Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Sports Performance Physiology reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the “Recommended Reading” selection, based on their personal preferences for textbook style and presentation. Students must use relevant peer reviewed journals to supplement the resources listed below. Academic staff will assist with selection and interpretation of peer reviewed research journal papers.
Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription by ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription is the flagship title from the American College of Sports Medicine, the prestigious organization that sets the standards for the exercise profession. This critical handbook delivers scientifically based standards on exercise testing and prescription to the certification candidate, the professional, and the student. This manual gives succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased patients The tenth edition reflects some crucial and exciting changes, making the content necessary for effective study and practice. New pre-exercise health screening recommendations are critical to helping more of the population begin a safe, healthy physical activity program without consulting a physician. New and expanded information on the risks of sedentary behavior, clinical exercise testing and interpretation, high intensity interval training, musculoskeletal injury risk, fitness testing protocols and norms, and an expansion of the principles of health behavior change are included. Additionally, significant reorganization of content will help you reach the information you need quickly. This manual is an essential resource for all exercise professionals, as well as other health professionals who may council patients on exercise including physicians, nurses, physician's assistants, physical and occupational therapists, dieticians, and health care administrators.
Call Number: 615.82 AME
Publication Date: 2017
Advanced Exercise Physiology by Advanced Exercise Physiology: Essential Concepts and Applications builds upon foundational topics and looks further into key physiological components to help advanced students gain a deeper level of understanding. Authors Jonathan K. Ehrman, Dennis J. Kerrigan, and Steven J. Keteyian address a wide range of complex topics with evidence-based information and a focused, targeted style. The first five chapters offer a detailed examination of the various body systems. The next two chapters focus on exercise testing and training principles, as well as training adaptations as they relate to aerobic power, anaerobic power, range of motion, and resistance training of healthy individuals and competitive athletes. The remaining chapters focus on a variety of topics, including athletic performance, body composition and weight management, and environmental influences of exercise physiology. The final two chapters bring a unique perspective to the book with a review of the relationship between exercise physiology and public health and a look at recent and emerging topics in the field, including genomics and pharmacology. Enhancing the content are learning aids, more than 140 images and illustrations, and practical examples from among clinical patients, healthy individuals, and competitive athletes. Key terms and their definitions appear at the end of each chapter; these help students understand key concepts and serve as a useful reference for practitioners. The appendixes contain information related to topics such as efficiency and energy expenditure, metabolic equivalent (MET) values of common activities, and the professionalization of exercise physiology. For instructors, Advanced Exercise Physiology also includes a test package and an image bank to assist wtih classroom lecture preparations. The ancillaries, in-text learning components, and comprehensive content combine to create an ideal text to be used in advanced courses in exercise physiology.
Call Number: 612.044 EHR
Publication Date: 2018
ACSM's Advanced Exercise Physiology by Written at a graduate level, the Second Edition of ACSM's Advanced Exercise Physiology enables experienced students to develop an in-depth understanding of exercise physiology along with its related topics and applications. Both the immediate and long-term effects of exercise on individual body systems are described in detail, and the text emphasizes how each body system's physiological response to exercise is interdependent. Moreover, it examines how these physiological responses are affected by heat, cold, hypoxia, microgravity, rest, and hyperbaria. This Second Edition features a team of international authors and editors whose expertise spans general physiology, exercise physiology, and research. Together, they have substantially revised, updated, and reorganized the text to incorporate feedback from both instructors and students.
Call Number: 612.044 FAR
Publication Date: 2012
Laboratory Manual for Exercise Physiology by Laboratory Manual for Exercise Physiology, Second Edition With Web Study Guide, provides guided opportunities for students to translate their scientific understanding of exercise physiology into practical applications in a variety of settings. Written by experts G. Gregory Haff and Charles Dumke, the text builds upon the success of the first edition with full-color images and the addition of several new interactive lab activities in the web study guide. The revitalized second edition comprises 16 laboratory chapters that offer a total of 49 lab activities. Each laboratory chapter provides a complete lesson, including objectives, definitions of key terms, and background information that sets the stage for learning. Each lab activity supplies step-by-step procedures, providing guidance for those new to lab settings so that they may complete the procedures. New features in this edition include the following: * An updated web study guide that contains 10 interactive lab activities to enhance student learning, including video that helps simulate the experience of performing the labs in the real world * A completely new laboratory chapter on high-intensity fitness training that includes several popular intermittent fitness tests that students can learn to perform and interpret * An appendix that helps estimate the oxygen cost of walking, running, and cycling * Full-color printing throughout In addition, Laboratory Manual for Exercise Physiology, Second Edition, is thoroughly updated, offering the following: * New research and information pertaining to each laboratory topic * Current standards and norms * Case studies to illuminate laboratory concepts * Answers to the case studies to facilitate student learning * Question sets to help students better understand laboratory concepts * A lab activity finder that makes it easy to locate specific tests The web study guide for students provides lab activities with an enhanced learning experience. Through this portal, students and instructors can access electronic versions of individual data sheets, group data sheets, question sets, case studies and their answers, and 10 interactive lab activities. Instructors also receive access to an image bank, which includes most of the figures, tables, and photos from the book. Organized in a logical progression, the text builds upon the knowledge students acquire as they advance. Furthermore, the text provides multiple lab activities and includes an equipment list at the beginning of each activity, allowing instructors flexibility in choosing the lab activities that will best work in their facility. Laboratory Manual for Exercise Physiology, Second Edition With Web Study Guide, exposes students to a broad expanse of tests that are typically performed in an exercise physiology lab and that can be applied to a variety of professional settings. As such, the text serves as a high-quality resource for basic laboratory testing procedures used in assessing human performance, health, and wellness.
Call Number: 612.044 HAF
Publication Date: 2018