Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Applied Nutrition for Sport Performance reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Sports and Exercise Nutrition by This edition of McArdle, Katch, and Katch's respected text reflects the most recent, evidence-based information on how nutrition affects exercise and sports performance. Using high quality research to illustrate teaching points, the authors provide detailed yet accessible coverage of the science of exercise nutrition and bioenergetics, along with valuable insights into how the principles work in the real world of physical activity and sports medicine. New content, new research citations, and new case studies throughout help prepare students for a successful career in exercise science. eBook available . Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. New coverage. The authors provide new and expanded coverage of such key topics as special populations (diabetes, vegan), micronutrients, and exercise and nutrient prioritization. New activities and assignments direct students to the USDA's Super Tracker, where they can follow a personalized nutrition and physical activity plan and track their food intake and physical activities. New Case Studies. Each chapter contains case studies that connects personal health and exercise nutrition. Studies include real world examples that highlight application of dietary guidelines, weight control, body composition assessments, and practical physical activity recommendations. Striking full-color art program featuring more than 500 figures and images to bring the content to life . An accessible handbook approach makes detailed and challenging material more accessible. Focused organization. The book starts with coverage of the basic science of nutrition, builds on that, and ultimately applies the content to diverse exercise science contexts. Built-in learning aids . In every chapter, Test Your Knowledge assessments, Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition boxes, Connections to the Past features, Personal Health and Exercise Nutrition activities, Section Summaries, and Additional Insights help students master key content. FYIs interspersed throughout the text help bring timely examples to expand on information in the text. References include links to current research to help students expand on their knowledge and learning.
Call Number: 613.202479 MCA
Publication Date: 2018
Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance by Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, will help students and practitioners understand the function of the nutrients in the body and how these nutrients affect health and athletic performance. The authors present clear, comprehensive, and accurate nutrition information that may be applied to a variety of careers. The text provides students with practical knowledge in exercise and nutrition science, and it keeps practitioners on the cutting edge of current research and practices in the field. Using the authors' extensive backgrounds in nutrition, exercise physiology, and fitness, the text combines micronutrients into functional groupings to provide an easy framework for understanding how these nutrients can influence exercise performance and good health for both athletes and active individuals. This unique presentation allows readers to fully understand why proper nutrition helps athletes prevent injury, enhance recovery, improve daily workouts, and maintain optimal health and body weight. This second edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect the latest issues, guidelines, and recommendations for active individuals. Chapters dealing with macronutrients and micronutrients have been entirely rewritten, and all chapters have been revised to reflect the latest Dietary Reference Intakes, USDA Food Guide Pyramid, Food Pyramid for Athletes, Dietary Guidelines for Americans, and physical activity recommendations from various organizations, including the 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines by DHHS. Following are some of the current topics discussed in the text: -Carbohydrate recommendations for athletes before, during, and after exercise -Protein requirements of athletes based on the latest research -Updated evaluation of the fat needs of athletes and the role of fat loading -An evidence-based reexamination of various diets and techniques used for weight loss -New research on body composition assessments and standards -The latest on controversial nutrition issues such as the role of protein, vitamin D, and energy in bone health and new criteria for assessing bone health in young adults -New nutrition and fitness assessments, questionnaires, and methods for measuring energy expenditure -Updated information on various topics such as the issues of the active female, ergogenic aids, energy balance, and fluid balance Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, has also been improved with an attractive two-color format, new artwork, and a slimmer design that allows the text to maintain the content while reducing "backpack bulge." The text also includes an online image bank that instructors may use to create customized PowerPoint presentations using artwork, tables, and figures from each chapter. In addition, a variety of features help readers comprehend the material presented, including chapter objectives, key concepts and key terms, additional information to learn more about a topic, and references. Chapter highlights provide in-depth information on topics and critically evaluate issues regarding myths and controversies in sport nutrition. This book provides readers with clear, authoritative content that will help them understand the scientific basis of nutrition and make sound recommendations in their careers. With up-to-date content based on current guidelines, Sport Nutrition for Health and Performance, Second Edition, is an outstanding text for both students and practitioners concerned with achieving good health and maximizing performance.
