Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Qualitative Research Design and Analysis reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Successful Qualitative Research by *Shortlisted for the BPS Book Award 2014 in the Textbook Category* *Winner of the 2014 Distinguished Publication Award (DPA) from the Association for Women in Psychology (AWP)* Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners is an accessible, practical textbook. It sidesteps detailed theoretical discussion in favor of providing a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. Uniquely, the authors provide a "patterns framework" to qualitative data analysis in this book, also known as "thematic analysis." The authors walk you through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches. This discussion of commonalities, explaining why and when each method should be used, and in the context of looking at patterns, will provide you with complete confidence for your qualitative research journey. This textbook will be an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates taking a course in qualitative research or using qualitative approaches in a research project. Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 BRA
Publication Date: 2013
An Introduction to Qualitative Research by The definitive guide to the full qualitative research process, from design to dissemination, this is everything you need to understand how good quality research is produced, and how to use and enrich your own work with it. New to this edition: - A new structure follows the research process step-by-step - Brand new chapter on digital methods and social media data explores cutting-edge research - Multi-disciplinary case studies give you real research examples whatever your subject - Focused reading exercises help you explore the literature and build a better bibliography - Integrated online resources, to master the key concepts, discover real research and track your progress An Introduction to Qualitative Research has everything a social science student needs to understand and explore the richness of qualitative research.
Call Number: 300.723 FLI
Publication Date: 2019
Qualitative Data Analysis with Atlas.Ti by Now updated to cover latest versions and featuring instructions for both Mac and Windows users, this book is still the go-to source of support for getting to grips with qualitative data analysis using ATLAS.ti. With over twenty years of experience using, developing, and teaching ATLAS.ti, Susanne Friese is the perfect data analysis tour guide. Aware of common challenges and sticking points, she eases readers from readying and organizing data into coding and querying it, providing not only tips on how to prepare for analysis, but also the tools and technical know-how needed to observe, examine, and discuss data. Placing quick software 'skills training' tutorials alongside different stages of the data analysis process, she gives readers the opportunity to integrate software training with their actual analysis.
Call Number: 001.4202 FRI
Publication Date: 2019
Qualitative Research Practice by Why use qualitative methods? What kinds of questions can qualitative methods help you answer? How do you actually do rigorous and reflective qualitative research in the real world? Written by a team of leading researchers associated with NatCen Social Research (the National Centre for Social Research) this textbook leads students and researchers through the entire process of qualitative research from beginning to end - moving through design, sampling, data collection, analysis and reporting. In this fully revised second edition you will find:
A practical account of how to carry out qualitative research which recognises a range of current approaches and applications
A brand new chapter on ethics
A brand new chapter on observational research
Updated advice on using software when analysing your qualitative data
New case studies which illustrate issues you may encounter and how problems have been tackled by other researchers.
This book is an ideal guide for students, practitioners and researchers faced with the challenges of doing qualitative research in both applied and academic settings in messy real-life contexts.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 RIT
Publication Date: 2013
Interviews in Qualitative Research by This dynamic user-focused book will help you to get the data you want from your interviews. It provides practical guidance regarding technique, gives top-tips from real world case studies and shares achievable checklists and interview plans. Whether you are doing interviews in your own research or just using other researchers' data, this book will tell you everything you need to know about designing, planning, conducting and analyzing quality interviews. It explains how to: - Construct ethical research designs - Record and manage your data - Transcribe your notes - Analyse your findings - Disseminate your conclusions Written using clear, jargon-free terminology and with coverage of practical, theoretical and philosophical issues all grounded in examples from real interviews, this is the ideal guide for new and experienced researchers alike. Nigel King is Professor of Applied Psychology at the University of Huddersfield. Christine Horrocks is Professor of Applied Social Psychology and Head of the Department of Psychology at Manchester Metropolitan University. Joanna Brooks is Lecturer in the Manchester Centre for Health Psychology at the University of Manchester.
Call Number: 301.0723 KIN
Publication Date: 2019
Focus Groups by This updated edition of Krueger and Casey's bestselling, practical book walks readers step by step through the "how-tos" of conducting focus group research. Using an engaging, straightforward writing style, the authors draw on their many years of hands-on experience in the field to cut through theory and offer practical guidance on every facet of the focus group process, including tips for avoiding problems and pitfalls. The Fifth Edition reflects the most recent research and technological innovations and includes new coverage on planning with analysis in mind; creating conversational questions that have the potential for producing unique and valuable insights; the art of hosting a focus group; common sense thinking about reporting; more efficient strategies for planning the study; and emerging areas of focus group research, such as conducting cross-cultural, international, and Internet focus groups.
