Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Introduction to Strength and Conditioning reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
There is no essential reading for this module
Strength and Conditioning by "I recommend that you read and use the information in this book toprovide your athletes with the best chances of performing at theirbest" from the foreword by Sir Clive Woodward, Olympic PerformanceDirector, British Olympic Association This book provides the latest scientific and practicalinformation in the field of strength and conditioning. The text is presented in four sections, the first of whichcovers the biological aspects of the subject, laying the foundationfor a better understanding of the second on the biologicalresponses to strength and conditioning programs. Section threedeals with the most effective monitoring strategies for evaluatinga training program and establishing guidelines for writing asuccessful strength and conditioning program. The final sectionexamines the role of strength and conditioning as a rehabilitationtool and as applied to those with disabilities. This book is an invaluable textbook and reference both foracademic programs and for the continuing education of sportsprofessionals. Integrates the latest research on physiological, anatomical andbiomechanical aspects of strength and conditioning Offers numerous practical examples of applications Provides guidelines for writing and monitoring effectivestrength training programs
Call Number: 613.711 CAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning by Developed by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) and now in its fourth edition, Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning is the essential text for strength and conditioning professionals and students. This comprehensive resource, created by 30 expert contributors in the field, explains the key theories, concepts, and scientific principles of strength training and conditioning as well as their direct application to athletic competition and performance. The scope and content of Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition With Web Resource, have been updated to convey the knowledge, skills, and abilities required of a strength and conditioning professional and to address the latest information found on the Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist (CSCS) exam. The evidence-based approach and unbeatable accuracy of the text make it the primary resource to rely on for CSCS exam preparation. The text is organized to lead readers from theory to program design and practical strategies for administration and management of strength and conditioning facilities. The fourth edition contains the most current research and applications and several new features: * Online videos featuring 21 resistance training exercises demonstrate proper exercise form for classroom and practical use. * Updated research--specifically in the areas of high-intensity interval training, overtraining, agility and speed in changes of direction, nutrition for health and performance, and periodization--helps readers better understand these popular trends in the industry. * A new chapter with instructions and photos presents techniques for exercises using alternative modes and nontraditional implements. * Ten additional tests of maximum power and strength, aerobic capacity, along with new flexibility exercises, resistance training exercises, plyometric exercises, and speed and agility drills help professionals design programs that reflect current guidelines. Key points, chapter objectives, and learning aids including key terms and self-study questions provide a structure to help students and professionals conceptualize the information and reinforce fundamental facts. Application sidebars provide practical application of scientific concepts that can be used by strength and conditioning specialists in real-world settings, making the information immediately relatable and usable. The web resource provides students with lab activities in fillable form for practice and information retention. Further, both students and professionals will benefit from the online videos of 21 foundational exercises that provide visual instruction and reinforce proper technique. Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition, offers an expanded ancillary package for instructors. Instructors receive access to a 61-video collection, including the 21 videos available in the web resource, plus an additional 40 videos demonstrating resistance training exercises, plyometric exercises, and exercises using alternative modes and nontraditional implements, bringing practical content to the classroom. Working along with the instructor guide and presentation package, a test package has been added to assist instructors in evaluating students' understanding of key concepts. EEssentials of Strength Training and Conditioning, Fourth Edition, provides the most comprehensive information on organization and administration of facilities, testing and evaluation, exercise techniques, training adaptations, program design, and structure and function of body systems. Its scope, precision, and dependability make it the essential preparation text for the CSCS exam as well as a definitive reference for strength and conditioning professionals to consult in their everyday practice.
Call Number: 613.71 HAF
Publication Date: 2015
Principles and Practice of Resistance Training by Principles and Practice of Resistance Training represents a true breakthrough in planning and monitoring strength training programs. This research-based book details how to systematically examine the physical, physiological, and biomechanical parameters associated with crafting resistance training programs to improve sport performance and strength and power in athletes. The authors bring together more than 100 collective years of teaching, conducting research, and coaching national- and international-level athletes to share their unique insights concerning adaptations to strength and conditioning. The text is written in a manner that challenges professionals while remaining accessible to advanced coaches. It begins by presenting readers with an understanding of basic science. This scientific foundation allows readers to formulate a sound training process that is more likely to produce the desired short- and long-term results. Next, the text examines how to test, monitor, and evaluate adaptations to various types of training programs. It emphasizes the significance of appropriately monitoring training programs to identify elements of the program to adjust so the goals of clients or athletes are more effectively and efficiently achieved. Finally, the authors discuss exercise selection and present a practical example so readers can learn to apply the information in the text to build their own training programs. Each chapter is written in a "stand-alone" manner so that readers can refer back to the material as needed. Principles and Practice of Resistance Training also explores key questions that currently have no clear, scientifically proven answers. For these issues, the authors offer reasoned, speculative explanations based on the best available information and data--including anecdotal evidence-- intended to stimulate additional observation and research that will eventually offer a clearer understanding and resolution of the issues involved. In sharing their personal experiences as coaches and research scientists, the authors are able to address issues that are not normally dealt with in academic programs. Principles and Practice of Resistance Training is far more than a general guide for strength training. It is an in-depth exploration of the science behind the training. Armed with the scientific understanding and the tools to put that information into practice, you will be able to develop training programs that help your athletes or clients excel.
Call Number: 613.713 STO
Publication Date: 2007
Science and Practice of Strength Training by This new second edition of Science and Practice of Strength Training comes with many additions and changes. A new coauthor, Dr. William Kraemer, joins Dr. Vladimir Zatsiorsky in expanding on the principles and concepts needed for training athletes. Among Dr. Kraemer's contributions are three new chapters targeting specific populations--women, young athletes, and seniors--plus the integration of new concepts into the other chapters. Together the authors have trained more than 1,000 elite athletes, including Olympic, world, continental, and national champions and record holders. The concepts they divulge are influenced by both Eastern European and North American perspectives. The authors integrate those concepts in solid principles, practical insights, coaching experiences, and directions based on scientific findings. This edition is much more practical than its predecessor; to this end, the book provides the practitioner with the understanding to craft strength training programs based on individuals' needs. Science and Practice of Strength Training, Second Edition, shows that there is no one program that works for any one person at all times or for all conditions. This book addresses the complexity of strength training programs while providing straightforward approaches to take under specific circumstances. Those approaches are applied to new physiological concepts and training practices, which provide readers with the most current information in the science and practice of strength training. The approaches are also applied to the three new chapters, which will help readers design safe and effective strength training programs for women, young athletes, and seniors. In addition, the authors provide examples of strength training programs to demonstrate the principles and concepts they explain in the book. The book is divided into three parts. Part I focuses on the basis of strength training, detailing concepts, task-specific strength, and athlete-specific strength. Part II covers methods of strength conditioning, delving into training intensity, timing, strength exercises, injury prevention, and goals. Part III explores training for specific populations. The book also includes suggested readings that can further aid readers in developing strength training programs. This expanded and updated coverage of strength training concepts will ground readers in the understanding they need in order to develop appropriate strength training programs for each person that they work with.
Call Number: 613.711 ZAT
Publication Date: 2006