Included or Excluded? by
In a pamphlet published in 2005 Mary Warnock expressed concerns about some of the concepts that she had helped to introduce in the field of special education almost three decades earlier. She argued that the role of special schools was unclear and the pursuit of inclusion had become too ideological. This highly topical book suggests that distinctions should be made between kinds of special needs and the possibility addressed that some SEN children might be happier and more effective as learners within non-mainstream settings. Her call for a government review to investigate these problems raised its media profile, fuelling the debate. This book pulls together contributions from all sides of the argument. An essential read for anyone involved in special education as well as the philosophy and ethics of education this book truly breaks new ground.
The SAGE Handbook of Special Education by
The second edition of The SAGE Handbook of Special Education provides a comprehensive overview of special education, offering a wide range of views on key issues from all over the world. The contributors bring together up-to-date theory, research and innovations in practice, with an emphasis on future directions for the role of special education in a global context of inclusion. This brand new edition features: " New chapters on families, interagency collaboration and issues of lifelong learning " The UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities " Policy reform proposals " Equity and social justice in education " The impact of new thinking on assessment " Issues and developments in classification " The preparation and qualifications that teachers need The Handbook′s breadth, clarity and academic rigour will make it essential reading for researchers and postgraduate students, and also for practitioners, teachers, school managers and administrators.
Special educational needs, inclusion and diversity by 
Teaching and Supporting Children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities in Primary Schools by
This book begins by exploring what is meant by SEND in primary schools and goes on to cover everything trainees and teachers need to know about their statutory responsibilities in school. It then examines the range of needs they will encounter in primary schools with plenty of practical advice along the way. This third edition has been fully restructured and updated to include a new section on the key theories and theorists relating to SEND. Also new to this edition is a chapter focusing on the role of the SENCO in primary school. Finally, the book includes more practical support with coverage of current legislation and the Code of Conduct as well as checklists and information about useful resources and outside agencies.
Supporting Inclusion in the Early Years by
This accessible text provides guidance on the inclusion of young children with special educational needs or disabilities in a variety of early education settings. The author highlights the complexity of early identification and assessment of children described as having special educational needs. Practitioners are encouraged to consider make exclusion visible and consider important questions relating to the language and values underpinning the early years policy and practice. The emphasis is on inclusion as a process aimed at supporting young children and their families in order to enable all children with SEN or disabilities the opportunity to participate in activities available to all children in an inclusive learning environment. The author promotes the development of inclusive early years cultures where inclusion of all children is regarded as a right rather than an option. The text has implications for the teaching and learning of all young children not only those perceived as having special educational needs. The theoretical perspectives are supported by examples based on concerns and experiences of parents, children and practitioners. It is essential reading for those working or intending to work with young children.
Inclusion in the Early Years by 
Special Educational Needs and Disability: the Basics by
Special Educational Needs and Disability: The Basics has been fully updated in light of the 2014 Children and Families Act in England and now also includes a focus and discussion of legislation across the whole UK. Providing an engaging and complete overview, it examines the fundamental principles of the subject from policy to practice. This book covers the historical development of special provision and key legislation, policy-making, the identification and assessment of young people¿s special or additional learning and behaviour needs, and ways to address barriers to learning associated with various kinds of difficulty. Essential revisions to this second edition include: discussion of the implications of the 2014 Special Educational Needs and Disability Code of Practice: 0 to 25 years for Heads, governors, SENCos, staff, students and families in schools in England, a focus on the law relating to special or additional support needs in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, and its implications, an update on statutory assessment requirements and advice on compiling them, including the new Education Health and Care Plans in England. This book is an ideal starting point for all those with questions about what constitutes special educational needs and disability and how individuals can be supported in practice. It is essential reading for policy-makers, trainees, teachers and all those working with young people who experience difficulties and their families.
Making Inclusion Work for Children with Dyspraxia by
Drawing on their considerable experiences of the syndrome, as well as current research findings, the authors help teachers and other education professionals to better understand the needs of a dyspraxic child. Through practical strategies, they show how teachers can make all the difference to a child's ability to succeed in the classroom, and case studies show how parents, teachers and therapists can work together to facilitate learning. Whilst providing a unique insight and approach to the complex condition of dyspraxia, this lively, informative text also examines specific cases and scenarios, considering the perspectives of teachers and parents. It handles a range of crucial topics such as: * issues surrounding diagnosis * the developmental differences and characteristics of dyspraxia * conventional and alternative intervention strategies * an exploration of the pressure of families * ways of improving home/school liaison. Teachers, SENCOs and other educational professionals will find this book provides a wealth of essential information and guidance, whilst parents will also find much to support them in the daily care and welfare of their child.