Call Number: 361.61068 KRU
Publication Date: 2014
Designing Qualitative Research by The Fourth Edition of this best-selling text, Designing Qualitative Research, once again provides pragmatic guidance for developing and successfully defending proposals for qualitative inquiry. With expanded coverage of ethics, analysis processes, and approaches, authors Catherine Marshall and Gretchen B. Rossman, have updated this highly popular text to reflect the advances and challenges presented by provocative developments and new applications since the previous edition.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 MAR
Publication Date: 2006
Qualitative Interviewing by Using in-depth qualitative interviews, authors Herbert J. Rubin and Irene S. Rubin have researched topics ranging from community redevelopment programs to the politics of budgeting and been energized by the depth, thoroughness, and credibility of what was revealed. They describe in-depth qualitative interviewing from beginning to end, from its underlying philosophy and assumptions to project design, analysis and write up. "This book is exactly what I was looking for in that it covers interviewing and analysis in depth."-Daphne John, Oberlin College"Students leave this book fully informed of the nuances and complexity of interviewing as well as excited about the promise interview research findings offer."-Hannah Britton, University of Kansas"The authors' focus on the reflective process, question development, and procedural steps associated with qualitative research is rich and thorough."-Tracy M. Lara, Kent State University
Call Number: 001.433 RUB
Publication Date: 2011
Qualitative Research Practice by ′This book is jam-packed with a wide range of material related to qualitative research.... [T]his is a quality text and has much to offer the reader, especially the novice researcher′ - Nurse Researcher `This comprehensive collection of almost 40 chapters - each written by a leading expert in the field - is the essential reference for anyone undertaking or studying qualitative research. It covers a diversity of methods and a variety of perspectives and is a very practical and informative guide for newcomers and experienced researchers alike′ - John Scott, University of Essex `The best ways in which to understand the issues and processes informing qualitative research is to learn from the accounts of its leading practitioners. Here they come together in what is a distinctive and wide-ranging collection that will appeal to postgraduates and social researchers in general′ - Tim May, University of Salford `This excellent guide engages in a dialogue with a wide range of expert qualitative researchers, each of whom considers their own practice in an illuminating and challenging way. Overall, the book constitutes an authoritative survey of current methods of qualitative research data collection and analysis′ - Nigel Gilbert, University of Surrey This concise paperback edition of the best selling handbook, Qualitative Research Practice, is particularly aimed at the student reader. The chapters are written by leading, internationally distinguished qualitative researchers who recount and reflect on their own research experiences as well as others, past and present, from whom they have learned. It demonstrates the benefits of using particular methods from the viewpoint of real-life experience. This is also a good philosophy for students to adopt in planing research work: to begin from a practical conception of the research process and to treat a book like this as an opportunity to learn a valuable craft. From the outside, good research seems to be produced through practitioners learning and following standard theoretical, empirical and procedural formats. But from the inside we learn that qualitative research (like other forms of scientific endeavour) is also a biographical engagement, rendering its scholarly and practical contributions in its own terms. Standards take on practical meaning as the distinct activities of qualitative research resonate throughout the enterprise, complicating its accountability to itself and to others. In an authoritative yet accessible manner, Qualitative Research Practice reveals the special features of this engagement, teaching us that qualitative research is as much a craft and practice as it is a way of knowing. Presenting a comprehensive examination of contemporary and traditional varieties of qualitative research practice, Qualitative Research Practice will be an invaluable resource for advanced students and researchers in any discipline. It is an essential and definitive guide to the major forms of qualitative methods in use today, written by leaders in the relevant fields of research practice.
