Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Counselling Subject Guide: Databases

Introduction

Academic Databases

There are numerous databases available to you which provide access to high-quality information you won't find on Google. 

Most of the databases enable you to find full-text journal articles and references, but we also have newspaper, image and
media databases that you can use.

 

Discovery Widget

A-Z eResources List

In addition to using Summon, you can browse our A-Z of eResources list of you want to access a particular database.
Go to A-Z List

Structuring your Search

You can save yourself time by spending a few minutes planning how you want to search the databases before you begin.

Consider the following:

  • Which database(s) to search
  • Keywords- what will you search for?
  • How to link the keywords together
  • Will you apply any limits to your search? (date of publication, full-text, format)

For more information about searching, take a look at our Searching for Information page

You can also look at our pages in the Assignment Toolkit related to searching for information.

Useful Databases

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

Community Care Inform - Children
Evidence-based database for professionals working with children, young people and their families that includes case law and research.  (Once "Sign In" has been selected you need to choose to "Sign in via Shibboleth". Then you need to select "University Campus Suffolk" from the list of institutions).

Community Care Inform - Adults

Evidence-based database for professionals working with adults that includes case law and research. (Once "Sign In" has been selected you need to choose to "Sign in via Shibboleth". Then you need to select "University Campus Suffolk" from the list of institutions).

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Full-text archive of journal articles (excluding the last few years.)  Titles include Family Relations; Journal of Family and Marriage; Social Psychology Quarterly.

Lexis Library
the UK’s most authoritative and comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley.

Oxford Journals Archive
Full-text academic social sciences journal articles. Titles include British Journal of Social Work.

ProQuest Central
is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subject areas.

ProQuest Family Health
covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context including food and nutrition and children's health

Proquest Psychology Journals
provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal

SAGE Premier
Includes over 645 peer-reviewed, full-text journals and over 500,000 articles, dating back to 1999 spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more. 

ScienceDirect
is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.  There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, with a growing content base.

Taylor & Francis
collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life.  The collection encompasses over 1,600 titles and is one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals, spanning content areas such as Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.

Wiley Online Library
Provides a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences, social sciences and the humanities.

Applied Social Sciences, Young People & Education, Suffolk Business School and Science & Technology

Academic Liaison Librarian

Craig Martin
Tel: 01473 338706
email: craig.martin@uos.ac.uk
Craig's Profile