Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Dubliners by Dubliners is arguably the best-known and most influential collection of short stories written in English, and has been since its publication in 1914. Through what Joyce described as their 'style of scrupulous meanness,' the stories present a direct, sometimes searing view of Dublin in the early twentieth century. The text of this Norton Critical Edition is based on renowned Joyce scholar Hans Walter Gabler's edited text and includes his editorial notes and the introduction to his scholarly edition, which details and discusses Dubliners' complicated publication history. 'Contexts' offers a rich collection of materials that bring the stories and the Irish capital to life for twenty-first century readers, including photographs, newspaper articles and advertising, early versions of two of the stories, and a satirical poem by Joyce about his publication woes. 'Criticism' brings together eight illuminating essays on the most frequently taught stories in Dubliners--'Araby,' 'Eveline,' 'After the Race,' 'The Boarding House,' 'Counterpoints,' 'A Painful Case,' and 'The Dead.' Contributors include David G. Wright, Heyward Ehrlich, Margot Norris, James Fairhall, Fritz Senn, Morris Beja, Roberta Jackson, and Vincent J. Cheng.
Call Number: 823.91 JOY JOY
Publication Date: 2006
Katherine Mansfield's Selected Short Stories by With the exception of the first four stories, all were written within a period of ten years. These stories, and the letters following, reflect the urgency of a writer who knew her time was limited. All but four of the texts of the stories reprinted here are versions that Mansfield herself revised or selected.
Twenty excerpts from Mansfield's correspondence address the craft of writing and her own views on her work, subjects rarely broached in her many letters.
"Criticism" includes eighteen essays that collectively suggest the changing emphases in how Mansfield has been read by critics. Contributors include fellow writers Rebecca West, T. S. Eliot, Katherine Anne Porter, V. S. Pritchett, Elizabeth Bowen, and Frank O' Connor, as well as biographers Claire Tomalin and Vincent O'Sullivan, among others.
A Selected Bibliography is also included.
Call Number: 823.91 MAN OSU
Publication Date: 2005
The Metamorphosis by The novella is fully annotated and is accompanied by selected textual variants. Backgrounds and Contexts introduces readers to The Metamorphosis in the richest possible setting. The links between the author's life and his work are explored through an examination of his personal writings. Kafka's letters and diary entries illuminate the creative process behind his portrait of Gregor Samsa, his family, and their nightmarish ordeal. Criticism collects seven essays from the period 1970-95 representing the most important currents in literary theory--semiotics, feminism, identity philosophy, New Historicism, and post-Freudian cultural psychoanalysis. The essays offer a variety of perspectives on the novella by Iris Bruce, Nina Pelikan Straus, Kevin W. Sweeney, Mark Anderson, Hartmut Binder, Eric Santner, and Stanley Corngold. A Chronology and Selected Bibliography are also included.
Call Number: 891.5 KAF COR
Publication Date: 1996
Mrs. Dalloway by In this vivid portrait of one day in a woman's life, Clarissa Dalloway is preoccupied with the last-minute details of party she is to give that evening. As she readies her house she is flooded with memories and re-examines the choices she has made over the course of her life.
Call Number: 823.91 WOO WOO
Publication Date: 2008
The Waste Land by For ease of reading, this Norton Critical Edition presents The Waste Land as it first appeared in the American edition (Boni & Liveright), with Eliot's notes at the end. "Contexts" provides readers with invaluable materials on The Waste Land's sources, composition, and publication history. "Criticism" traces the poem's reception with twenty-five reviews and essays, from first reactions through the end of the twentieth century. Included are reviews published in the Times Literary Supplement, along with selections by Virginia Woolf, Gilbert Seldes, Edmund Wilson, Elinor Wylie, Conrad Aiken, Charles Powell, Gorham Munson, Malcolm Cowley, Ralph Ellison, John Crowe Ransom, I. A. Richards, F. R. Leavis, Cleanth Brooks, Delmore Schwartz, Denis Donoghue, Robert Langbaum, Marianne Thormählen, A. D. Moody, Ronald Bush, Maud Ellman, and Tim Armstrong. A Chronology and Selected Bibliography are included.
