Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Advanced Internet Technologies reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Network Engineering & Software Engineering, have a look at your Subject Guide.
There are no essential texts recommended for this module.
Cisco IOS in a Nutshell by Cisco routers are everywhere that networks are. They come in all sizes, from inexpensive units for homes and small offices to equipment costing well over $100,000 and capable of routing at gigabit speeds. A fixture in today's networks, Cisco claims roughly 70% of the router market, producing high-end switches, hubs, and other network hardware. One unifying thread runs through the product line: virtually all of Cisco's products run the Internetwork Operating System, or IOS. If you work with Cisco routers, it's likely that you deal with Cisco's IOS software--an extremely powerful and complex operating system, with an equally complex configuration language. With a cryptic command-line interface and thousands of commands--some of which mean different things in different situations--it doesn't have a reputation for being user-friendly. Fortunately, there's help. This second edition of Cisco IOS in a Nutshell consolidates the most important commands and features of IOS into a single, well-organized volume that you'll find refreshingly user-friendly. This handy, two-part reference covers IOS configuration for the TCP/IP protocol family. The first section includes chapters on the user interface, configuring lines and interfaces, access lists, routing protocols, and dial-on-demand routing and security. A brief, example-filled tutorial shows you how to accomplish common tasks. The second part is a classic O'Reilly quick reference to all the commands for working with TCP/IP and the lower-level protocols on which it relies. Brief descriptions and lists of options help you zero in on the commands you for the task at hand. Updated to cover Cisco IOS Software Major Release 12.3, this second edition includes lots of examples of the most common configuration steps for the routers themselves. It's a timely guide that any network administrator will come to rely on.
Call Number: 004.62 BON + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
Cisco IOS Cookbook by Never has something cried out for a cookbook quite as much as Cisco's Internetwork Operating System (IOS). IOS is powerful and flexible, but also confusing and daunting. Most tasks can be accomplished in several different ways. And you don't want to spend precious time figuring out which way is best when you're trying to solve a problem quickly. That's what this cookbook is for. Fortunately, most router configuration tasks can be broken down into several more or less independent steps: you configure an interface, you configure a routing protocol, you set up backup links, you implement packet filters and other access control mechanisms. What you really need is a set of recipes that show you how to perform the most common tasks, so you can quickly come up with a good configuration for your site. And you need to know that these solutions work: you don't want to find yourself implementing a backup link at 2 A.M. because your main link is down and the backup link you set up when you installed the router wasn't quite right. Thoroughly revised and expanded, Cisco IOS Cookbook , 2nd Edition, adds sections on MPLS, Security, IPv6, and IP Mobility, and presents solutions to the most common configuration problems, including: Configuring interfaces of many types, from serial to ATM and Frame Relay Configuring all of the common IP routing protocols (RIP, EIGRP, OSPF, and BGP) Configuring authentication Configuring other services, including DHCP and NTP Setting up backup links, and using HSRP to configure backup routers Managing the router, including SNMP and other solutions Using access lists to control the traffic through the router If you work with Cisco routers, you need a book like this to help you solve problems quickly and effectively. Even if you're experienced, the solutions and extensive explanations will give you new ideas and insights into router configuration. And if you're not experienced--if you've just been given responsibility for managing a network with Cisco routers--this book could be a job-saver.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
MPLS for Cisco Networks by Learn how to build a scalable, protocol-independent network using MPLS.Designed for CCIE candidates, but also suitable for any level this book covers all of the MPLS topics for the CCIE v5 exam. MPLS
Call Number: 004.62 FOR
Publication Date: 2014
BGP for Cisco Networks by BGP is the building block of the internet. Building a complete network topology from the ground up this book will teach you what BGP is, how to configure neighbors (eBGP and iBGP), route reflectors, confederations, building the BGP routing table, how BGP works with IGPs such as EIGRP, OSPF and RIP, and advanced topics such as route filtering, dynamic peering, summarization, tuning the BGP routing decision process, multiprotocol BGP with IPv6 and configuring policies. There are troubleshooting steps from the very basic checks through to more advanced issues. This book has been written for the Cisco CCIE Routing and Switching version 5.0, and covers all the topics required for the written and lab exam. This book is aimed at those studying for the CCIE but will suit anyone looking to get a solid understanding and familiarity of BGP on Cisco IOS and IOS-XE, including CCNA and CCNP students.
