Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Designing a Research Project reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
There are no essential readings for this module.
This page provides information specific to your module. For more information and resources for
Business / Management, have a look at your Subject Guide.
IBISWorld are the global leading provider of industry & market sector research and analysis. With instant access to 450 regularly updated UK industry reports, students have instant data they can refer to on any area of the UK market. IBISWorld reports incorporate SWOT and PESTLE analysis as well as Porter’s 5 forces so it’s a fantastic reference points for assignments and dissertations.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by Lecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here With a little help from his weird band of characters the Fourth Edition of the award-winning book continues, with its unique blend of humour and collection of bizarre examples, to bring statistics - from first principles to advanced concepts - well and truly to life using IBM SPSS Statistics. Lecturers: with WebAssign#65533; you can manage and monitor your students'' progress quickly and easily online or give them more opportunities to practise! Ideal for short courses, choose to use WebAssign#65533; alongside the Fourth Edition of Andy Field''s textbook to quickly set up courses and schedule assignments (using the 2159 questions available) and track individual performance so you can spot in an instant where more instruction or practice is needed. If not using for fomal assessment, WebAssign#65533; still lets you set questions for your students to practise over and over again. They get instant feedback and also links to the relevant chapter or section in the integral ebook to help them work out the correct solution. For more information on how to integrate WebAssign#65533; into a forthcoming course or to arrange a class test please contact your local SAGE representative for more details. (Students please note: access to WebAssign#65533; is dependent not only on the purchase of a student access code (ISBN: 9781446273043) but also a username, institution code and password supplied by your course leader/instructor). SAGE MobileStudy - study where and when you like Scan any QR code within the book to access revision material on a smartphone or tablet such as Cramming Sam''s Study tips, flashcard glossaries, interactive multiple choice questionnaires and more. Click here to take a look (if you''re accessing the site from a desktop you''ll be taken to the Companion Website instead; look out for the MobileStudy icon to show you which pages are also available on the MobileStudy site). See how Andy''s book is changing the landscape for textbooks through the use of technology! Support materials for a wide range of disciplines Education and Sport Sciences lecturer support materials with enhanced ones for Psychology, Business and Management and the Health Sciences on the enhanced Companion Website make the book even more relevant to a wider range of subjects across the social sciences and where statistics is taught to a cross-disciplinary audience. Other major new updates include: Now fully compatible with recent IBM SPSS Statistics releases. Two new characters! Statistical cult leader Oditi provides students with access to video clips via his Lantern to help further understanding of statistical/SPSS concepts, while Confusius helps students to make better sense of statistical terms. The enhanced Companion Website offers plenty of lecturer and student material to use in conjunction with the textbook. These include PowerPoints and subject-specific testbanks for lecturers as well as answers to the Smart Alex tasks at the end of the each chapter; datafiles for testing problems in SPSS; flashcards of key concepts; self-assessment multiple-choice questions; and online videos of key statistical and SPSS procedures discussed in the textbook for students. Video Links Go behind the scenes of the Fourth Edition, and find out about the man behind the book Watch Andy introduce SAGE MobileStudy Ask Andy Anything: Teaching stats... and Robbie Williams'' head Ask Andy Anything: Gibson or Fender Ask Andy Anything: The one part of the book Andy hated writing Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 519.5028 FIE
Publication Date: 2013
An Introduction to Qualitative Research by Lecturers - request an e-inspection copy of this text or contact your local SAGE representative to discuss your course needs. In the new edition of his bestselling book, Uwe Flick introduces all of the main theoretical approaches to qualitative research, and provides unmatched coverage of the full range of methods now available to qualitative researchers. Organised around the process of doing qualitative research, the book guides you through ethics, research design, data collection, and data analysis. In this fifth edition, you will find: a new chapter outlining methodological approaches to qualitative research new introductory sections at the beginning of each of the book's seven parts, which prepare the ground and define key terms lots of new practical examples which show you how to carry out all aspects of a qualitative research project new exercises that give you the opportunity to test your understanding of what you've read a brand new companion website full of resources for lecturers and students including suggested answers to the exercises in the book, full text journal articles and links to additional resources: http://uk.sagepub.com/flick5e Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 300.723 FLI