Williams Syndrome Across Languages by
Williams Syndrome (WS), aka Williams Beuren Syndrome, is a developmental disorder that we have known about for some forty years. The cause for WS was detected only recently: a micro deletion on chromosome 7, more specifically at the region of chromosome 7q11.23. The cognitive and behavioral profile in WS is characterized by a marked discrepancy between verbal and non-verbal skills combined with relatively spared linguistic skills. Recent research has shown considerable progress defining the areas of intactness in linguistic abilities. This volume builds on that research, giving an overview of the psycholinguistic research undertaken and opening up new perspectives and insights through new data and analyses. This book is of interest to researchers of applied cognitive science and to linguists more occupied with theoretical research.
Children and the Capability Approach by
Exploring a wide variety of case studies and developmental issues from a capability perspective, this book is an original contribution to both development and children's studies that raises a strong case for placing children's issues at the core of human development.
Speech and Language Impairments in Children by
Delayed development of speech and/or language is one of the commonest reasons for parents of preschool children to seek the advice of a paediatrician. Accessible to non-academic Speech and Language Impairments provides an overview of recent research developments in specific speech and language impairments, written by experts in the field. Topics include normal and disordered development of problems , crosslinguistic studies, pragmatic language impairments, early identification, educational and psychiatric outcomes, acquired epileptic aphasia and experimental studies of remediation. The book concludes with a chapter by Michael Rutter that gives guidelines for conducting and evaluating research in this field.
Dis/abled Childhoods? by
This edited collection explores the intersectionality of childhood and disability. Whereas available scholarship tends to concentrate on care-giving, parenting, or supporting and teaching children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities, the contributors to this collection offer an engaging and accessible insight into childhoods that are impacted by disability and impairment. The discussions cut across traditional disciplinary divides and offer critical insights into the key issues that relate to disabled children and young people's lives, encouraging the exploration of both disability and childhoods in their broadest terms. Dis/abled Childhoods? will be of interest to students and scholars across a range of disciplines including Special Educational Needs; Childhood Studies; Disability Studies; Youth Studies; and Health and Social Care.
Autism Spectrum Disorder by
What are the historical foundations of autism and what precisely is meant by the "autistic spectrum?" How can we explain behavioral patterns of people with autism, young or old, and what are the major theoretical bases for understanding these? What is the latest thinking regarding diagnosis, and what are the most effective strategies for assessment, education and care for people with this condition? This newly updated and enhanced Second Edition covers the latest research on autistic spectrum disorders. Practical yet applied, it explores theories at the psychological, neurobiological and "first cause" levels, as well as methods of assessment, intervention, education, and support. Already popular as an introductory text for those wanting to know more about autism, as well as a source of basic information and references for those familiar with the field, this helpful text is invaluable for students, professionals and even families. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
A New Understanding of ADHD in Children and Adults by
For over 100 years, ADHD has been seen as essentially a behavior disorder. Recent scientific research has developed a new paradigm which recognizes ADHD as a developmental disorder of the cognitive management system of the brain, its executive functions. This cutting-edge book pulls together key ideas of this new understanding of ADHD, explaining them and describing in understandable language scientific research that supports this new model. It addresses questions like: - Why can those with ADHD focus very well on some tasks while having great difficulty in focusing on other tasks they recognize as important? - How does brain development and functioning of persons with ADHD differ from others? - How do impairments of ADHD change from childhood through adolescence and in adulthood? - What treatments help to improve ADHD impairments? How do they work? Are they safe? - Why do those with ADHD have additional emotional, cognitive, and learning disorders more often than most others? - What commonly-held assumptions about ADHD have now been proven wrong by scientific research? Psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, and other medical and mental health professionals, as well as those affected by ADHD and their families, will find this to be am insightful and invaluable resource.
