Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Subject Guide: Databases

Introduction

Academic Databases

There are numerous databases available to you which provide access to high-quality information you won't find on Google. 

Most of the databases enable you to find full-text journal articles and references, but we also have newspaper, image and
media databases that you can use.

 

Summon Widget

Looking for something?

Find:   Everything    Books    Articles    Books & DVDs at Ipswich 

A-Z of eResources|  |  A-Z of eJournals|  |  Advanced search

|

Structuring your Search

You can save yourself time by spending a few minutes planning how you want to search the databases before you begin.

Consider the following:

  • Which database(s) to search
  • Keywords- what will you search for?
  • How to link the keywords together
  • Will you apply any limits to your search? (date of publication, full-text, format)

For more information about searching, take a look at our
Searching for Information page

You can also look at our pages in the Assignment Toolkit related to searching for information.

A-Z eJournal List

Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Useful Databases

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

British Education Index (BEI)
This collection covers educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. The BEI provides coverage of all areas of education from pre-school to higher education and is searchable by educational level and age group.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies

This database provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.

Education Abstracts
Providing indexing back to 1969 and abstracts back to 1997 for more than 1,000 periodicals, books and yearbooks, this database covers a broad range of education-related subjects for students, professionals and policy makers

Education Administration Abstracts
This research database includes more than 150,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, and educational research

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)
The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to educational literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 631,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966

Emerald Management E-Journals
An established leader in management research providing access to key titles related to educational administration and management.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. 

Oxford Journals
publishes the highest quality journals and delivers this research to the widest possible audience. We achieve this by working closely with our society partners, authors, and subscribers in order to provide them with publishing services that support their research needs.

ProQuest Central
is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, including business psychology. 

ProQuest Education Journals
gives users access to around 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images. 

ProQuest Social Science Journals
Includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text and covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, education, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.

SpringerLink
Publishes around 2,000 journals and more than 7,000 new book titles every year, in 6 main publishing fields, namely science,
technology, medicine, business, transport and architecture.  Education journals are also readily available.

Taylor and Francis
collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life.  The collection encompasses over 1,600 titles and is one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals, spanning content areas such as Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.

Wiley Online Library
provides a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.