Call Number: STSK 001.433 SEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Interpreting Qualitative Data by "Cutting-edge and friendly. Offers even more of what we′ve come to expect. Practical, yet conceptually astute. Critically attuned to new developments, such as the uses and misuses of mixed methods designs and the convenience of smart phone technology. Packaged in an approachable format that virtually welcomes the reader aboard" - Jaber F. Gubrium, University of Missouri With a wealth of examples and learning features, the book takes a practical approach to methods training and provides a strong foundation in research design for social science students. In his characteristic positive writing style, author David Silverman offers useful advice on sticking points faced by beginner researchers and helps you build your confidence. Central to this sixth edition are its online resources, including: Entertaining and inspiring videos from the author that help you unpack concepts, boost your understanding and think critically An 'assessment corner', offering practical help and tailored support for typical assignments e.g. group reports and literature reviews A downloadable workbook providing a hands on way to get to grips with the necessary skills for gathering, analysing and interpreting qualitative data Approachable, clear and friendly, this book equips you with the tools to tackle key issues faced by qualitative researchers and establish good practice in your own research.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 SIL
Publication Date: 2019
Qualitative Research by A who's who of methodologists, this book introduces students to the big picture of qualitative research, teaching both the 'why' and the 'how to' of getting started, selecting a method and conducting research and data analysis. With practical tips, summaries, exercises and further reading, each chapter is like a masterclass from a leading scholar in qualitative research. New to the fourth edition: A streamlined structure to guide readers step-by-step through the research process Substantial new section with 4 chapters on how to collect and analyse online data A new chapter on reflexive ethnography More hands-on advice on how to conduct research at every stage, making this a perfect field handbook Updated reading lists provide a go-to guide to the literature and help improve citations The most comprehensive qualitative research book available, this is the perfect all-in-one companion for any student embarking on a qualitative research course or project.
Call Number: 300.721 SIL
Publication Date: 2016
Doing Qualitative Research by Accessible, practical, and packed with indispensable advice, this bestselling textbook is the perfect hands-on guide for any student embarking on their own research. With expert advice from the author and real-life experiences from students, this book shows you how to go from the ideas of research to the practicalities of designing, conducting, and writing about your research yourself.
What's new in this edition:
Â· Fully interactive digital field guide including video tutorials and real data to practice with
Â· An improved structure that takes you step-by-step form start to finish
Â· An overview and practical guidance on mixed methods and working with different kinds of data The free digital field guide secures its place as the 'take this everywhere' textbook that supports students both in the classroom and in the field providing access via tablet/phone/laptop for easy access to: - A readymade bibliography of qualitative research contained in SAGE journal articles curated by the author, to enrich reading and offer top research articles to cite; - Definitions to explain key concepts and methods to deepen understanding of what is discussed in the text; - David′s quick, practical video tips and instructional guidance for when students are in the field (or preparing to go into it). David steps in as an instant supervisor to give encouragement and avoid common pitfalls; - A treasure chest of online resources and weblinks chosen by David offering expert guidance on how to do research and do it better. These include research websites and resources as well as insider guides from trusted experts, links to organizations/software, online text/articles; - Datasets provide students with research data on which to practice organizing, analysing, and drawing conclusions;
-′Cheat sheets′ and reflective trackers students can use to monitor their progress and plan and manage projects.
*Interactivity only available through Vitalsource eBook included as part of paperback product (ISBN 9781526441614). Access not guaranteed on second-hand copies (as access code may have previously been redeemed).
Call Number: 300.721 SIL
Publication Date: 2017
Researching with Children and Young People by Researching with Children and Young People covers every stage of the process of doing a research project, from research design and data collection, through to analysis, dissemination, and feedback. Providing an advanced discussion of current debates and methods in childhood research, the book is essential reading for anyone undertaking consultation, research, and evaluation activities with children and young people. The book is structured around five core areas covering: Introduction to research with children and young people Ethics Data collection and analysis Involving children and young people Dissemination and engagement These chapters are interspersed with case studies describing the methods used in eleven different research projects involving children and young people. Written by both academics and practitioners, the case studies cover a wide variety of methods, settings, and approaches. Packed with activities, discussion questions, top tips, research tools, useful suggestions, and practical advice, this text will appeal to practitioners, graduate students, and researchers in education, sociology, human geography, social policy, social work, and nursing.