The Disabled Child's Participation Rights by
The United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities is the only UN treaty to date in which the people who are its target, that is disabled people, were actively involved in its drafting and the only one which requires the active participation of disabled people in its implementation. This does not, of course, automatically guarantee the direct participation of all disabled people. This is especially so for children with disabilities, whose status as legal minors may inhibit them from participating in decisions affecting their lives. This book focuses on the participation rights of the disabled child with regard to health, education, homelife and relationships, highlighting ways in which these rights are safeguarded and promoted throughout the EU, as well as exploring the factors that put these rights at risk. Finally, this groundbreaking text analyses whether disabled children's needs for assistance in order to realise their participation rights results in fewer opportunities to participate or in an increase in support in order for them to be able to do so.
A Practical Guide to Quality Interaction with Children Who Have a Hearing Loss by
Designed as a hands-on concise reference, this new book covers the full range of topics involved with providing the best care for children with hearing loss or impairment. Focus is on the needs of the children themselves and the complexities of dealing with the young age groups, as well as the role of the clinicians and the families.
Children's Rights by
Despite the existence of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child there still exists a debate on whether children can really hold rights. This book presents a clear theory of children's rights by examining controversial case studies. The author presents a pathway to translating rights into practical social and political instruments for change.
Down Syndrome Across the Life Span by
This book promotes a positive message for people with Down syndrome across the world. Living with Down Syndrome is a positive experience for the majority of children and adults with Down syndrome, and for their families. Of course there are difficulties to be faced, but quality of life, from infancy to old age, is determined more by the quality of healthcare, education and social inclusion offered to individuals, than by the developmental difficulties that are associated with Down syndrome. The aim of this book is to bring the latest information on research and good practice to families, practitioners and policy makers in order improve the services available to individuals with Down syndrome in all countries.
Including Children with Visual Impairment in Mainstream Schools by
First Published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Diversity and Inclusion in Early Childhood by
Covering a wide range of concepts and taking a broader perspective of what inclusion entail, this book offers an overview of current research, policy and practice in diversity and inclusion in the early years. It is a clear introduction to what inclusive practice means for those working with young children in the early stages of their lives. With case studies and activities designed to help students relate to diverse situations, the author discusses the main issues surrounding:- race- gender- culture- disability and Special Educational Needs- English as an Additional Language- Traveller children- the contexts of inclusion and exclusion- good practice in early childhood settings- different perspectives of inclusionThis is essential reading for students studying inclusion and diversity on early childhood or early years courses, and those seeking to promote good practice and enable all children to develop to their full potential irrespective of their background.'The success of this book is in its ability to explore inclusion from a wide perspective. Offering a range of thought-provoking material, such as reflective questions, debates and controversies, practitioner, parent and children's views, legislation, activities, and examples of good practice, will keep readers interested and actively engaged throughout the book'
Debating Special Education by
Debating Special Education is a provocative yet timely book examining a range of criticisms made of special education in recent years. Michael Farrell analyses several key debates in special education giving balanced critical responses to inform policy and practice for the future of special education. The book identifies possible limitations to the current special education knowledge base and provision. Michael Farrell examines the value of labelling and classification, and asks if intelligence testing may have detrimental effects; and addresses a number of complex issues such as: how practitioners work within special education; and if, sometimes, professionals may be self-serving whether there is distinctive provision for different types of disabilities and disorders inclusion as mainstreaming offered as an alternative to special education, and the challenges this presents. The author's conclusion is that in responding to these challenges, special education demonstrates its continuing relevance and strength. Presenting a range of international, cross-disciplinary perspectives and debates - which are vital to an understanding of special education today, and written in Farrell's typically accessible style - this book will be relevant for teachers of special children in ordinary and special schools; those on teacher training courses and anyone whose work relates to special education.
The Effective Teacher's Guide to Sensory and Physical Impairments by
'Michael Farrell offers well sourced overviews of the conflicting and contradictory advice that is available to schools, suggests a variety of solutions to challenges, empowering the reader to make their own choices.' -nbsp;Carol Smart, Special Needs Information Press Fully updated with the latest research and advice on best practice, this new edition of The Effective Teacher's Guide to Sensory and Physical Impairments covers a range of conditions that cause learning difficulties for children, including visual impairment, hearing impairment, deafblindness, orthopaedic impairment, motor disorders and health impairments, as well as a brand new chapter on traumatic brain injury. Teachers are likely to meet children with varying types and degrees of sensory and physical impairments. This comprehensive guide equips you with informed and practical strategies to ensure that all pupils are included and provided for in the best possible way. The new edition has also been adapted to be more widely relevant to readers in different countries, focusing more on the strategies that work regardless of national context. Writing in his popular accessible style, Michael Farrell suggests the best ways of dealing with a variety of conditions, always with practical classroom situations in mind. In each section, the book: explains the legal contexts looks at the range of provision suggests intervention and support strategies gives points for reflection and suggested further reading. Highly accessible and authoritative, this book provides teachers with an invaluable resource to help you create a truly inclusive classroom.
