Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You should refer to the University of Suffolk Dissertation Handbook 2017-2018 found on the Dissertation LEARN module site. You should also refer to the Assignment Tooklit on LEARN as it provides excellent guidance on writing a Level 6 dissertation including writing to support critical analysis.
This link will take you to your subject guide
This link takes you to the Catalogue for books in the West Suffolk College Library
Doing Your Business Research Project. (Print copy) by Available as an E-Inspection Copy! Go here to order Taking the fear out of writing your business project, this book helps you understand and carry out each step of the research process. With detailed, friendly and engaging support it takes you from the very beginning to the very end. Key features: Chapters are structured around FAQs such as 'How to choose a research question?', 'How do I go about a literature review?' guiding you towards a full understanding of the research process Workbook tasks help you shape your thoughts on each topic, enabling you to decide your own research question and how you will research it The importance of various ideas is clearly signposted, helping you prioritise your time according to your needs and goals. Templates and checklists from the book are also available for download at the Doing Your Business Research Project companion website at study.sagepub.com/beech This interactive guide is ideal for all Business and Management students about to complete a research project or dissertation.
Call Number: 658.0072 BEE
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Business Research Methods. 5th edn. (Print copy) by Business Research Methods is the complete introduction to doing business research and is an ideal guide for students embarking on a research project. Developed specifically with business and management students in mind, this textbook explores the nature and purpose of business research and the issues it entails, while also providing students with practical advice through 'Tips and skills' boxes. In addition to a broad range of relevant examples, the book features a substantial discussion of ethics, and a strong emphasis on the most frequent challenges faced by students, such as choosing a research question, planning a project, and writing it up.Fresh voices and perspectives run throughout this edition. New author, Bill Harley, further internationalizes the book's coverage, based on his expertise in the Australian business and management context. Also hear from Amrit, Jordan, Anna, Ed, and Alex - an additional five students whose personal insights and advice in the 'student experience' feature help you avoid common mistakes, and follow their successful strategies when undertaking your own research project.New to this EditionAn additional five students provide first-hand accounts of their experience of doing business research, with accompanying videos available onlineExtended material on 'ethics creep', 'big data', and writing academicallyE-Research is now woven throughout the text, better reflecting how internet research methodology is taughtA new test bank and new discussion questions for lecturers are available as part of the educator-only online resourcesThis edition has been extensively streamlined to provide even more focused coverage of the key areas of business researchJargon has been simplified throughout and clear, full explanations of methodologies and philosophies are providedThis title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Sales and Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
Call Number: 658.0072 BEL
Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Research Design: qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods approaches. 5th edn. (Print copy) by This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
Call Number: 300.72 CRE
Publication Date: 2018
Researching and Writing a Dissertation: an essential guide for business students. 3rd edn. (Print copy) by Researching and Writing your Dissertation is an essential guide for students undertaking research projects as part of a postgraduate qualification in business or management. Seven accessible chapters guide the reader through the process from choosing a topic, to gathering and analysing data, and finally writing and presenting the results. This book is ideal for students who may not be taking a taught and assessed module in research methods, but are undertaking management research for the first time and will benefit from guidance on the process, from start to finish.
Call Number: 808.02 FIS
Publication Date: 2010-07-14
Mastering Your Business Dissertation: how to conceive, reserach, and write a good business dissertatin. (Print copy) by The ability to write to a high standard is a key skill that is often overlooked in the business world. This short book from an international, best-selling author offers a practical guide to conceiving, researching and writing a business or management dissertation. Robert Lomas offers an inspirational treatise that will awaken the quest for knowledge among his readership. The book helps business students to frame their research questions in a more helpful manner in order to achieve their research aims and write in a clear and top scoring way. Topics covered include collecting and measuring data, using business statistics, planning research projects and the real mechanics of writing a dissertation. Masters students across business and management will benefit enormously from reading this book, not just in adding serious value to their dissertations, but also helping to improve their writing skills throughout their business careers. This book includes a foreword by Mark Booth.
Call Number: 808.02 LOM
Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Research Methods for Business Students. 8th edn. (Print copy) CURRENTLY ON ORDER by Research Methods for Business Students has been fully revised for this seventh edition and continues to be the market-leading textbook in its field, guiding hundreds of thousands of student researchers to success in their research methods modules, research proposals, projects and dissertations. So, if you're thinking . . . 'How do I choose my topic?' 'I'm confused by all these different philosophies' 'I need to collect my data; what do I do first?' 'When and what do I need to write? . . . then, open this book to discover: Regular checklists and 'Progressing your research project' sections to give you step-by-step practical guidance on the process A glossary of clear definitions for 600 research terms Cases and examples of students' and academics' research and topical news articles illustrating research in practice Detailed chapters on choosing your topic, reviewing the literature, understanding philosophies, research design, access and ethics, secondary data, data collection and analysis, and writing about and presenting your research Don't forget to visit www.pearsoned.co.uk/saunders where you can use online tutorials on research software, such as IBM SPSS Statistics and NVivo, test yourself with hundreds of multiple choice questions, analyse over 60 further case studies, and learn how to search the Internet more efficiently and effectively with our Smarter Online Searching guide! Start your project with confidence and complete it with success! Mark Saunders is Professor of Business Research Methods at The Surrey Business School, University of Surrey. Philip Lewis was a Principal Lecturer and Adrian Thornhill was a Head of Department, both at the University of Gloucestershire.
Call Number: 650.072 SAU CURRENTLY ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2019