Call Number: 004.62 FOR
Publication Date: 2014
CCNA by This comprehensive, enhanced version of the Sybex CCNA Study Guide provides certification candidates with the additional tools they need to prepare for this popular exam. With additional bonus exams and flashcards, as well as the exclusive CCNA Virtual Lab, Platinum Edition, this comprehensive guide has been completely updated to reflect the latest CCNA 640-802 exam. Written by Cisco Authority Todd Lammle, whose straightforward style provides lively examples, hands-on and written labs, easy-to-understand analogies, and real-world scenarios that will not only help you prepare for the exam, but also give you a solid foundation as a Cisco networking professional.
This Study Guide teaches you how to
Describe how a network works
Configure, verify and troubleshoot a switch with VLANs and interswitch communications
Implement an IP addressing scheme and IP Services to meet network requirements in a medium-size Enterprise branch office network.
Configure, verify, and troubleshoot basic router operation and routing on Cisco devices
Explain and select the appropriate administrative tasks required for a WLAN
Identify security threats to a network and describe general methods to mitigate those threats
Implement, verify, and troubleshoot NAT and ACLs in a medium-size Enterprise branch office network.
Implement and verify WAN links
On the CD-ROM:
Chapter Review Questions
Full-Length Practice Exams
Exclusive CD-only bonus material, including the CCNA Simulation Exam Practice Guide
All new Audio and Video Instruction from Todd Lammle
On the Bonus 2nd CD-ROM
The CCNA Virtual Lab, Platinum Edition. Users can work in a Cisco environment without having to spend the thousands of dollars on the pricy equipment.
Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
For Instructors: Teaching supplements are available for this title.
Call Number: 004.66076 LAM
Publication Date: 2011
CCNA Routing and Switching by Cisco has announced big changes to its certification program. As of February 24, 2020, all current certifications will be retired, and Cisco will begin offering new certification programs. The good news is if you're working toward any current CCNA certification, keep going. You have until February 24, 2020 to complete your current CCNA. If you already have CCENT/ICND1 certification and would like to earn CCNA, you have until February 23, 2020 to complete your CCNA certification in the current program. Likewise, if you're thinking of completing the current CCENT/ICND1, ICND2, or CCNA Routing and Switching certification, you can still complete them between now and February 23, 2020. Networking's leading authority joins Sybex for the ultimate CCNA prep guide CCNA Routing and Switching Complete Study Guide, 2nd Edition is your comprehensive review for the CCNA exams. Written by the leading authority on networking technology, this guide covers 100% of all objectives for the latest ICND1, ICND2, and CCNA Composite exams. Hands-on labs help you gain experience in critical procedures and practices. Gain access to the Sybex online learning environment, featuring a robust set of study tools including: practice questions, flashcards, video instruction, and an extensive glossary of terms to help you better prepare for exam day. The pre-assessment test helps you prioritize your study time, and bonus practice exams allow you to test your understanding. The CCNA certification is essential to a career in networking, and the exam can be taken in two parts or as a composite. Whichever you choose, this book is your essential guide for complete review. Master IP data network operation Troubleshoot issues and keep the network secure Understand switching and routing technologies Work with IPv4 and IPv6 addressing Full coverage and expert insight makes CCNA Routing and Switching Complete Study Guide your ultimate companion for CCNA prep.
Call Number: 004.66076 LAM + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Computer Networks 5th edn. by Appropriate for Computer Networking or Introduction to Networking courses at both the undergraduate and graduate level in Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, CIS, MIS, and Business Departments.
Tanenbaum takes a structured approach to explaining how networks work from the inside out. He starts with an explanation of the physical layer of networking, computer hardware and transmission systems; then works his way up to network applications. Tanenbaum's in-depth application coverage includes email; the domain name system; the World Wide Web (both client- and server-side); and multimedia (including voice over IP, Internet radio video on demand, video conferencing, and streaming media. Each chapter follows a consistent approach.
Tanenbaum presents key principles, then illustrates them utilising real-world example networks that run through the entire book--the Internet, and wireless networks, including Wireless LANs, broadband wireless and Bluetooth. The Fifth Edition includes a chapter devoted exclusively to network security.
Call Number: 004.6 TAN + eBook
Publication Date: 2013