Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z eResources List
Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
A-Z eJournal List
Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.
University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library.
The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.
Database and Journal information
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
Biology Database (Proquest)
Proquest provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes over 410 titles, with more than 360 available in full text. With thousands of articles available online, ProQuest Biology Journals includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments
BioMedCentral Open Access
publisher of 243 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of biology and medicine
(We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer) contains over 12 million journal citations and abstracts with authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Coverage from 1950 until present day.
provides access to more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Proquest database with coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,600 titles—with more than 1,270 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature
a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
ScienceDirect Cell Press
committed to improving scientific communication through the publication of exciting research and reviews. Primary research journals include the flagship journal Cell, as well as Neuron, Immunity, Molecular Cell, Developmental Cell, Cancer Cell, Current Biology, Structure, Chemistry & Biology, Cell Metabolism, Cell Host & Microbe, Cell Stem Cell, Biophysical Journal, and The American Journal of Human Genetics.
Web of Science
(We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer) provides access to the world's leading citation databases, including powerful cited reference searching, the Analyze Tool, and over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data.
All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0