Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learning to Teach in the Secondary School by Learning to teach involves hard work and careful preparation. To become an effective teacher requires pedagogical and subject knowledge, an understanding of your pupils and how they learn, and the confidence to respond to dynamic classroom situations. Learning to Teach in the Secondary Schoolis the market leading text for all undergraduate, postgraduate and school-based routes to qualified teacher status. It offers an in-depth and practical introduction to the knowledge, skills and understanding needed to become a confident and effective teacher. With a focus on evidence-based practice, the book includes a wealth of examples to demonstrate how to successfully apply theory to practice, and how to critically analyse your practice to maximise pupil learning. This 7thedition is fully updated in light of the latest initiatives, evidence and research in the field, offering comprehensive coverage, unit by unit, of the key concepts and skills addressed on initial teacher education courses in preparation for work in schools. The wide range of pedagogical features support both university based work - including that up to Masters Level - and school-based initial teacher education, and are designed to help you develop those qualities that lead to good practice and a successful future in education. Written by expert practitioners, thirty-six essential units include: * adopting a positive approach to managing behaviour to support learning * ways pupils learn * planning lessons, units of work and schemes of work * motivating pupils * assessment * inclusion and special educational needs * using ICT and digital technologies * pupil grouping, progression and differentiation * managing time, workload and stress * getting your first teaching post. Learning to Teach in the Secondary Schoolprovides practical help and guidance for many of the situations and potential challenges you are faced with in school. Supported by the Learning to Teach Subjects in the Secondary School Series, it is an essential purchase for every aspiring secondary school teacher.
Call Number: 373.1102 CAP
Publication Date: 2016
Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn by On publication in 2009 John Hattie's Visible Learningpresented the biggest ever collection of research into what actually work in schools to improve children's learning. Not what was fashionable, not what political and educational vested interests wanted to champion, but what actually produced the best results in terms of improving learning and educational outcomes. It became an instant bestseller and was described by the TES as revealing education's 'holy grail'. Now in this latest book, John Hattie has joined forces with cognitive psychologist Greg Yates to build on the original data and legacy of the Visible Learning project, showing how it's underlying ideas and the cutting edge of cognitive science can form a powerful and complimentary framework for shaping learning in the classroom and beyond. Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn explains the major principles and strategies of learning, outlining why it can be so hard sometimes, and yet easy on other occasions. Aimed at teachers and students, it is written in an accessible and engaging style and can be read cover to cover, or used on a chapter-by-chapter basis for essay writing or staff development. The bookis structured in three parts - 'learning within classrooms', 'learning foundations', which explains the cognitive building blocks of knowledge acquisition and 'know thyself' which explores, confidence and self-knowledge. It also features extensive interactive appendices containing study guide questions to encourage critical thinking, annotated bibliographic entries with recommendations for further reading, links to relevant websites and YouTube clips. Throughout, the authors draw upon the latest international research into how the learning process works and how to maximise impact on students, covering such topics as: teacher personality; expertise and teacher-student relationships; how knowledge is stored and the impact of cognitive load; thinking fast and thinking slow; the psychology of self-control; the role of conversation at school and at home; invisible gorillas and the IKEA effect; digital native theory; myths and fallacies about how people learn. This fascinating book is aimed at any student, teacher or parent requiring an up-to-date commentary on how research into human learning processes can inform our teaching and what goes on in our schools. It takes a broad sweep through findings stemming mainly from social and cognitive psychology and presents them in a useable format for students and teachers at all levels, from preschool to tertiary training institutes.
Call Number: 370.1523 HAT
Publication Date: 2013
Teaching and Learning - Pedagogy, Curriculum and Culture by Teaching and Learning: Pedagogy, Curriculum and Cultureis designed to share important theory with readers in an accessible but sophisticated way. It offers an overview of the key issues and dominant theories of teaching and learning as they impact upon the practice of education professionals in the classroom. This second edition has been updated to take account of significant changes in the field; young people's use of digital technologies, the increasing involvement of world of business in state education, and ongoing high-profile debates about assessment, to name but a few. It examines the global move from traditional subject-and-knowledge based curricula towards skills and problem-solving and discusses how the emphasis on education for citizenship has forced us to reconsider the social functions of education. Central topics also covered include: an assessment of the most influential theorists of learning and teaching the ways in which public educational policy impinges on local practice the nature and role of language and culture in formal educational settings an assessment of different models of 'good teaching' alternative models of curriculum and pedagogy. With questions, points for consideration and ideas for further reading and research throughout, this book delivers discussion and analysis designed to support understanding of classroom interactions and to contribute to improved practice. It will be essential reading for all student teachers, those engaged in professional development, and Education Studies students.
Call Number: 371.102 MOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Secondary SCITT, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Learning Theories Simplified by This guide explores over 100 learning theories in an easy-to-use, bite-sized format with clear relevant illustrations on how each theory will benefit your teaching and learning.
