Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Anatomy for Sport and Exercise Science reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the“Recommended Reading” selection, based on their personal preferences for textbook style andpresentation. Students are strongly encouraged to use relevant peer reviewed journals to supplement the resources listed below. Academic staff will assist with selection and interpretation of peer reviewed research journal papers.
Applied Anatomy and Biomechanics in Sport. 2nd edn. by Applied Anatomy and Biomechanics in Sport, Second Edition,concentrates on the various ways in which an athlete—whether the average participant or the elite competitor—can modify technique to achieve optimal performance. Its emphasis on athletic assessment and physical capacity modification provides a unique perspective that will help coaches and other sport professionals appraise the body structure of their athletes so that strengths can be fully utilized and weaknesses improved. The text also considers growth, development, and gender, and it makes readers aware of mechanical overstresses that can impair performance and cause injuries. The second edition has undergone a complete revision and is designed with practical application in mind. It includes chapter contributions by respected sport scientists presenting recent research and cutting-edge information on topics such as: -the development of improved training methods to increase explosive power, -the use of elastic energy in the development of power and speed, -the modification of strength and body composition to improve performance, and -the application of proportionality and posture to sport performance. Applied Anatomy and Biomechanics in Sportrelies on current research findings and proven methods in developing physical athletic performance to help readers learn to recognize and use appropriate methods to develop optimal physical qualities for skilled performance. The text categorizes 30 international sports into nine distinct groups organized by common features: racket sports; aquatic sports; gymnastics and power sports; track, field, and cycling; mobile field sports; set field sports; court sports; contact field sports; and martial arts. Within each group, techniques that improve performance are analyzed with specific examples given from a variety of international coaches. The applied nature of the content is enhanced through a building-block approach that facilitates the understanding of the elements of human performance and how the interaction of those elements can be fine-tuned. The text employs a four-part structure: -Fundamental Concepts relate to assessment and modification of an athlete's body structure, physical capacity, and technique, as well as talent identification and profiling. -Applied Anatomy provides both a theoretical framework for valid and reliable assessment and evidence-based modification of an athlete's body structure and physical capacity. -Applied Biomechanics explains how the analysis of sport technique may be used to improve athletic performance. -A Practical Example uses in-depth analysis to provide a specific case for assessment of physical capacity and biomechanics of an athlete, the intervention program and technique modification employed, and the resultant influence on the athlete's performance. Applied Anatomy and Biomechanics in Sportcovers the latest assessment techniques used by exercise and sport science specialists to evaluate human physiques, physical capacities, and sport techniques. Using this text, readers can integrate and apply the elements of body structure, body composition, assessment, physiology, and biomechanics to assess current capabilities and enhance the performance of athletes.
Call Number: 612 ACK
Publication Date: 2008
Manual of Structural Kinesiology. 20th edn. by Manual of Structural Kinesiology presents a straightforward view of human anatomy and its relation to movement. The manual clearly identifies specific muscles and muscle groups and describes exercises for strengthening and developing them. Floyd provides important information in an accessible format through a combination of logical presentation, illustrations, and concise writing style. The Connect course for this offering includes SmartBook, an adaptive reading and study experience which guides students to master, recall, and apply key concepts while providing automatically-graded assessments. McGraw-Hill Connect#65533; is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook#65533; - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
Call Number: 612.76 FLO
Publication Date: 2017
Kinesiology: the mechanics and pathomechanics of human movement, 3rd edn. by Equip your students with the knowledge they need to be effective physical therapists with the updated Third Edition of Kinesiology: The Mechanics and Pathomechanics of Human Movement. Now in vibrant full color, the Third Edition provides a clinical, applied look at anatomy and mechanics that reflects the latest research findings and the most current developments in the field. As your students move through the text, they don't just learn the principles of motion; they learn how these principles apply to patient care. New Thought Problems with critical thinking exercises ask students to think through the types of decisions they will be making as physical therapy professionals.
Call Number: 612.76 OAT
Publication Date: 2016
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology. 14th edn. by The 14th edition of the phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the standard for the discipline. The authors have maintained a superb balance between structure and function and continue to emphasize the correlations between normal physiology and pathophysiology, normal anatomy and pathology, and homeostasis and homeostatic imbalances. No other text and package offers a teaching and learning environment as rich and complete. WileyPLUS sold separately from text.
Call Number: Gerard J. Tortora and Bryan Derrickson
Publication Date: 2013