Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Development Management reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Game Production Handbook by The Game Production Handbook, Second Edition presents information that a producer, lead, or studio manager needs to know in order to successfully develop a game from concept to gold master. The general game development topics such as pre-production, production, testing, and code release are covered, along with more specific topics such as how to organize voice-over and mo-cap shoots, creating cinematics, working with marketing, localizations, working with external contractors, writing documentation, and project management practices. New material includes additional information on project and personnel management, new technologies, online gaming issues and middleware, and updated examples from next-generation games. It includes new interviews with industry experts who discuss insider knowledge and real world examples of what works and what doesn't work in game development. A fictitious game project is used to fully illustrate the production cycle, documentation, and other production concepts. The book has a CD-ROM that includes all the templates/forms, so anyone can immediately apply the principles discussed in the book. An Instructor Resource Kit is available for use as a textbook.(eBook version does not include the CD-ROM)
Call Number: 794.81526 CHA
Publication Date: 2008
User Stories Applied by Thoroughly reviewed and eagerly anticipated by the agile community, User Stories Applied offers a requirements process that saves time, eliminates rework, and leads directly to better software. The best way to build software that meets users' needs is to begin with "user stories": simple, clear, brief descriptions of functionality that will be valuable to real users. In User Stories Applied, Mike Cohn provides you with a front-to-back blueprint for writing these user stories and weaving them into your development lifecycle. You'll learn what makes a great user story, and what makes a bad one. You'll discover practical ways to gather user stories, even when you can't speak with your users. Then, once you've compiled your user stories, Cohn shows how to organize them, prioritize them, and use them for planning, management, and testing. User role modeling: understanding what users have in common, and where they differ Gathering stories: user interviewing, questionnaires, observation, and workshops Working with managers, trainers, salespeople and other "proxies" Writing user stories for acceptance testing Using stories to prioritize, set schedules, and estimate release costs Includes end-of-chapter practice questions and exercises User Stories Applied will be invaluable to every software developer, tester, analyst, and manager working with any agile method: XP, Scrum... or even your own home-grown approach.
Call Number: 794.81 COH
Publication Date: 2004
Business and Legal Primer for Game Development by Business and Legal Primer for Games explores the major legal and business issues involved in game development with a particular focus on starting a business. The book contains practical introductory sections on business and legal problems that members of the development community are often confronted with. These problems include business structure, contracts, employment law, taxation, and IP. Those seeking to start their own game development company will receive invaluable information regarding getting started, basic business operations, marketing, licensing intellectual property, and exit strategies. Business and Legal Primer for Games is the ideal starting point with any who has ever wanted to start a game business and an excellent reference of information for those who already are involved in game development.
Call Number: 343.730787948 BOY
Publication Date: 2006
Agile Testing by Te>Two of the industry's most experienced agile testing practitioners and consultants, Lisa Crispin and Janet Gregory, have teamed up to bring you the definitive answers to these questions and many others. In Agile Testing, Crispin and Gregory define agile testing and illustrate the tester's role with examples from real agile teams. They teach you how to use the agile testing quadrants to identify what testing is needed, who should do it, and what tools might help. The book chronicles an agile software development iteration from the viewpoint of a tester and explains the seven key success factors of agile testing. Readers will come away from this book understanding How to get testers engaged in agile development Where testers and QA managers fit on an agile team What to look for when hiring an agile tester How to transition from a traditional cycle to agile development How to complete testing activities in short iterations How to use tests to successfully guide development How to overcome barriers to test automation This book is a must for agile testers, agile teams, their managers, and their customers. The eBook edition of Agile Testing also is available as part of a two-eBook collection, The Agile Testing Collection (9780134190624).
Call Number: 794.81 CRI
Publication Date: 2008
The Indie Game Development Guide by This text details the process of designing, developing and self-publishing games for the PC. Whether you are a programmer, an artist or sound engineer, this book teaches how to lead an independent game project, explaining how to take a game idea from design through to publication on the Internet.
Call Number: 794.815 MIC
Publication Date: 2003
Game Creation and Careers by Featuring interviews with many game designers, this book offers advice on the aspects of game creation. It covers topics such as creating games for the new generation platforms such as X-Box, Playstation 2, and more. It discusses the business side of the game industry. It helps readers learn how to sell their own shareware via the internet.
Call Number: 794.8151 SAL
Publication Date: 2003