Call Number: 821.91 ELI NOR
Publication Date: 2001
Modernism by The last 20 years has seen an explosion of work on literary modernism and its cultural and historical contexts. In this innovative study aimed at a general audience, Tim Armstrong seeks to define modernism not only by its aesthetics and literary genres but also by its links with broader cultural areas in which the 'modern' is implicated and debated, and which inform its representational modes. Modernism: A Cultural History explores modernism's struggle with a split temporality in which the old and the emerging new struggle, and in which, with the horror of the Great War, notions of a traumatic or 'frozen' time emerge. It considers such topics as modernism, market culture and obscurity; the culture of science and technology; politics, economics, eugenics, and sexology; primitivism and race; cinema and sound recording; gender and modernism; and the study of consciousness and the senses. It portrays modernism less as a movement in revolt from the modern world than as attempting to engage with that world: the cry of 'reform!' which characterizes much of post-enlightenment thought is used to describe modernist writers' engagement with politics or bodies as well as with inherited style. In this wide-ranging study, a parade of writers - from the canonical like Pound, Eliot and Woolf to less well-known figures like Mary Butts, Muriel Rukeyser and Sterling Brown - are considered, and literary movements like Imagism, Surrealism and the Harlem Renaissance are drawn into the debate. Students and scholars alike, of Modernism and Twentieth Century Literature, will find the breadth, clarity and fresh approach of this text invaluable.
Call Number: 809.9112 ARM
Publication Date: 2005
Modernism by This short introduction to Modernism analyses the movement from the perspective of English and American literature. Provides a critical overview of some of the central texts of literary Modernism. Covers both established works and those that have only recently come to critical attention. Includes detailed discussion of major authors, including T.S. Eliot, Virginia Woolf, D.H. Lawrence, Wallace Stevens and H.D.
Call Number: 820.9112 AYE + eBook
Publication Date: 2004
A Companion to Virginia Woolf by A Companion to Virginia Woolf is a thorough examination of her life, work, and multiple contexts in 33 essays written by leading scholars in the field. Contains insightful and provocative new scholarship and sketches out new directions for future research Approaches Woolf's writing from a variety of perspectives and disciplines, including modernism, post-colonialism, queer theory, animal studies, digital humanities, and the law Explores the multiple trajectories Woolf's work travels around the world, from the Bloomsbury Group, and the Hogarth Press to India and Latin America Situates Woolf studies at the vanguard of contemporary literature scholarship and the new modernist studies
Call Number: 823.912 BER
Publication Date: 2016
A Concise Companion to Modernism by This concise Companion offers an innovative approach to understanding the Modernist literary mind in Britain, focusing on the intellectual and cultural contexts, which shaped it.
Offers an innovative approach to understanding the Modernist literary mind in Britain.
Helps readers to grasp the intellectual and cultural contexts of literary Modernism.
Organised around contemporary ideas such as Freudianism and eugenics rather than literary genres.
Relates literary Modernism to the overarching issues of the period, such as feminism, imperialism and war.
Call Number: 820.9112 BRA + eBook
Publication Date: 2002
A Companion to Modernist Literature and Culture by The Companion combines a broad grounding in the essential texts and contexts of the modernist movement with the unique insights of scholars whose careers have been devoted to the study of modernism.
An essential resource for students and teachers of modernist literature and culture
Broad in scope and comprehensive in coverage
Includes more than 60 contributions from some of the most distinguished modernist scholars on both sides of the Atlantic
Brings together entries on elements of modernist culture, contemporary intellectual and aesthetic movements, and all the genres of modernist writing and art
Features 25 essays on the signal texts of modernist literature, from James Joyce's Ulysses to Zora Neal Hurston's Their Eyes Were Watching God
Pays close attention to both British and American modernism
Call Number: 809.9112 BRA + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Modernism by Is a tower block, your unmade bed, your lavatory basin, or the bicycle chained to the gate next door a work of art? Why should a novel have a beginning, a middle, and an end; or even a story? Whether we recognise it or not, virtually every aspect of our life today has been influenced in partby the aesthetic legacy of Modernism.In this Very Short Introduction Christopher Butler examines how and why Modernism began, explaining what it is and showing how it has gradually informed all aspects of 20th and 21st century life.Butler considers several aspects of modernism including some modernist works; movements and notions of the avant garde; and the idea of 'progress' in art. Butler looks at modernist ideas of the self, subjectivity, irrationalism, people and machines, and political definitions of modernism as awhole.
Call Number: 700.4112 BUT
Publication Date: 2010
Modernism by This work provides a succinct analysis of the most important literary innovations of the last 100 years. The author explains the pan-European origins of the radical literary changes which occurred in the novel, poetry and drama, as well as the many revolutions in art, film and aesthetic theory.
Call Number: 809 CHI
Publication Date: 2000
The Nets of Modernism by One of the finest literary critics of her generation, Maud Ellmann synthesises her work on modernism, psychoanalysis and Irish literature in this important new book. In sinuous readings of Henry James, James Joyce and Virginia Woolf, she examines the interconnections between developing technological networks in modernity and the structures of modernist fiction, linking both to Freudian psychoanalysis. The Nets of Modernism examines the significance of images of bodily violation and exchange - scar, bite, wound, and their psychic equivalents - showing how these images correspond to 'vampirism' and related obsessions in early twentieth-century culture. Subtle, original and a pleasure to read, this 2010 book offers a fresh perspective on the inter-implications of Freudian psychoanalysis and Anglophone modernism that will influence the field for years to come.
