040903 POS + eBook
Publication Date: 2002
The Concept of Nature in Early Modern English Literature by The Concept of Nature in Early Modern English Literature traces a genealogy of ecology in seventeenth-century literature and natural philosophy through the development of the protoecological concept of 'the oeconomy of nature'. Founded in 1644 by Kenelm Digby, this concept was subsequently employed by a number of theologians, physicians, and natural philosophers to conceptualize nature as an interdependent system. Focusing on the middle decades of the seventeenth century, Peter Remien examines how Samuel Gott, Walter Charleton, Robert Boyle, Samuel Collins, and Thomas Burnet formed the oeconomy of nature. Remien also shows how literary authors Ben Jonson, George Herbert, Andrew Marvell, Margaret Cavendish, and John Milton use the discourse of oeconomy to explore the contours of humankind's relationship with the natural world. This book participates in an intellectual history of the science of ecology while prompting a re-evaluation of how we understand the relationship between literature and ecology in the early modern period.
Call Number: 820.936 REM + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Seventeenth-Century British Poetry, 1603-1660 by A time of political and social unrest in England, this period produced some of the greatest poetry in English. This volume includes the major poets--John Donne, Ben Jonson, George Herbert, John Milton, and Andrew Marvell--the major women writers of the era--Aemilia Lanyer, Mary Wroth, Anne Bradstreet, Margaret Cavendish, and Katherine Philips--and nineteen other poets essential to an understanding of English literature in the seventeenth century. The poems are accompanied by headnotes and explanatory annotations. "Criticism" is divided into two sections. The first, "Seventeenth- and Eighteenth-Century Criticism," includes commentary by contemporary poets and biographers, among them Ben Jonson, John Dryden, and Samuel Johnson. The second, "Recent Criticism," brings together twenty critical examinations of the period and its poets, including essays by T. S. Eliot, Janel Mueller, Aldous Huxley, W. H. Auden, Joseph Summers, Laurence Babb, Gerald Hammond, Eavan Boland, Leah Marcus, and William Kerrigan. A Selected Biography is also included.
Call Number: 821.408 RUM
Publication Date: 2005
Reading Early Modern Women's Writing by This book contains the first comprehensive account of writing by women from the mid sixteenth century through to 1700. At the same time, it traces the way a representative sample of that writing was published, circulated in manuscript, read, anthologised, reprinted, and discussed from the timeit was produced through to the present day. Salzman's study covers an enormous range of women from all areas of early modern society, and it covers examples of the many and varied genres produced by these women, from plays to prophecies, diaries to poems, autobiographies to philosophy. As well asintroducing readers to the wealth of material produced by women in the early modern period, this book examines changing responses to what was written, tracing a history of reception and transmission that amounts to a cultural history of changing taste.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007