The Sociology of Human Rights by
Long the arena of philosophers, legal scholars, and political scientists, the interdisciplinary study of human rights has recently seen an influx of sociologists. Why is this so, and how do sociologists contribute to our understanding of human rights in the contemporary world? In this landmark new text, Mark Frezzo explores the sociological perspective on human rights, which he shows to be uniquely placed to illuminate the economic, political, social, and cultural conditions under which human rights norms and laws are devised, interpreted, implemented, and enforced. Sociologists treat human rights not as immutable attributes but as highly contested claims that vary across historical time and geographic space, and investigate how human rights can serve either to empower or to constrain social actors, from large societies to small communities and identity groups. Frezzo guides readers through the scholarly, pedagogical, and practical applications of a sociological view of major debates such as foundationalism vs. social constructionism, universalism vs. particularism, globalism vs. localism, and collective vs. individual rights. This cutting-edge text will appeal to students of sociology, political science, law, development, and social movements, and all interested in the nature, scope, and applicability of human rights in the twenty-first century.
DSM-5® Casebook and Treatment Guide for Child Mental Health by
DSM-5® Casebook and Treatment Guide for Child Mental Health offers trainees and clinicians who provide mental health services to children and adolescents a concise but conceptually and clinically rich guide to the types of disorders commonly found in practice. The cases are either new or updated from the previous publication, which was designed as a child mental health casebook for DSM-IV-TR, and were chosen to illustrate advances in diagnosis and evidence-based assessment and treatment with DSM-5 in mind. For each case, commentaries are included from a child and adolescent psychiatrist and child psychologist (or another mental health professional), who review each vignette and address diagnostic formulation and treatment from both psychotherapeutic and psychopharmacologic perspectives, with attention to other modalities that might be important for clinical management. This panel approach allows for a diversity of perspectives and provides valuable, complementary insights into each case. The book is structured in a logical, user-friendly way, with many features that facilitate and enhance learning: * Cases are divided into four sections, each with an introduction by the editors, who summarize and contextualize the information presented in that part, providing a framework for understanding and building bridges to the other sections.* The 29 case vignettes are fascinating, instructive, and diverse. The cases range from fairly clear diagnoses, to more complex presentations (such as when patients with comorbid conditions), to the most difficult cases (when the diagnosis is unclear, the patient has not responded to previous treatment, only limited evidence is available on the correct means of treatment, and/or the patient's psychopathology occurs in the context of extreme psychosocial stressors).* The book's final part addresses diagnostic and treatment decision making and includes two chapters on clinical and research issues in the diagnosis and treatment of child psychopathology. The book's cross-disciplinary approach makes it appropriate for clinicians and trainees from all disciplines who are involved in treating children and adolescents with mental health problems. DSM-5® Casebook and Treatment Guide for Child Mental Health is unparalleled in its engaging style, up-to-date information, and expert, evidence-based guidance in conceptualizing diagnosis and treatment.
Teaching and Supporting Children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities in Primary Schools by
This book begins by exploring what is meant by SEND in primary schools and goes on to cover everything trainees and teachers need to know about their statutory responsibilities in school. It then examines the range of needs they will encounter in primary schools with plenty of practical advice along the way. This third edition has been fully restructured and updated to include a new section on the key theories and theorists relating to SEND. Also new to this edition is a chapter focusing on the role of the SENCO in primary school. Finally, the book includes more practical support with coverage of current legislation and the Code of Conduct as well as checklists and information about useful resources and outside agencies.
