Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your The Child with Complex Needs reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module
Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of Nursing Children and Young People by Nurses and healthcare professionals are constantly faced withethical and philosophical dilemmas when working with children ineveryday practice. Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of NursingChildren and Young People is a comprehensive text on the ethicsand philosophy behind paediatric nursing that reflects thecontemporary issues encountered while working with children andyoung people. The title provides a philosophical and historical analysisof the subject, looking at a review of sociological and politicaltheories concerning the nature of childhood, and providing acritical analysis of contemporary notions about childhood. It thengoes on to look at moral theories and their application topaediatric nursing practice, ethical issues when caring forchildren of all ages, from infancy to adolescence. It considersissues of disabled children, confidentiality, mental health issues,children's rights, and pain management. With case studies andactivities throughout, this book will enable students and newlyqualified nurses both to understand philosophical concepts andissues but also to articulate their own reflections andobservations on these subjects. Written by children's nurses for children's nurses With contributions from internationally recognised experts inthe field Reflective scenarios, further reading, extensive referencing,case studies, guided questions, and resources throughout Includes appendices on the RCPCH Guidelines onWithdrawal of Treatment, the ICN Ethical Code, the Summary of theUNCRC, and the RCPCH Guidelines for the Conduct of EthicalResearch
Call Number: 174.2 BRY + eBooks
Publication Date: 2011
Child-Centred Nursing by Child-Centred Nursing presents a unique approach by bringing children to the fore of the discussion about their health and health care. It encourages you to think critically about children, their families and contemporary practice issues. It promotes reflection on how you can develop innovative practice so as to improve children's health outcomes and their experiences of health care. Clinical case studies and critical thinking exercises are included in each chapter, creating and sustaining a clear link between professional practice, research and theory. The book is essential reading for all pre-registration and post-graduate students studying children's and young people's health care.
Call Number: 618.92 CAR + eBooks
Publication Date: 2014
Promoting Psychological Well-Being in Children with Acute and Chronic Illness by Living with a chronic illness can have a significant psychological impact on a child and his or her family, and it is essential that this aspect of their care is not overlooked. This book provides a comprehensive guide to promoting the psychological well-being of children with chronic illnesses and medical conditions, covering support within health, social services and education. It discusses issues such as the impact of diagnosis and the experiences of children and their families in managing their medical condition and treatment. Strategies to support children and help them to cope with medical conditions are demonstrated, including cognitive behavioural and systemic approaches, and techniques such as relaxation and motivational interviewing. Case examples from clinical practice are given to illustrate the application of psychological ideas and frameworks to a variety of medical conditions and psychological difficulties. The book also includes a comprehensive resources section of where to look for further information. This will be an essential book for all professionals working with children with medical conditions, including psychologists, doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, counsellors, social workers, speech and language therapists, dieticians and play therapists.
Call Number: 618.92044 EDW
Publication Date: 2010
Essentials of Nursing Children and Young People by This innovative and student-friendly textbook provides up-to-date information on the core content of child nursing courses and helps students understand how it applies to practice. Covering all settings throughout, including the acute and community ones, it focuses on the importance of child and family centred care, by having them directly involved through the use of voices and case studies. This book provides a comprehensive framework for student knowledge development by including: Activities and theory stop-points to encourage students to develop their critical thinking skills. Pointers to further reading resources, including journal articles and videos for students to explore and build knowledge more independently. A range of online resources including extra scenarios for lecturers to use in their teaching and MCQs for students to revise. Essential reading for undergraduate nursing students specialising or wanting to specialise in children and young people nursing.
Call Number: 618.92 PRI
Publication Date: 2018
Managing Pain in Children by Providing an evidence-based, practical guide to care in all areas of children's pain management, Managing Pain in Children offers nurses and other healthcare professionals an introduction to the skills and expertise to manage children's pain effectively. This fully-updated second edition first explores the relevant anatomy and physiology of children, the latest policy guidelines surrounding pain management and ethical issues involved in managing children's pain. Various pain assessment tools available for children and non-drug methods of pain relief are then explored and applied to practice in relation to acute pain, chronic pain, palliative care and the management of procedural pain. The evidence base, assessment techniques, pain-relieving interventions, and guidance for best practice in both hospital and community settings are covered throughout, making this title an ideal resource for all nurses and healthcare professionals working with children.
