Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Working with Spoken Discourse by Comprehensive, practical, lively and accessible, Working with Spoken Discourseis the much-loved benchmark for learning to do discourse analysis. It combines theory and practice to give students the grounding they need in practical techniques of analyzing talk and how to apply them to real data.
Begins with the 'why' and 'how' of doing discourse analysis
Packs examples into every chapter to help explain complex concepts
Uses exercises and activities to reinforce what you've learned
Leads you through the practicalities of designing your own project
Exceptionally clear, and perfect for undergraduates starting a project, this is the essential guide to spoken discourse.
Call Number: 401.41 CAM + eBook
Publication Date: 2001
The Discourse Reader by In this bestselling Reader, Jaworski and Coupland have collected in one volume the most important and influential articles on discourse analysis. Designed as a structured sourcebook and divided into clear sections, The Discourse Reader covers the foundations of modern discourse analysis and represents all of its contemporary methods and traditions. The third edition: Has been revised and updated throughout to ensure a selection of up to date and accessible readings Includes new readings by Jan Blommaert, Norman Fairclough, James Paul Gee, Barbara Johnstone, Ron Scollon and Don Zimmerman, among others. Features papers by leading researchers commissioned especially for the new edition. The general introduction serves as an essential introduction to the field of discourse analysis, while the section introductions provide a useful overview and further insight into the readings. The third edition of The Discourse Reader is a key resource for all students of discourse analysis in a wide range of disciplines from linguistics to communication studies, anthropology and psychology.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Working with Written Discourse by "An outstanding introduction to discourse analysis of written language in an age that is more and more characterized by multilingual, digital, and generically hybrid texts. In an accessible style, Working with Written Discourse illustrates how these texts can be analyzed employing a wide variety of approaches that are critical, multidisciplinary, and productive."- Professor Jaffer Sheyholislami, Carleton University"Comprehensive and up-to-the-minute in its discussion of areas like multimodality and the new media, without overlooking 'older' media and more conventional writing. I will recommend it highly to students at all levels."- Dr Mark Sebba, Lancaster University Addressing the practicalities of research, and embracing the complexity and variety of written forms of language, this book: grounds readers in a broad range of concepts, debates and relevant methods focuses on both theoretical questions and the 'how to' of analysis is loaded with practical activities and advice on the design and execution of research highlights computer-mediated communication and new media discourse, from text messages and tweets to mobile phone novels and online encyclopedias draws on data from international and multilingual communities. The perfect companion to Deborah Cameron′s best-selling Working with Spoken Discourse, this book equips readers with practical and conceptual tools to ask questions about written discourse, and to analyse the huge variety of texts that make up our linguistic landscape. It is the essential guide for students of discourse analysis in linguistics, media and communication studies, and for social researchers across the social sciences.
Call Number: 401.41 CAM + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Studying Language by Studying Language introduces key ideas about how English functions within its social and cultural contexts. It explores core topics of study such as language variation, pragmatics, stylistics and critical discourse analysis. Case studies provide worked analysis of sample texts, suggestions for further study and a further reading section.
Call Number: 420.72 CLA
Publication Date: 2007
Media Talk by Media Talk provides an accessible introduction to the analysis of the spoken word by examining linguistic and discursive aspects of broadcast media. Beginning with the observation that talk is central to all genres of radio and television, Ian Hutchby examines the forms of speech used by broadcasters as their primary means of communicating with audiences. He looks at a range of media forms and genres, including televised audience debates, confrontational TV talk shows such as Oprah Winfrey and Ricki Lake, open-line talk radio shows, advice-giving broadcasts, news interviews and political panel discussions. Hutchby argues that the study of talk provides insights into the very nature of mass communication, and invites the reader into further consideration of a range of important issues, such as the relationship between broadcasters and audiences, and the public role of media output. The book not only describes the role of media talk but also provides detailed examples of analytical tools. It is key reading for students on courses in language and the media, media discourse, communication and cultural studies.
Call Number: 302.234 HUT
Publication Date: 2005
Qualitative Methods in Sociolinguistics by Qualitative Methods in Sociolinguistics is the only book on qualitative research methods designed especially for readers doing research on language and society. It provides a brief, accessible introduction to general theoretical and practical questions about research and also covers theprincipal means of selecting, collecting, and analyzing data for interpretive sociolinguistic work. Topics discussed include the historical context of contemporary sociolinguistic methodology, the development of research questions, standards of evidence, research ethics, ethnography, discourseanalysis, and strategies for writing articles and essays. In each chapter the author considers both field methods and analytical methods, illustrating the approaches by describing studies that have employed them. Exercises, ideas for discussion, and suggestions for further reading enhance the textand provide starting points for student research projects. Clearly written and comprehensible to students at all levels, this unique work is an ideal supplementary text for courses in sociolinguistics, language and culture, and field methods. It is also a helpful reference for anyone contemplatingsociolinguistic research on any level.
Call Number: 306.44072 JOH
Publication Date: 1999
Language and Power by Routledge English Language Introductions cover core areas of language study and are one-stop resources for students. Assuming no prior knowledge, books in the series offer an accessible overview of the subject, with activities, study questions, sample analyses, commentaries and key readings ¿ all in the same volume. The innovative and flexible ¿two-dimensional¿ structure is built around four sections ¿ introduction, development, exploration and extension ¿ which offer self-contained stages for study. Each topic can also be read across these sections, enabling the reader to build gradually on the knowledge gained. Language and Power: offers a comprehensive survey of the ways in which language intersects and connects with the social, cultural and political aspects of power, provides a comprehensive introduction to the history of the field, and covers all the major approaches, theoretical concepts and methods of analysis in this important and developing area of academic study; covers all the ¿traditional¿ topics, such as race, gender and institutional power, but also incorporates newer material from forensic discourse analysis, the discourse of new capitalism and the study of humour as power; includes readings from works by seminal figures in the field, such as Roger Fowler, Deborah Cameron and Teun van Dijk; uses real texts and examples throughout, including advertisements from cosmetics companies; newspaper articles and headlines; websites and internet media; and spoken dialogues such as a transcription from the Obama and McCain presidential debate; is accompanied by a supporting website that aims to challenge students at a more advanced level and features a complete four-unit chapter which includes activities, a reading and suggestions for further work. Language and Power will be essential reading for students studying English language and linguistics. Paul Simpson is Professor of English Language in the School of English at Queen¿s University Belfast, UK, where he teaches and researches in stylistics, critical linguistics and related fields of study. Andrea Mayr is Lecturer in Modern English Language and Linguistics at Queen¿s University Belfast, UK, where she teaches and researches in media discourse and in multimodal critical discourse analysis.
Call Number: 306.44 SIM
Publication Date: 2009