Why People Photograph by Adams, R.A now classic text on the art, "Why People Photograph" gathers a selection of essays by the great master photographer Robert Adams, tackling such diverse subjects as collectors, humor, teaching, money and dogs. Adams also writes brilliantly on Edward Weston, Paul Strand, Laura Gilpin, Judith Joy Ross, Susan Meiselas, Michael Schmidt, Ansel Adams, Dorothea Lange and Eugene Atget. The book closes with two essays on "working conditions" in the nineteenth- and twentieth-century American West, and the essay "Two Landscapes." Adams writes: "At our best and most fortunate we make pictures because of what stands in front of the camera, to honor what is greater and more interesting than we are."
Inside the Photograph by Bunnell, P.C.; Daniel, M.Peter C. Bunnell has been a major force in shaping the discourse about photography. This collection of texts--selected from work published throughout Bunnell's career-- marks his significant contribution to the field he has helped to establish. In each of the thirty-four essays, each devoted to individual (predominantly American) photographers and three key galleries, Bunnell brings to bear his distinctive sensibility and insight. While encouraging the reader to see previously overlooked aspects of the images he discusses so eloquently, he also provides an invaluable historical context for the photographers and their work. Bunnell offers a unique personal perspective on the world of art photography, documenting its journey as it morphed from a small group of practitioners to the supercharged international marketplace of today.
Photography after Frank by Gefter, P.In "Photography After Frank," former "New York Times" writer and picture editor Philip Gefter narrates the tale of contemporary photography, beginning at the pivotal moment when Robert Frank commenced his seminal works of the 1950s. Along the way, he connects the dots of photography's evolution into what it is today, forging links between its episodes to reveal unsuspected leaps. Gefter takes Frank's "The Americans" as a decisive challenge to photographic objectivity, with its grainy, off-hand-seeming spontaneity and its documentation of life beyond the picket fence. Thus viewed, "The Americans" provides Gefter with a bridge to the phenomenon of the staged document and Postmodernism's further challenge to image fidelity. Other areas of discussion include photojournalism, the recent diversity of portraiture styles, the influence of private and corporate collections on curatorial decisions and how the market shapes art making. Throughout "Photography After Frank," Gefter deftly demonstrates Frank's legacy in the work of dozens of important individual artists who followed in his wake, from Lee Friedlander and Nan Goldin to Stephen Shore and Ryan McGinley. The book includes texts written exclusively for this publication as well as essays drawn from Gefter's critical writings, reviews and even obituaries. "Photography After Frank" offers a page-turning approach to a subject that will appeal to students and art world aficionados alike.
The Pond by Gossage, J.; Badger, G.Considered groundbreaking when first published in 1985, John Gossage's The Pond remains one of the most important photobooks of the medium. As Gerry Badger, coauthor of The Photobook: A History, Volumes I and II, asserts, "Adams, Shore, Baltz--all the New Topographic photographers made great books, but few are better than The Pond." Consisting of photographs taken around and away from a pond situated in an unkempt wooded area at the edge of a city, the volume presents a considered foil to Henry Thoreau's stay at Walden. The photographs in The Pond do not aspire to the "beauty" of classical landscapes in the tradition of Ansel Adams. Instead, they reveal a subtle vision of reality on the border between humankind and nature. Gossage depicts nature in full splendor, yet at odds with both itself and humankind, but his tone is ambiguous and evocative rather than didactic. Robert Adams described the work as "believable because it includes evidence of man's darkness of spirit, memorable because of the intense fondness [Gossage] shows for the remains of the natural world." Aperture is pleased to reissue this exquisitely produced classic monograph, not surprisingly a highly sought-a!er collectable. With the addition of three images and two essays, this second edition o"ers new audiences the opportunity to celebrate this notable work by a master photographer and bookmaker.
Call Number: 770.92 GOS GOS
Publication Date: 2010
Crisis of the Real: Writings on Photography by Grundberg, A.Known internationally for his articles in the New York Times and other publications, Andy Grundberg has been one of the most respected and widely read voices in photography and the visual arts for nearly thirty years. His interpretations and critical opinions have helped shape the broad understanding of photographys complex roles in art and the media. Over the course of the fifty essays and articles in this authoritative collection, Grundberg questions the nature of photography and how we perceive it, reevaluates some of the great photographers of our time, and brings into focus the major debates in photography at the end of the twentieth century. Although some essays were originally written more than thirty years ago, the issues and concerns addressed by Grundberg are still relevant today. Aperture is pleased to reissue Crisis of the Real, a classic publication of important writings. This is an essential work for anyone seeking clarity and insight into photographys place in todays world.
Core Curriculum by Papageorge, T.Core Curriculum: Writings on Photography is the long-awaited collection of essays, reviews, and lectures--some of which have gained a cult following due to online postings--by Tod Papageorge, one of the most influential voices in photography today. As a photographer and the Walker Evans Professor of Photography at the Yale University School of Art, Papageorge has shaped the work and thought of generations of artist/photographers, and, through his critical writings, has earned a reputation as an unusually eloquent and illuminating guide to the work of many of the most important figures in twentiethcentury photography. Among the artists Papageorge discusses with deep critical insight in this essential volume are Eugène Atget, Brassaï, Robert Frank (with Walker Evans), Robert Adams, and his close friend, Garry Winogrand. The book also includes texts that examine the more general questions of photography's relationship to poetry, and how the evolution of the medium's early technologies led to the twentieth-century creation of the self-conscious artist/photographer. Among the previously unpublished pieces in Core Curriculum are an unfinished poem in response to Susan Sontag's On Photography, a profile of Josef Koudelka, and a commencement speech delivered at the Yale School of Art in 2004. Core Curriculum also includes a number of interviews with this esteemed photographer/teacher/author, ranging in topic from his own photographic work and background in poetry to his energetic observations on the art of photography.
From Here to There by Soth, A.; Engberg, S. (Editor)"From Here to There: Alec Soth's America" is the first exhibition catalogue to feature the full spectrum of the work of Alec Soth, one of the most interesting voices in contemporary photography, whose compelling images of everyday America form powerful narrative vignettes. Featuring more than 100 of the artist's photographs made over the past 15 years, the book includes new critical essays by exhibition curator Siri Engberg, curator and art historian Britt Salvesen and critic Barry Schwabsky, which offer context on the artist's working process, the photo-historical tradition behind his practice and reflections on his latest series of works. Novelist Geoff Dyer's "Riverrun"--a meditation on Soth's series "Sleeping by the Mississippi"--and August Kleinzahler's poem "Sleeping It Off in Rapid City" contribute to the thoughtful exploration of this body of work. Also included in the publication is a 48-page artist's book by Soth titled "The Loneliest Man in Missouri," a photographic essay with short, diaristic texts capturing the banality and ennui of middle America's suburban fringes, with their corporate office parks, strip clubs and chain restaurants. This full-color publication includes a complete exhibition history, bibliography and interview with the artist by Bartholomew Ryan. Alec Soth was born in 1969 and raised in Minnesota, where he continues to live and work. He has received fellowships from the McKnight Foundation (1999, 2004) and Jerome Foundation (2001), was the recipient of the 2003 Santa Fe Prize for Photography and was short-listed for the highly prestigious Deutsche Borse Photography Prize. His first monograph, "Sleeping by the Mississippi," was published in 2004 to critical acclaim. Since then Soth has published "Niagara" (2006), "Fashion Magazine" (2007), "Dog Days, Bogota" (2007) and "The Last Days of W" (2008). He is a member of Magnum Photos.