Call Number: 618.920472 TWY + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Principles of Biomedical Ethics by Building on the best-selling tradition of previous editions, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, provides a highly original, practical, and insightful guide to morality in the health professions. Acclaimed authors Tom L. Beauchamp and James F. Childress thoroughly develop and advocate for four principles that lie at the core of moral reasoning in health care: respect for autonomy, nonmaleficence, beneficence, and justice. Drawing from contemporary research--and integrating detailed case studies and vivid real-life examples and scenarios--they demonstrate how these prima facie principles can be expanded to apply to various conflicts and dilemmas, from how to deliver bad news to whether or not to withhold or withdraw life-sustaining treatments.
Illuminating both theory and method throughout, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, considers what constitutes moral character and addresses the problem of moral status: what rights are due to people and animals, and when. It also examines the professional-patient relationship, surveys major philosophical theories--including utilitarianism, Kantianism, rights theory, and virtue theory--and describes methods of moral justification in bioethics. Ideal for courses in biomedical ethics, bioethics, and health care ethics, the text is enhanced by hundreds of annotated citations and a substantial introduction that clarifies key terms and concepts.
Call Number: 174.2 BEA
Publication Date: 2012
Interprofessional working : an essential guide for health- and social-care professionals 2nd ed. by This new edition of Interprofessional Working: An Essential Guide for Health and Social Care Professionals provides the underpinning theoretical and practical knowledge all undergraduate nursing and healthcare students will need to learn how to successfully communicate and work effectively as part of an integrated, interprofessional team. As part of the topical Nursing and Health Care Practice series, this highly accessible text offers a host of practice based, real-life scenarios to show theory in practice along with a real 'life case studies, boxed features and new activities to develop critical thinking and understanding.
Call Number: 610.696 DAY + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Legal Aspects of Nursing by Bridgit Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is the definitive guide to the essential law that nurses and healthcare professionals need to know. Written in an engaging style, the book shows the application of the law to everyday nursing situations showing the relevance and importance of legal considerations to nursing practice. The book covers the legal system and legal issues relating to medicine in general, before examining more specific areas, such as children and the elderly.
Call Number: 344.041 DIM + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Care for Children by The first edition of this book was the first authoritative, systematic and comprehensive text to define the increasingly important and evolving specialty of paediatric palliative care. It explores both the clinical aspects and the multidimensional and holistic nature of care for the dyingchild, based on the knowledge that all human experience has a physical, emotional, psychological and spiritual impact. The book covers ways of providing support in all of these areas both for the child, families, and carers, recognising the importance of teamwork and taking an evidence-basedapproach.The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Care for Children is about the care of children for whom cure of their underlying disease is not possible. It encompasses the physical management of symptoms such as pain and nausea, as well as social issues such as accessing appropriate education, emotional issuessuch as techniques for communication, and spiritual issues such as feelings of guilt and isolation. The book suggests that if we are to maintain the quality of life for a child it is essential to recognise all these dimensions and try to address them. This can only be done by recognising the skillsof a wide range of professionals and working together in ways that are not always intuitive to any one discipline. It explores the multidimensional and holistic nature of care for the dying child. Those working in paediatric palliative care recognise that all human experience has emotional,psychological and spiritual impact as well as physical, and this book offers the essential information needed for those involved in paediatric care to find ways of providing support in all of these areas.Comprehensive in scope, exhaustive in detail, and definitive in authority, this second edition has been thoroughly updated to cover new practices, current epidemiological data and the evolving models that support the delivery of palliative medicine to children. Paediatric palliative care is nowdeveloping in countries with differing health care systems, and being adapted to suit individual illnesses and the varying resources and geography in different parts of the world. This book is an essential resource for anyone who works with children worldwide.
Call Number: 618.920029 GOL
Publication Date: 2012
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology by Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology introduces nursing and healthcare students to the pathophysiology of the child, and offers an applied full-colour visual approach throughout. Explaining the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology, it enables the reader to develop the understanding, knowledge, and skills required to know how to respond and provide safe and effective high-quality care to children and their families. Key features: Written by an experienced author team Filled with superb full-colour illustrations Packed with learning features, including key words, test-your-knowledge, exercises, further reading, and learning outcomes Includes case studies to help readers understand how to apply the knowledge in clinical practice Contains links to clinical observations, vital signs to look out for, investigations boxes, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, and medication alerts Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology is an ideal book for pre-registration nursing students, including child and adult nurses, as well as for all healthcare professionals who come into contact with children and their families.