Call Number: 305.23072 TIS + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology by Why use qualitative research in psychology? How is qualitative research in psychology carried out? What are the major debates and unresolved issues surrounding this form of research? Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology is a vital resource for students new to qualitative psychology. It offers a clear introduction to the topic by taking eight different approaches to qualitative methods and explaining when each one should be used, the procedures and techniques involved, and any limitations associated with such research. Throughout the new edition, material has been re-organized and updated to reflect developments in the field, while Carla Willig''s style of writing, popular with students and lecturers alike, remains unchanged. Together with wider coverage of conceptual issues and epistemological & theoretical challenges in qualitative research, this third edition boasts three new methods chapters: Thematic Analysis, Narrative Analysis and Visual Methodologies. Three additional chapters on Qualitative Research Design & Data Collection, The Role of Interpretation and Putting Together A Research Proposal will be invaluable to students and researchers during conceptual preparation. This edition contains more interactive exercises and discussion points in order to help students understand what they are learning, as well as three qualitative research reports written by students. The third edition is supported by a new Online Learning Centre www.openup.co.uk/willig with resources for lecturers and students. With contributions from Sarah Jane Dryden, Caroline Silcock and Joanna Silver. "All students of qualitative research in psychology will find a wealth of information in Carla Willig''s book. With its expanded sections and detailed consideration of concepts, techniques and applications of qualitative research, the interactive approach taken in this book is ably supported by extensive research examples. As usual with Carla Willig''s clear and detailed writing style, this book will give both new and existing researchers the opportunity to think clearly about their use of qualitative research and its methods." Dr Nollaig Frost, Senior Lecturer, Psychology, Middlesex University, UK "A tour de force from an expert guide which grounds students in the lexicon of qualitative psychology, before explicating a range of major methodologies. Students will appreciate many worked examples, and will be stimulated by the coverage of contemporary innovations, issues and debates - an invaluable textbook." Professor Brendan Gough, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK "In just over a decade, Carla Willig''s book has become one of the key introductory texts in the field. Many of my students and supervisees have enjoyed reading it - finding complex issues and debates have been explained in an accessible manner. This latest edition includes helpful advice on writing a research proposal, some newer research methods and discussion about the future of qualitative research. In addition, there are new chapters on epistemology and interpretation which I think my students will find particularly valuable as these are often the most challenging topics when one is new to qualitative research." Dr David Harper, Reader in Clinical Psychology, University of East London, UK "Once again, Carla Willig has produced a wonderfully clear account of how and why qualitative methods ought be used to answer psychological questions. Not only does Willig examine key theories, ethics and debates surrounding the use and interpretation of qualitative data, she shows us ''how'' to do it - step by step, with a tremendous sense of balance and integrity. This new edition covers some of the more recent debates in qualitative research, contains new examples of how to design, carry out and approach analysis in qualitative methods and lots of useful questions that researchers ask themselves along the way. My students have used Willig''s writings on qualitative methods for many years as they can understand and engage with it. There is simply no other equivalent text in psychology to rival Willig''s - her clarity, conviction and sheer brilliance in putting difficult ideas on methods into plain language is something students in psychology will relish for a very long time to come." Paula Reavey, Professor of Psychology, London South Bank University, UK "In writing this text originally, Carla Willig argued that, unlike quantitative research (where the aim is to follow a set of rules and get them ''right''), qualitative research is more about ''having adventures''. From the start it sounds a lot more fun, and certainly a lot more interesting! And it was. Students and lecturers alike appreciate its lively, practical approach, its very clear and elegant writing, its use of clever examples of students'' own work and its lucid explanations of the theory underpinning methods and methodologies. This new, third edition is a real triumph. It''s more comprehensive and it''s bang up to date, with three additional new chapters, more examples of student projects, and overall an even more systematic approach. It is, in my view, the most approachable and person-friendly text around introducing qualitative research in psychology, and a great opportunity to ''boldly go'', have adventures, and really get to grips with doing qualitative research." Wendy Stainton Rogers, Professor Emerita, Faculty of Health and Social Care, The Open University, UK
Call Number: 150.72 WIL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Criminological Research by Good research starts with careful planning and a thorough understanding of the research process. The abilities to design a research study and to evaluate those conducted by others are core skills every student of criminology must learn. With guidance from theoretical considerations through the steps of the research process, this book equips you with the necessary tools to carry out a successful, ethical study. This is a completely updated new edition, and it features A new skills-focused chapter on how to evaluate existing qualitative studies and design new ones Rich examples from real research making the ideas and concepts concrete New in-depth case studies on fashion counterfeiting, electronic monitoring and youth justice to illustrate the realities of conducting qualitative research A full discussion of the politics of research, issues of access, ethics and managing risk in the field Thought-provoking exercises reinforce practical research skills This book is the perfect guide to theory and practice for any student undertaking qualitative research on crime or criminal justice.
Call Number: 364.072 WIN + eBook
Publication Date: 2017