Call Number: 823.91 ELL + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Writing the City by Writing the City examines and challenges the traditional transatlantic axis of urban modernism, London-Paris-New York, an axis that has often elided the historical importance of other centers that have shaped metropolitan identities and discourses. According to Desmond Harding, James Joyce's internationalist vision of Dublin generates powerful epistemic and cultural tropes that reconceive the idea of the modern city as a moral phenomenon in transcultural and transhistorical terms. Taking up the works of both Joyce and John Dos Passos, Harding investigates the lasting contributions these author's made to transatlantic intellectual thought in their efforts to envisage the city.
Call Number: 823.91 HAR
Publication Date: 2003
The Modernist Short Story by The modernist period saw a revolution in fictional practice, most famously in the work of novelists such as Joyce and Woolf. Dominic Head shows that the short story, with its particular stress on literary artifice, was a central site for modernist innovation. Working against a conventional approach and towards a more rigourous and sophisticated theory of the genre, using a framework drawn from Althusser and Bakhtin, he examines the short story's range of formal effects, such as the disunifying function of ellipsis and ambiguity. Separate chapters on Joyce, Woolf and Katherine Mansfield highlight their strategies of formal dissonance, involving a conflict of voices within the narrative. Finally, Dominic Head's challenging conclusion takes the implications of his study into the age of postmodernism.
Call Number: 823.01090912 HEA
Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Introduction to Modernist Poetry by Modernist poems are some of the twentieth-century's major cultural achievements, but they are also hard work to read. This wide-ranging introduction takes readers through modernism's most famous poems and some of its forgotten highlights to show why modernists thought difficulty and disorientation essential for poetry in the modern world. In-depth chapters on Pound, Eliot, Yeats and the American modernists outline how formal experiments take on the new world of mass media, democracies, total war and changing religious belief. Chapters on the avant-gardes and later modernism examine how their styles shift as they try to re-make the community of readers. Howarth explains in a clear and enjoyable way how to approach the forms, politics and cultural strategies of modernist poetry in English.
Call Number: 821.9109112 HOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Modernism by A wide-ranging collection of the key contextual documents which inform the Modernist period of Anglo-American literature. Documents are supported by substantial editorial material drawing connections to the major Modernist texts, and a full introduction outlining the key events, social and political movements, and cultural issues of the time.
Call Number: 820.91120904 MAT
Publication Date: 2008
The Bloomsbury Companion to Modernist Literature by In this book, leading international scholars explore the major ideas and debates that have made the study of modernist literature one of the most vibrant areas of literary studies today. The Bloomsbury Companion to Modernist Literature offers a comprehensive guide to current research in the field, covering topics including: ¿ The modernist everyday: emotion, myth, geographies and language scepticism ¿ Modernist literature and the arts: music, the visual arts, cinema and popular culture ¿ Textual and archival approaches: manuscripts, genetic criticism and modernist magazines ¿ Modernist literature and science: sexology, neurology, psychology, technology and the theory of relativity ¿ The geopolitics of modernism: globalization, politics and economics ¿ Resources: keywords and an annotated bibliography
Call Number: 809.9112 MAU
Publication Date: 2018
The Modernism Handbook by Literature and Culture Handbooks are an innovative series of guides to major periods, topics and authors in British and American literature and culture. Designed to provide a comprehensive, one-stop resource for literature students, each handbook provides the essential information and guidance needed from the beginning of a course through to developing more advanced knowledge and skills. Written in clear language by leading academics, they provide an indispensable introduction to key topics, including: * Introduction to authors, texts, historical and cultural contexts * Guides to key critics, concepts and topics * An overview of major critical approaches, changes in the canon and directions of current and future research * Case studies in reading literary and critical texts * Annotated bibliography (including websites), timeline, glossary of critical terms. The Modernism Handbook is an invaluable introduction edited by Philip tew and Alex Murray to British Modernism as a literary movement.
Call Number: 809.9112 TEW
Publication Date: 2009
Modernism by This guide helps readers to engage with the major critical debates surrounding literary modernism. A judicious selection of key critical works on literary modernism Presents a critical history from the earliest reviews to the most recent theoretical assessments Shows how modernist writers understood and constructed modernism. Shows how succeeding generations have developed those constructions and brought new interpretations to bear on the subject Discusses how modernism relates to modernity and odernization, and to other literary and cultural movements Texts have been selected for their relevance to the questions surrounding modernism, and for their accessibility to readers with a limited knowledge of the modernist canon Includes a glossary and an annotated bibliography.
Call Number: 809.9112 WHI + eBook
Publication Date: 2007