Call Number: 370.1523 BAT
Publication Date: 2015
Becoming a Secondary School Teacher 2nd edn. by Aimed at supporting those undertaking initial teacher training and the statutory Induction period that follows, Becoming a Secondary School Teacherexplores the skills, roles and knowledge needed to become a successful teacher in today's secondary schools. Providing detailed guidance on key areas of professional practice, the book helps the reader to link key theories and principles to the reality they will find in the classroom. This edition has been fully updated to reflect the latest legislation and Teachers' Standards as well as changes in practice and expectations regarding learning, assessment and inclusion. Highly accessible and full of practical advice it includes: * guidance on key skills for classroom success including lesson planning, classroom management and assessment; * practical tips on handling areas of real concern such as discipline, workload, job interviews and relationships with colleagues; * advice on teaching beyond your specialist subject and teaching in challenging circumstances; * reference throughout to the Core Standards that have to be met during training, what these mean in practice and how they might be evidenced. With a strong reflective focus through case studies, action points and reflection points, this book is core reading for all students wanting to get the most out of their initial teacher training programme.
Call Number: 373.2 FLE
Publication Date: 2012
The Teacher's Toolkit by Packed with practical classroom strategies, this teacher's resource will enable you to: meet the needs of different learning styles stimulate your own creativity add spice to your teaching challenge the gifted - and the disruptive! Whatever subject you teach, this comprehensive volume will help you to develop thinking skills in your students; promote citizenship and an understanding of democracy; fine-tune study skills and help students acquire the attitude and skills for true independence. Drawing on neuroscience, psychology and sociology The Teacher's Toolkit provides an overview of recent thinking innovations in teaching and presents over fifty learning techniques for all subjects and age groups, with dozens of practical ideas for managing group work, tackling behavioural issues and promoting personal responsibility. It also presents tools for checking your teaching skills - from lesson planning to performance management.
Call Number: 371.102 GIN
Publication Date: 2002
Visible Learning for Teachers by In November 2008, John Hattie's ground-breaking book Visible Learningsynthesised the results of more than fifteen years research involving millions of students and represented the biggest ever collection of evidence-based research into what actually works in schools to improve learning. Visible Learning for Teacherstakes the next step and brings those ground breaking concepts to a completely new audience. Written for students, pre-service and in-service teachers, it explains how to apply the principles of Visible Learningto any classroom anywhere in the world. The author offers concise and user-friendly summaries of the most successful interventions and offers practical step-by-step guidance to the successful implementation of visible learning and visible teaching in the classroom. This book: links the biggest ever research project on teaching strategies to practical classroom implementation champions both teacher and student perspectives and contains step by step guidance including lesson preparation, interpreting learning and feedback during the lesson and post lesson follow up offers checklists, exercises, case studies and best practice scenarios to assist in raising achievement includes whole school checklists and advice for school leaders on facilitating visible learning in their institution now includes additional meta-analyses bringing the total cited within the research to over 900 comprehensively covers numerous areas of learning activity including pupil motivation, curriculum, meta-cognitive strategies, behaviour, teaching strategies, and classroom management. Visible Learning for Teachersis a must read for any student or teacher who wants an evidence based answer to the question; 'how do we maximise achievement in our schools?'
Call Number: 370.1523 HAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Theories of Childhood by Understand theories of childhood to make your days with children smoother, your job easier, and your program stronger. This best-selling resource provides clear, straightforward introductions to the foundational theories of John Dewey, Maria Montessori, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget, and Lev Vygotsky. Each chapter highlights a theorist’s work and includes insight on how the theory impacts teaching young children today. Discussion questions and suggested readings are included to help you gain an understanding of what it means to apply each theory to your work with children. Theories of Childhood, Second Edition: Builds the bridge between theory and best practices in early childhood education Supports your genuine enjoyment with children by helping you understand more about the ways they grow and learn Includes new understandings of Vygotsky’s work Applies the five theories to the realities of the twenty-first century Carol Garhart Mooney has been an early childhood educator for more than forty years. She is also the author of Theories of Attachment, Use Your Words, and Swinging Pendulums.
Call Number: 372.21 MOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Classroom Behaviour by Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post to arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today! In this Third Edition of his bestselling book, Bill Rogers looks at the issues facing teachers working in today′s classrooms. Describing real situations and dilemmas, he offers advice on dealing with the challenges of the job, and how building up a rapport with both students and colleagues can support good practice. New to this edition are sections on: - dealing with bullying; - teaching students on the autistic spectrum in a mainstream classroom; - working with very challenging students. New features included in the text are: - a wider range of case studies, covering students aged 4 to 18; - questions for discussion; - a Glossary of key terms. Bill Rogers understands the demanding nature of the job, and offers wise words and inspirational encouragement to all those involved in educating our children and young people. Watch a video of Bill Rogers discuss the main challenges facing teachers in schools today; his new book ′Classroom Behaviour, Third Edition′ and what advice he would give to aspiring teachers.
Call Number: 371.1024 ROG
Publication Date: 2011
, Accounting & Finance
, Business Management
, Childhood & Youth Studies
, Computer Games & Programming
, Early Childhood Studies
, Early Years
, Education/Teacher Training
, Events Management
, Leadership & Custodial Environments
, Leisure and Tourism
, Network Communication Technologies
, PhD Social Sciences
, Professional Studies
, Social Work
, Youth Studies