Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are numerous databases available to you which provide access to high-quality information you won't find on Google.
Most of the databases enable you to find full-text journal articles and references, but we also have newspaper, image and
media databases that you can use.
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
Arts & Humanities Database (Proquest)
Art Full Text reflects the full interdisciplinary of contemporary study in arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women’s studies
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
an index of journal articles and abstracts for 770 journals all covering topics in communications and media. Also included are full text articles from over 450 journals. Coverage ranges from 1915 to the present day.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
full-text journal articles covering a wide range of subject areas. JSTOR is an archive database so does not include current content. Coverage includes: 19th & 20th century American Art, archaeology, art & art history, classics, economics, film, folklore, history, history of art, language & literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, religion, social sciences, sociology, women's studies
JSTOR Language & Literature Archive and Current Collection
provides journal subscriptions from multiple publishers bundled as collections that serve research and curriculum needs in core subject areas. Featuring titles such as Antioch Review; Interdisciplinary Literary Studies; Modern Philology; and The Modern Language Review, providing a diverse set of high-quality journals that serve researchers and scholars in fields that rely on language and literature titles to support their work.
Literature Online (LION)
Proquest literature database with 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 208 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources
over 230 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas, two-thirds of which are published in collaboration with learned societies and other international organizations.
provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world
The following may also be helpful
A-Z eJournal List
Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
Structuring your Search
You can save yourself time by spending a few minutes planning how you want to search the databases before you begin.
Consider the following:
- Which database(s) to search
- Keywords- what will you search for?
- How to link the keywords together
- Will you apply any limits to your search? (date of publication, full-text, format)
For more information about searching, take a look at our Searching for Information page.
You can also look at our pages in the Assignment Toolkit related to searching for information.
News and Newspapers Access to daily and weekly newspapers from around the world. Including, all major broadsheets and tabloid newspapers, The Telegraph, The Guardian, The Times, The Financial Times, Express, Daily Mail, and others. Also includes local newspapers such as the East Anglian Daily Times and Eastern Daily Press
Access to full-text current daily newspapers from the UK and around the world.
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
19th Century UK Periodicals
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others. (Not included in Summon)
British Library Newspapers (Gale)
The British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. (Not included in Summon)
British Periodicals 1681 - 1939 (Proquest)
Proquest. Literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, music, drama, archaeology and architecture and the social sciences - journal articles
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture
Guardian and Observer newspapers, archive content from Proquest (Historical Newspapers)
Historical Newspapers is a searchable database that offers full text and full image articles for The Guardian from 1821-2003 and The Observer from 1791-2003 as they were originally published and printed. It provides access to the facts, firsthand accounts and opinions of the day about the most significant events of the past 200 years.
Internet Library of Early Journals (WWW)
A digital library of 18th and 19th century journals, content from the following journals, Gentleman's magazine, The
Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
London Gazette (WWW)
The archive of the London, Edinburgh and Belfast Gazettes. Select search the archives.
Oxford Journals Archive
features the online backfiles of 177 of the world’s most acclaimed and authoritative journals in one package
Periodicals Archive Online
Proquest archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Times Digital Archive, 1785 to 2013
provides the full text of articles published in the Times between 1785 and 1985. Each article is made available as an image preserving the type and layout of the day.
All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0