Call Number: 613.2 MAN
Publication Date: 2009
The Biochemical Basis of Sports Perfomance by Some understanding of the biochemistry of exercise is fundamental to any study of the factors that contribute to sports performance. It is the physical, chemical and biochemical properties of cells and tissues that determine the physiological responses to exercise, and yet the teaching ofexercise biochemistry is poorly developed compared with exercise physiology. Where the subject is taught, the student often finds the approach somewhat daunting, with its focus on thermodynamics, chemical structures and metabolic pathways.Many students find the subject difficult, when it should not be so. This book introduces the student of sports science or exercise physiology to the biochemical processes that underpin exercise performance and the adaptations that occur with training. The focus is on skeletal muscle metabolism andthe provision of energy for working muscles and the principles of exercise biochemistry are introduced in a context that is immediately relevant to the student of sports science.Instead of the traditional approach of working through the main classes of biomolecules and metabolic pathways, the subject is tackled by considering the biochemical processes involved in energy provision for different sports events and the way in which limitations in energy supply can causefatigue, and thus limit performance. Recovery from exercise is important for athletes who train and compete with only a limited rest period, and the biochemical processes that influence recovery and restoration of performance capacity are also addressed. The processes fuelling the activities thatcontribute to sport form the core of this book, together with the changes that occur with training and the role of diet in providing the necessary fuels. But sporting talent is a rare gift, and a brief description of its hereditary basis is included.* A complete introduction to the biochemical basis of sports performance, appealing to undergraduate students, coaches, and athletes* Numerous links made between biochemistry and physiology for an integrated view of the subject* The student is directed to carefully chosen further reading articles, allowing them to readily explore key topics in more detailOnline Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany The Biochemical Basis of Sports Performance features:For students:* 'In the News' updates* Multiple choice questions* Hyperlinked bibliography* Extended case study following an athlete through a season, with exercisesFor lecturers:* Figures from the book, available to download
Call Number: 612.044 MAU
Publication Date: 2010
Essentials of Exercise Physiology by Essentials of Exercise Physiology is a compact version of the bestselling Exercise Physiology: Nutrition, Energy, and Human Performance, making it ideal for introductory undergraduate courses. As you progress through the text, you'll develop a deep understanding of the interrelationships among energy intake, energy transfer during exercise, and the physiologic systems that support energy transfer. Moreover, you'll discover how to apply what you learn to enhance exercise training, athletic performance, and health. Based on feedback from students and instructors, this Fifth Edition maintains its hallmark pedagogy, writing style, graphics, and flow charts, while offering new and updated content. The text's organization makes it easy to cover its content in a one-semester course and adapt its materials to diverse interests. Each section also offers coverage of new and emerging topics in exercise physiology as well as the latest research findings.
Call Number: 612.044 KAT
Publication Date: 2016
Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science by Students trained in traditional exercise physiology have learned the basic concepts of energy but often don't fully understand human energy consumption at the molecular level. Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science, Fourth Edition, provides an introduction to biochemistry that will give readers greater insight into the molecular aspects of human physical activity. Reflecting the rapid development of the field, this classic text continues to present the essentials of biochemistry--molecular biology, basic chemistry, metabolism, and transcription regulation--in an easy-to-understand format. The fourth edition features the most recent research in exercise biochemistry plus new and revised content, including the following: * All-new coverage of the control of biochemistry and biochemical and muscular adaptations to exercise and training via signaling pathways, an area of study that has received much attention in recent years * Added information on the regulation of gene expression, which highlights the need for students to comprehend the basics of molecular biology * Next Stage sections in each chapter, which lead students toward emerging areas of knowledge in the field by examining new or controversial areas of research * An integration of the chapters on DNA, RNA, and the regulation of protein synthesis to provide a more focused and effective presentation of these key concepts Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science, Fourth Edition, combines information from nutrition, physiology, and biochemistry to provide a clear explanation of the working of metabolism and the human body's response to physical activity. Special elements throughout the text help to demystify this complex and dynamic field of study. Key points reinforce essential concepts and aid readers in relating them to sport and exercise. Chapter summaries outline important information to take away, and review questions with answers allow readers to test their knowledge of each chapter's content. A comprehensive glossary and the list of abbreviations found on the inside front and back covers help readers become familiar with commonly used biochemistry terms, and a reference list provides a starting point for exploring areas of interest in more detail. With its combination of essential topics, new findings, and future directions in research, Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science, Fourth Edition, is a perfect resource for anyone looking to build an understanding of exercise biochemistry. Both students and professionals alike will find the information they need to begin their exploration of this fascinating field of study.
Call Number: 612.044 TII
Publication Date: 2012