Disability Studies: An interdisciplinary introduction by
Passionate, engaging and challenging, this second edition of the ground-breaking Disability Studies: An Interdisciplinary Introduction is a contemporary introduction to this diverse and complex field. Taking an interdisciplinary and critical approach, the book: examines a diverse range of theories and perspectives and engages with current debates in the field explores key areas of analysis, with chapters devoted to the individual, society, community and education applies a global perspective encompassing examples from the UK, Australia, Scandinavia, the US, and Canada. Encouraging and stimulating readers using thought-provoking questions, exercises and activities, Disability Studies is a rich and rewarding read for students and researchers engaging with disability across the social sciences.
Chronic Illness in Children by
This book provides a research-based discussion of common childhood chronic illnesses and their etiology, diagnosis, treatment, and management.Along with information on specific diseases and conditions, such as asthma, diabetes, and arthritis, are chapters on psychosocial management, focusing on family coping, stress on the child, and adherence.This is a rich resource for nurses and other health practitioners looking for an overview of children's chronic illness in an evidence-based context.
Developmental Disorders of Language Learning and Cognition by
This important new text is a comprehensive survey of currentthinking and research on a wide range of developmental disorders. Highlights key research on normal and typical development Includes clinical case studies and diagrams to illustrate keyconcepts A reader-friendly writing style
The Development of Disability Rights under International Law by
The adoption of the Convention on the Rights of People with Disabilities (CPRD) by the United Nations in 2006 is the first comprehensive and binding treaty on the rights of people with disabilities. It establishes the right of people with disabilities to equality, dignity, autonomy, full participation, as well as the right to live in the community, and the right to supported decision-making and inclusive education. Prior to the CRPD, international law had provided only limited protections to people with disabilities. This book analyses the development of disability rights as an international human rights movement. Focusing on the United States and countries in Asia, Africa, the Middle East the book examines the status of people with disabilities under international law prior to the adoption of the CPRD, and follows the development of human rights protections through the convention's drafting process. Arlene Kanter argues that by including both new applications and entirely new approaches to human rights treaty enforcement, the CRPD is significant not only to people with disabilities but also to the general development of international human rights, by offering new human rights protections for all people. Taking a comparative perspective, the book explores how the success of the CRPD in achieving protections depends on the extent to which individual countries enforce domestic laws and policies, and the changing public attitudes towards people with disabilities. This book will be of excellent use and interest to researchers and students of human rights law, discrimination, and disability studies.
Identifying, Assessing and Supporting Learners with Dyscalculia by
It is vital to understand the challenges and provide the right support for learners with dyscalculia and specific learning difficulties in mathematics. The book provides: * an overview of current research explaining the nature and causation of dyscalculia* guidance on the identification of dyscalculia* examples of how to carry out informal and formal assessments* an explanation of the principles of multisensory mathematics teaching * an outline of a structured programme (for learners aged 5-14), together with examples of lesson planning and activities. Designed for teachers specialising in the assessment and teaching of learners with dyscalculia, and those undertaking courses leading to Approved Teacher Dyscalculia (ATD) and Associate Membership of the British Dyslexia Association (AMBDA), the book is useful to any professional looking for an understanding of this area of specific difficulty.
Vision and the Brain by
Cerebral visual impairment (also known as cortical visual impairment, or CVI) has become the most common cause of visual impairment in children in the United States and the developed world. Vision and the Brain is a unique and comprehensive sourcebook geared especially to professionals in the field of visual impairment, educators, and families who need to know more about the causes and types of CVI and the best practices for working with affected children. Expert contributors from many countries represent education, occupational therapy, orientation and mobility, ophthalmology, optometry, neuropsychology, psychology, and vision science, and include parents of children with CVI. The book provides an in-depth guide to current knowledge about brain-related vision loss in an accessible form to enable readers to recognize, understand, and assess the behavioral manifestations of damage to the visual brain and develop effective interventions based on identification of the spectrum of individual needs. Chapters are designed to help those working with children with CVI ascertain the nature and degree of visual impairment in each child, so that they can "see" and appreciate the world through the child's eyes and ensure that every child is served appropriately.
