Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Introduction to Relational Databases reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Essential Reading (to purchase)
An introduction to database systems 8th ed by Provides a comprehensive introduction to the field of database systems. This eighth edition provides a grounding in the foundations of database technology while shedding some light on how the field is likely to develop. It also features database system trends.
Call Number: 005.74 DAT
Publication Date: 2004
Fundamentals of database systems 7th ed. by For database systems courses in Computer Science
This book introduces the fundamental concepts necessary for designing, using, and implementing database systems and database applications. Our presentation stresses the fundamentals of database modeling and design, the languages and models provided by the database management systems, and database system implementation techniques.
The book is meant to be used as a textbook for a one- or two-semester course in database systems at the junior, senior, or graduate level, and as a reference book. The goal is to provide an in-depth and up-to-date presentation of the most important aspects of database systems and applications, and related technologies. It is assumed that readers are familiar with elementary programming and data-structuring concepts and that they have had some exposure to the basics of computer organisation
Call Number: 005.74 ELM + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Data Analysis for Database Design by Data analysis for database design is a subject of great practical value to systems analysts and designers. This classic text has been updated to include chapters on distributed database systems, query optimisation and object-orientation.The SQL content now includes features of SQL92 and SQL 99.
With new databases coming online all the time and the general expansion of the information age, it is increasingly important to ensure that the analysis and model of a database design is accurate and robust. This is an ideal book for helping you to ensure that your database is well designed and therefore user friendly.
Call Number: 005.74 HOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2001
There are no recommended journals for this module.
There are no recommended websites for this module.