Call Number: 618.92007 PEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by Provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law, helping them to better understand the legal obligations they face, and leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice. Written in clear and straightforward language, the book covers issues such as equality and human rights, confidentiality, negligence, disability, children's rights and mental health. It is also supported by insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law to nursing and how it underpins practice. New to this edition: · Fully mapped to the latest NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · New chapter covering death, dying and organ donation · Updated to take account of the Deprivation of Liberty Act · New content covering GDPR, Social Media and Safeguarding of Adults and Children
Call Number: 344.410414 GRI
Publication Date: 2020
Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy and Physiology by When caring for the well or ill child, recognising and responding to their anatomical and physiological differences is essential. Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy and Physiology provides child nursing students and registered nurses with a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the child's body, plus clinical applications throughout to demonstrate how the concepts relate to real-life nursing. Each chapter lists learning outcomes and includes clinical considerations, body maps, a range of high-quality illustrations and test-your-knowledge questions. The book is also accompanied by a companion website with further self-assessment and quizzes.
Call Number: 618.92007 GOR + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Palliative Care for Children and Families by Providing an in-depth look at the issues surrounding the palliative care of children and their families, this innovative text considers children with both malignant and non-malignant conditions, and the specialist care required. By addressing the complexities of providing palliative care to children, it aims to assist all those who work in this field to enhance their practice. Special features include: ? broad research evidence, from national and international sources, on which to base practice ? absorbing activities to support learning and help build knowledge in a meaningful way ? interprofessional perspectives from the whole palliative care team The contributors to the book are drawn from both education and practice across a range of disciplines. The result is a genuinely engaging, interdisciplinary text that is essential reading for students and professionals aiming to deliver quality palliative care in partnership with children and their families.
Call Number: 618.920029 PRI
Publication Date: 2009
Interpersonal Relationships 8th edn. by Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts. UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications. UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication. UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing. UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis. Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills. Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship - all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery. NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
Call Number: 610.730699 ARN
Publication Date: 2019
Cancer in Children and Adolescents by Over the last six decades, there has been tremendous improvement in the survival rate for the majority of children affected by cancer in the United States and in Western Europe. Despite dramatic advances in the "developed" world, 85% of children diagnosed with cancer globally will not survive this disease. Cancer in Children and Adolescents is an accessible textbook that covers the complexities and interdisciplinary nature of cancer occurrences and provides the fundamentals of diagnosis and management of cancers that affect children and adolescents. Distinguished for its global focus, many chapters in Cancer in Children and Adolescents are co-authored by recognized specialists from around the world.Cancer in Children and Adolescents is divided into four major sections:Section 1: The Laboratory Biology and Diagnostic Evaluation of Childhood CancerSection 2: Principles of Cancer Therapy in ChildrenSection 3: Tumors of ChildrenSection 4: Supportive Care
Call Number: 616.99400835 CAR
Publication Date: 2009
Children and Young People's Nursing by Underpinned by a rights-based approach, this essential text critically analyses the theory and practice of children and young people's nursing from several perspectives - public health, acute and community based care, education and research. Chapters address the clinical, legal, ethical, political and professional issues and controversies which impact on the care delivered to children, young people and their families both nationally and internationally. This new edition continues to promote reflection and critical thinking about the practice of children's nursing and professional development.
Call Number: 618.92 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Nursing the Neonate by Written by a multidisciplinary team of medical and nursing experts,this fully-updated second edition provides evidence-based coverageof all frequently seen neonatal conditions. Divided into chaptersbased on body-systems, each section includes discussion of relevantembryology, anatomy and physiology. Designed for real-life practice in the ward, each chapterincludes clear guidelines for procedure and discussion of bestpractice. Case studies are used throughout to aid discussion ofspecific equipment, conditions, and situations. An essential resource for neonatal nursing and midwiferystudents, as well as practicing neonatal nurses, this acclaimedtext may also be of use to junior doctors beginningneonatology. Evidence-based theory clearly linked to application in the wardwith case studies throughout Procedure and equipment guidelines included, with specificrecommendations for practice Accessible format designed for easy reading and reference Highly illustrated with relevant diagrams and pictures
Call Number: 618.9201 MEE + eBook
Publication Date: 2009