Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Clinical Exercise Biomechanics reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the “Recommended Reading” selection, based on their personal preferences for textbook style and presentation. Students may also use relevant peer reviewed journals to supplement the resources listed below. Academic staff will assist with selection and interpretation of peer reviewed research journal papers
Your module leader and contributor(s) can advise on the relevance of peer reviewed research publications. They will be used extensively in the third year. It is vital you show evidence in your work that you have read, understood and applied research evidence
Biomechanical Evaluation of Movement in Sport and Exercise by Now in a fully updated and revised new edition, this is still the only up-to-date, practical guide to the use of technology in sport and exercise biomechanics. It includes detailed explanations of the key theory underlying biomechanics testing and measurement, along with advice on choosing equipment and using it effectively. The second edition includes two completely new chapters on qualitative movement analysis and the assessment of movement coordination, and covers every key functional area in the biomechanics curriculum, including: motion analysis using video and on-line systems measurement of force and pressure measurement of torque and power using isokinetic dynamometry electromyography computational simulation and modelling of human movement research methodologies data processing. Published in association with the British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences (BASES), it includes contributions from world leading researchers and pioneers in the field of sport and exercise biomechanics. Biomechanical Evaluation of Movement in Sport and Exercise is a must-have text for all biomechanics laboratories and for any student undertaking a research project or course in methods, measurement or analysis in biomechanics.
Call Number: 612.76 PAY
Publication Date: 2017
Biomechanics of Musculoskeletal Injury. 2nd edn. by Biomechanics of Musculoskeletal Injury, Second Edition, presents clear, accessible explanations of the biomechanical principles of injury and how injuries affect the normal function of muscles, connective tissue, and joints. Noted biomechanists William Whiting and Ronald Zernicke guide readers through the mechanical concepts of musculoskeletal injuries without heavy emphasis on mathematics. Almost 10 years after the publication of the first edition, this much-needed second edition has been vastly improved. Packed with more than 400 illustrations, including graphs and anatomical art (nearly twice as many as in the previous edition), Biomechanics of Musculoskeletal Injury, Second Edition, is an indispensable reference offering perspectives on and appreciation for the intricacies of injury mechanisms. The text provides a solid foundation for in-depth study with a comprehensive examination of these issues: -The mechanical aspects of injury and the concept of injury as a stimulus for beneficial tissue adaptations -How injury affects the normal function of the human musculoskeletal system and an examination of arthrology, or joint mechanics -Mechanical parameters such as force, stress and strain, stiffness, and elasticity and their application to tissue mechanics and injury -How connective tissues respond to mechanical loading and how those tissues are studied to quantify their mechanical behavior -Factors such as age, gender, nutrition, and exercise with emphasis on how lifestyle choices might lessen the chance or severity of injury -How the principles of mechanical load and overload, use and overuse, level and progression of injury, and the many contributory factors involved in injury combine to form a backdrop for viewing specific musculoskeletal injuries Drawing on the information provided in previous chapters, the final section of the text covers the essentials of injuries of the lower extremity, upper extremity, and the head, neck, and trunk. New to the second edition, special sections titled “A Closer Look” present a detailed analysis of anterior cruciate ligament injuries, rotator cuff pathologies, and concussion. In addition, topics of current concern such as falls in older populations, throwing-related rotator cuff pathologies, and youth-related injuries from carrying backpacks are also discussed. This new edition also employs updated design features to reinforce learning, including the addition of a second color to highlight new sections and special elements. The running glossary provides immediate access to definitions, thereby increasing reading comprehension. The improved index offers a quick-search feature for glossary word definitions, and expanded references provide direction for further study. Additionally, essay questions included at the end of each chapter help readers create logical flows of information pertinent to chapter contents. For instructors, an online instructor guide offers outlines of the topics that students should address to answer the chapter review questions. Also available to instructors is an online presentation package featuring the graphics from the text to be incorporated easily into lecture presentations. By providing an understanding of injury mechanisms in all body regions, Biomechanics of Musculoskeletal Injury, Second Edition, serves as a comprehensive resource to assist health professionals, researchers, and students with the proper diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of musculoskeletal injuries.
Call Number: 617.47044 WHI
Publication Date: 2008
Computational Biomechanics of the Musculoskeletal System by Computational biomechanics is an emerging research field that seeks to understand the complex biomechanical behaviors of normal and pathological human joints to come up with new methods of orthopedic treatment and rehabilitation. Computational Biomechanics of the Musculoskeletal System collects the latest research and cutting-edge techniques used in computational biomechanics, focusing on orthopedic and rehabilitation engineering applications. The book covers state-of-the-art techniques and the latest research related to computational biomechanics, in particular finite element analysis and its potential applications in orthopedics and rehabilitation engineering. It offers a glimpse into the exciting potentials for computational modeling in medical research and biomechanical simulation. The book is organized according to anatomical location--foot and ankle, knee, hip, spine, and head and teeth. Each chapter details the scientific questions/medical problems addressed by modeling, basic anatomy of the body part, computational model development and techniques used, related experimental studies for model setup and validation, and clinical applications. Plenty of useful biomechanical information is provided for a variety of applications, especially for the optimal design of body support devices and prosthetic implants. This book is an excellent resource for engineering students and young researchers in bioengineering. Clinicians involved in orthopedics and rehabilitation engineering may find this work to be both informative and highly relevant to their clinical practice.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014