Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Designing & Developing HR Activities for Maximum Impact reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you during this module.
Human Resource Practice by Human Resource Practice provides a practical and accessible guide for students and anyone looking to gain a thorough understanding of HR, and is the definitive text for the CIPD's Level 3 Foundation Certificate in HR Practice. International case studies, examples and activities enable the reader to engage with the key areas of practical HR management, including the legal background to employment, learning and development, change in organizations and employee relations. This fully updated 7th edition of Human Resource Practice explores the application of models within the practice of HR, including the Ulrich model, timely discussion on employee engagement and well-being in the workplace, and further information on the practical elements of HR, including law, recruitment and selection, performance management and reward. From two renowned experts in HR practice, this clear and in-depth text will provide you with all the skills and information that you need for a successful career in HR. Online resources offered are useful and relevant for both students and tutors, including instructor's guides, lecture slides and annotated web links.
Call Number: 658.3 MAR
Publication Date: 2016
Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice by Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is the bestselling and definitive resource for HRM students and professionals, which helps readers to understand and implement HR in relation to the needs of the business. It covers in-depth all of the areas essential to the HR function such as employment law, employee relations, learning and development, performance management and reward, as well as the HR skills needed to ensure professional success, including leadership, managing conflict, interviewing and using statistics. Illustrated throughout in full colour and with a range of pedagogical features to consolidate learning (e.g. source review boxes, key learning points, summaries and case studies from international organizations such as IBM, HSBC and Johnson and Johnson), this fully updated 15th edition includes new chapters on the HRM role of line managers, evidence-based HRM, e-HRM and the gender pay gap, further case studies and updated content covering the latest research and developments. Armstrong's Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice is aligned with the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD) profession map and standards and is suited to both professionals and students of both undergraduate degrees and the CIPD's level 5 and 7 professional qualifications. Online supporting resources include comprehensive handbooks for lecturers and students, lecture slides, all figures and tables, toolkits, and a literature review, glossary and bibliography.
Call Number: 658.3 ARM
Publication Date: 2020
Introduction to Employment Law by Understand the theory and practical application of UK employment law without the need for any prior legal knowledge. Written specifically for HR and Business students, Introduction to Employment Law is a clear and accessible guide to employment law and how it applies in practice. Covering everything from employment tribunals and discrimination to redundancy and termination of employment, this textbook doesn't assume any prior knowledge of the UK legal system and equips students with all the knowledge and skills that they need to take forward into the workplace. Fully revised with all the latest cases and legal developments, this new edition includes coverage of hot topics such as defining employment status in the gig economy, gender pay reporting, the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the legal implications to be considered with Britain's withdrawal from the European Union. Packed with pedagogical features to consolidate learning including chapter objectives, tasks, 'explore further' sections, key learning points and examples to work through, as well as a dedicated study skills chapter, Introduction to Employment Law is essential reading for all students studying the CIPD Level 5 Intermediate module in employment law as well as being a useful resource for those studying at level 3 and an accessible introduction for level 7 and those on undergraduate and postgraduate courses needing a thorough grounding in employment law. Online resources include lecture slides, case studies, multiple choice questions, annotated weblinks and an instructor's manual.
Call Number: 344.4101 DAN
Publication Date: 2019
Introduction to Human Resource Management by Introduction to Human Resource Management is a comprehensive and accessible guide to the subject of HRM. Drawing on the authors' experiences in both the public and private sectors, and underpinned by academic theory, this textbook follows the logical sequence of the employment cycle and shows how human resource management plays out in practice. It covers organizational culture, the role of the HR practitioner, HR planning, recruitment and selection, talent management, L&D, motivation and performance, health and safety, diversity and equality, employment law, change management and handling and managing information. With a range of pedagogical features, including contemporary case studies and review questions, Introduction to Human Resource Management maps to the CIPD Level 3 Foundation Certificate in HR Practice and is also ideal for foundation and undergraduate students encountering HRM for the first time. This fully updated 3rd edition has been revised and expanded to include the rise of social media and e-recruitment, the ideas of employer branding, onboarding and socialization for attracting and retaining staff, new methods for delivering learning and development events and updates on legislation. Online supporting resources include an instructor's manual and lecture slides.
Call Number: 658.3 LEA
Publication Date: 2014
Human Resource Management at Work by A leading textbook in its field, Human Resource Management at Work provides a clear introduction to the multiple meanings of HRM (human resource management) and the relationship between strategy and HRM. Covering international and comparative HRM as well as HRM and performance, it is filled with case studies and activities to bring the subject to life while summarizing the major forces shaping HRM and looking at the principal theoretical frameworks. Ideal for business and HR students taking a critical look at HRM theory and practice, this fully updated 6th edition of Human Resource Management at Work combines the latest research with real-world examples. Linking theory with practice, it encourages a critical awareness of HRM through case studies, real-world examples and activities. Now with a closer analysis of the forces shaping HRM at work and the growth of insecure work, it also features new case studies, an updated literature review and a stronger emphasis on international and comparative HRM. Knowledge intensive firms, employee engagement and talent management are discussed in detail as well, as is the role of bodies such as 'Engage for Success' in promoting new methods of working. Online supporting resources include an instructor's manual and lecture slides.
Call Number: 658.3 MAR
Publication Date: 2016
The Complete Guide to Recruitment by Recruiting the right people is one of the most important activities organisations can undertake. Getting it right can mean fast, healthy growth and the fulfilment of business goals; getting it wrong can mean heavy costs, sinking morale and stunted growth. The Complete Guide to Recruitment is a practical self-help guide to best practice in recruitment. With international case studies demonstrating how recruitment contributes to business success, it covers every aspect of the recruitment process including: developing an effective recruitment strategy; relationship building for long-term hiring; assessing and selecting candidates; designing the contract of employment; and creating a great place to work. Also incorporating a broad range of sample adverts, contracts and assessment tests which are available to download and edit, The Complete Guide to Recruitment is ideal for companies of all types and sizes who want to attract and retain top talent.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Resourcing and Talent Management by Resourcing and Talent Management provides broad and accessible coverage of key topics such as employment markets, flexibility, fairness, diversity, human resource planning, recruitment, employer branding, retention and retirement. Including in-depth discussion of dismissals and redundancy, this textbook is the essential companion for the CIPD Level 7 Advanced Resourcing and Talent Management module. This fully updated 7th edition of Resourcing and Talent Management includes new information on social media and e-recruitment, additional discussion of flexible working and a brand new chapter on global resourcing. Including new international examples and case studies throughout this is essential reading for all students studying a resourcing, recruitment, selection or talent management module on HR or business masters degree. Online supporting resources for lecturers include an instructor's manual, lecture slides and feedback on exercises included in the book. There are also brand new student resources including multiple choice questions, reflective questions and further reading.
Call Number: 658.3 TAY
Publication Date: 2018