ADHD by
This concise paperback summarizes basic and clinical sciences relevant to our understanding of attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) with a particular emphasis on history, etiology, phenomenology, neurobiology, assessment, and treatment. Written by an internationally recognizedclinician, researcher, and educator, the book ideally targets the learning needs of students, residents, and early-career practitioners, but also provides an updated overview with likely appeal for more experienced clinicians.The text is organized into succinct and well-referenced chapters. Critical information is easily discerned in accompanying key points, boxes, tables, and figures. References and suggestions for further reading are handy aids for readers who wish to obtain additional information on materialdescribed. Topics of special interest include assessment, approaches to initiating ADHD medications, controversies surrounding medication use, complementary and alternative treatments, and management of ADHD with co-occurring substance abuse. Of particular note, the author utilizes a developmentalperspective that recognizes how the disorders manifestations and treatment needs change over the lifespan from childhood to adulthood.The book is not intended to be an encyclopedia covering everything known about ADHD, but is an easily read user-friendly introduction that provides a solid foundation for clinical management of the disorder.
Acquired Speech and Language Disorders by
It is vital to have knowledge of the neuroanatomical structures andfunctional neurological mechanisms, which are disrupted inneurogenic speech/language, disordered persons in order tounderstand the speech/language deficits themselves. This book provides a comprehensive coverage of the neurologicalbasis of both the clinically recognised forms of aphasia and thevarious motor speech disorders, in both children and adults. Italso covers more recently recognised language disorders, such asParkinsons and related diseases, right hemisphere damage,closed-head injury, dementia, etc. This is a perfect text forpractitioners who need to understand the integration ofneuroanatomy and functional neurology with the practice ofspeech-language pathology.
Autism by
Autism is the first book on the condition that seeks to combine medical, historical and cultural approaches to an understanding of the condition. Its purpose is to present a rounded portrayal of the ways in which autism is currently represented in the world, It focuses on three broad areas: the facts of scientific research, including new ideas surrounding research into genetics and neuroscience, as well as the details of diagnosis and therapy; the history of the condition as it developed through psychiatric approaches to the rise of parent associations, neurodiversity and autism advocacy; and the fictional and media narratives through which it is increasingly expressed in the contemporary moment. Accessible and written in clear English, Autism is designed for student audiences in English, Disability Studies, Cultural Studies, History, Sociology, and Medicine and Health, as well as medical practitioners and the general reader. Autism is a condition surrounded by misunderstanding and often defined by contestation and argument. The purpose of this book is to bring clarity to the subject of autism across the full range of its manifestations.
Teaching Literacy to Learners with Dyslexia by
The Second Edition of this bestselling book provides a structured multi-sensory programme for teaching literacy to children and young people from 5-18 with dyslexia and other specific literacy difficulties.Supported by a wealth of resources available online and updated throughout, the new edition now includes a brand new section on Implementing the Accelerated Programme for learners who have already acquired some literacy skills. This includes: A placement test to indicate whether the programme is appropriate A diagnostic assessment procedure to determine where the learner should begin on the Accelerated Programme Examples of lesson plans, reading cards and spelling cards to help teachers prepare resources for their studentsWith tried and tested strategies and activities this book continues to provide everything you need to help improve and develop the literacy skills of learners in your setting including; the rationale for a structured multi-sensory approach the development of phonological, reading, writing and spelling skills working with learners who have English as an Additional Language (EAL) lesson structure and lesson-planning alphabet and dictionary skills memory work and study skills teaching the programme to groups ideas for working with young children.
Dyslexia: a practitioners handbook by
Newly updated, Gavin Reid's best-selling handbook remains an essential resource for those helping dyslexic individuals of all ages, from preschoolers to adults in the workplace. Combines theoretical explanations, the latest research, and practical solutions with a focus on inclusion and meeting the individual's needs New and expanded coverage includes: multilingualism; the use of technology; co-existing conditions such as dyspraxia, dyscalculia, and ADHD; and positive dyslexia Assembles the latest policies and best practices for dyslexia from around the world, and makes current debates regarding education and literacy accessible to trainees and practitioners
Supporting Speech, Language and Communication Needs by
Designed for all those who support older children and young adults with speech and language difficulties, this resource provides ideas, practical strategies and detailed information about the speech, language and communication needs (SLCN) of older students. Included in the book are the following: - clear explanations of the difficulties you might see students experiencing - practical strategies to use when working with individuals, and small groups of students - advice on how to adapt the curriculum to suit students' individual needs - case studies illustrating common areas of difficulty - guidance on how to plan for effective multi-disciplinary working - a CD-Rom containing lots of useful photocopiables, and training materials Both authors have over 20 years experience of delivering courses to teachers, Special Needs Co-ordinators (SENCOs) and Specialist Outreach teachers in different local authorities, further education colleges and university departments. Kate Ripley is an Educational Psychologist, trainer and national and international conference speaker on themes related to speech, language and communication needs. Jenny Barrett is a Speech and Language Therapist with internationally recognised expertise in her field, who now works as a freelance consultant.