Publication Date: 2014
Qualitative Data Analysis with ATLAS. ti by Are you struggling to get to grips with qualitative data analysis? Do you need help getting started using ATLAS.ti? Do you find software manuals difficult to relate to? Written by a leading expert on ATLAS.ti, this book will guide you step-by-step through using the software to support your research project. In this updated second edition, you will find clear, practical advice on preparing your data, setting up a new project in ATLAS.ti, developing a coding system, asking questions, finding answers and preparing your results. The new edition features: methodological as well as technical advice numerous practical exercises and examples screenshots showing you each stage of analysis in version 7 of ATLAS.ti increased coverage of transcription new sections on analysing video and multimedia data a companion website with online tutorials and data sets. Susanne Friese teaches qualitative methods at the University of Hanover and at various PhD schools, provides training and consultancy for ATLAS.ti at the intersection between developers and users. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 001.4202 FRI
Publication Date: 2014
Research Methods for Business Students by Research Methods for Business Students has been fully revised for this seventh edition and continues to be the market-leading textbook in its field, guiding hundreds of thousands of student researchers to success in their research methods modules, research proposals, projects and dissertations. So, if you're thinking . . . 'How do I choose my topic?' 'I'm confused by all these different philosophies' 'I need to collect my data; what do I do first?' ‘When and what do I need to write? . . . then, open this book to discover: Regular checklists and ‘Progressing your research project’ sections to give you step-by-step practical guidance on the process A glossary of clear definitions for 600 research terms Cases and examples of students’ and academics’ research and topical news articles illustrating research in practice Detailed chapters on choosing your topic, reviewing the literature, understanding philosophies, research design, access and ethics, secondary data, data collection and analysis, and writing about and presenting your research Don’t forget to visit www.pearsoned.co.uk/saunders where you can use online tutorials on research software, such as IBM SPSS Statistics and NVivo, test yourself with hundreds of multiple choice questions, analyse over 60 further case studies, and learn how to search the Internet more efficiently and effectively with our Smarter Online Searching guide! Start your project with confidence and complete it with success! Mark Saunders is Professor of Business Research Methods at The Surrey Business School, University of Surrey. Philip Lewis was a Principal Lecturer and Adrian Thornhill was a Head of Department, both at the University of Gloucestershire.
Call Number: 658.072 SAU
Publication Date: 2015
Real World Research by Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs.
Call Number: 300.72 ROB
Publication Date: 2016
Doing Events Research by Events Management is a rapidly expanding discipline with growing student numbers however currently there are no specifically focused Research Methods texts available to serve this growing cohort. Fulfilling the need for a relevant book which reflects the unique characteristics of research in the field this title provides students with innovative ideas and inspiration to undertake their own research work and informs them of the wide diversity of research strategies and contexts that are available. Content is written from a researcher's point of view and provides a step by step guide to accomplishing a project or dissertation in the field of events. The reader is guided right from the beginning in selecting a topic for research, identifying aims, objectives and questions and then determining which research methods are the most appropriate and practical. They are then shown how to analyze and interpret their data as well as writing up the project. Whilst many current texts are skewed either towards qualitative or quantitative methods, Doing Events Research provides a balanced coverage of both. It incorporates not only traditional research methods, but also contemporary techniques such as using social networking websites and Google analytics. Specific research case studies are integrated to make applications accessible to events students and show the unique characteristics of researching in this field. A range of useful learning aids spur critical thinking and further students' knowledge. This book is visually accessible and whilst written in an engaging style nonetheless maintains academic rigor grounded in research and scholarship. This is essential reading for all events students.
Call Number: 394.2072 FOX
Publication Date: 2014