The Palgrave Handbook of Disabled Children's Childhood Studies by
Disabled children's lives have often been discussed through medical concepts of disability rather than concepts of childhood. Western understandings of childhood have defined disabled children against child development 'norms' and have provided the rationale for segregated or 'special' welfare and education provision. In contrast, disabled children's childhood studies begins with the view that studies of children's impairment are not studies of their childhoods. Disabled children's childhood studies demands ethical research practices that position disabled children and young people at the centre of the inquiry outside of the shadow of perceived 'norms'. The Palgrave Handbook of Disabled Children's Childhood Studies will be of interest to students and scholars across a range of disciplines, as well as practitioners in health, education, social work and youth work.
Advances in the sign language development of deaf children by 
Disability Rights and Wrongs Revisited by
Over the last forty years, the field of disability studies has emerged from the political activism of disabled people. In this challenging review of the field, leading disability academic and activist Tom Shakespeare argues that disability research needs a firmer conceptual and empirical footing. This new edition is updated throughout, reflecting Shakespeare's most recent thinking, drawing on current research, and responding to controversies surrounding the first edition and the World Report on Disability, as well as incorporating new chapters on cultural disability studies, personal assistance, sexuality, and violence. Using a critical realist approach, Disability Rights and Wrongs Revisited promotes a pluralist, engaged and nuanced approach to disability. Key topics discussed include: dichotomies - going beyond dangerous polarizations such as medical model versus social model to achieve a complex, multi-factorial account of disability identity - the drawbacks of the disability movement's emphasis on identity politics bioethics - choices at the beginning and end of life and in the field of genetic and stem cell therapies relationships - feminist and virtue ethics approaches to questions of intimacy, assistance and friendship. This stimulating and accessible book challenges disability studies orthodoxy, promoting a new conceptualization of disability and fresh research agenda. It is an invaluable resource for researchers and students in disability studies and sociology, as well as professionals, policy makers and activists.
Dyslexia Across Languages and Writing Systems by
This volume presents the first truly systematic, multi-disciplinary, and cross-linguistic study of the language and writing system factors affecting the emergence of dyslexia. Bringing together a team of scholars from a wide variety of disciplines, it takes a dual focus on the language-specific properties of dyslexia and on its core components across languages and orthographies, to challenge theories on the nature, identification and prevalence of dyslexia, and to reveal new insights. Part I highlights the nature, identification and prevalence of dyslexia across multiple languages including English, French, Dutch, Czech and Slovakian, Finnish, Arabic, Hebrew, Japanese and Chinese, while Part II takes a cross-linguistic stance on topics such as the nature of dyslexia, the universals that determine relevant precursor measures, competing hypotheses of brain-based deficits, modelling outcomes, etiologies, and intergenerational gene-environment interactions.
The Sociology of Childhood by
Acclaimed as the best book on the sociology of children, this is the only textbook that thoroughly covers children and childhood from a sociological pespective. It includes updated coverage of peer relations, friendship, children and electronic media, and the social problems experienced by children, and there are new sections on immigrant children, changing perspectives of American families, and the problem of aggression and bullying among children and youth. Throughout the book, the author′s original research and the compelling photographs and vivid illustrations bring the topics to life.
Vygotsky and Special Needs Education by 
Additional Educational Needs by
Teaching a class of learners with many different additional educational needs can be challenging to the extreme. Based on the latest national legislation and the importance of achieving 'inclusive communities' within schools, this book provides succinct and practical information on working with children with a full range of additional educational needs. This book: covers unfamiliar areas beyond the typical SEN spectrum - such as gifted and talented, bilingual learners and supporting children in care appropriate for every key stage and educational setting includes case studies, discussion questions and key issues to help develop reflective practice Makes close links with the Higher Level Teaching Assistant (HLTA) standards. Accessible and user-friendly, this book will be essential reading for all students of education - including teaching assistants, trainee teachers and newly qualified teachers - on a range of learning support courses (Foundation Degree, BA QTS and PGCE).
