Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Cyber-Security: Defence reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There are no essential texts recommended for this module.
The Mobile Application Hacker's Handbook by The Mobile Application Hacker's Handbook is a comprehensive guide to securing all mobile applications by approaching the issue from a hacker's point of view. Heavily practical, this book provides expert guidance toward discovering and exploiting flaws in mobile applications on the iOS, Android, Blackberry, and Windows Phone platforms. You will learn a proven methodology for approaching mobile application assessments, and the techniques used to prevent, disrupt, and remediate the various types of attacks. Coverage includes data storage, cryptography, transport layers, data leakage, injection attacks, runtime manipulation, security controls, and cross-platform apps, with vulnerabilities highlighted and detailed information on the methods hackers use to get around standard security.
Mobile applications are widely used in the consumer and enterprise markets to process and/or store sensitive data. There is currently little published on the topic of mobile security, but with over a million apps in the Apple App Store alone, the attack surface is significant. This book helps you secure mobile apps by demonstrating the ways in which hackers exploit weak points and flaws to gain access to data.
Understand the ways data can be stored, and how cryptography is defeated
Set up an environment for identifying insecurities and the data leakages that arise
Develop extensions to bypass security controls and perform injection attacks
Learn the different attacks that apply specifically to cross-platform apps
IT security breaches have made big headlines, with millions of consumers vulnerable as major corporations come under attack. Learning the tricks of the hacker's trade allows security professionals to lock the app up tight. For better mobile security and less vulnerable data, The Mobile Application Hacker's Handbook is a practical, comprehensive guide.
Call Number: 005.8 CHE + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
CEH V9 by Master CEH v9 and identify your weak spots CEH: Certified Ethical Hacker Version 9 Practice Tests are the ideal preparation for this high-stakes exam. Five complete, unique practice tests are designed to help you identify weak spots in your understanding, so you can direct your preparation efforts efficiently and gain the confidence--and skills--you need to pass. These tests cover all five sections of the exam, allowing you to test your knowledge of Assessment; Security; Tools and Systems; Procedures and Methodology; and Regulation, Policy, and Ethics. Coverage aligns with CEH version 9, including material on cloud, tablet, and mobile phone security and attacks, as well as the latest vulnerabilities including Heartbleed, shellshock, and Poodle. The exams are designed to familiarize CEH candidates with the test format, allowing them to become more comfortable reading a Wireshark .pcap file or viewing visual depictions of network attacks. The ideal companion for the Sybex CEH v9 Study Guide, this book is an invaluable tool for anyone aspiring to this highly-regarded certification. Offered by the International Council of Electronic Commerce Consultants, the Certified Ethical Hacker certification is unique in the penetration testing sphere, and requires preparation specific to the CEH exam more than general IT security knowledge. This book of practice tests help you steer your study where it needs to go by giving you a glimpse of exam day while there's still time to prepare. Practice all five sections of the CEH v9 exam Test your knowledge of security, tools, procedures, and regulations Gauge your understanding of new vulnerabilities and threats Master the material well in advance of exam day By getting inside the mind of a hacker, you gain a one-of-a-kind perspective that dramatically boosts your marketability and advancement potential. If you're ready to attempt this unique certification, the CEH: Certified Ethical Hacker Version 9 Practice Tests are the major preparation tool you should not be without.
Call Number: 005.8 ORI + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Web Application Hacker's Handbook by The highly successful security book returns with a new edition, completely updated Web applications are the front door to most organizations, exposing them to attacks that may disclose personal information, execute fraudulent transactions, or compromise ordinary users. This practical book has been completely updated and revised to discuss the latest step-by-step techniques for attacking and defending the range of ever-evolving web applications. You'll explore the various new technologies employed in web applications that have appeared since the first edition and review the new attack techniques that have been developed, particularly in relation to the client side. Reveals how to overcome the new technologies and techniques aimed at defending web applications against attacks that have appeared since the previous edition Discusses new remoting frameworks, HTML5, cross-domain integration techniques, UI redress, framebusting, HTTP parameter pollution, hybrid file attacks, and more Features a companion web site hosted by the authors that allows readers to try out the attacks described, gives answers to the questions that are posed at the end of each chapter, and provides a summarized methodology and checklist of tasks Focusing on the areas of web application security where things have changed in recent years, this book is the most current resource on the critical topic of discovering, exploiting, and preventing web application security flaws. Also available as a set with, CEHv8: Certified Hacker Version 8 Study Guide, Ethical Hacking and Web Hacking Set, 9781119072171.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 005.8 STU + 2011
Computer networks Fifth edition by Tanenbaum takes a structured approach to explaining how networks work from the inside out. He starts with an explanation of the physical layer of networking, computer hardware and transmission systems; then works his way up to network applications. Tanenbaum's in-depth application coverage includes email; the domain name system; the World Wide Web (both client- and server-side); and multimedia (including voice over IP, Internet radio video on demand, video conferencing, and streaming media. Each chapter follows a consistent approach.
Tanenbaum presents key principles, then illustrates them utilising real-world example networks that run through the entire book--the Internet, and wireless networks, including Wireless LANs, broadband wireless and Bluetooth. The Fifth Edition includes a chapter devoted exclusively to network security.
Call Number: 004.6 TAN + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Penetration Testing by Penetration testers simulate cyber attacks to find security weaknesses in networks, operating systems, and applications. Information security experts worldwide use penetration techniques to evaluate enterprise defenses. In Penetration Testing, security expert, researcher, and trainer Georgia Weidman introduces you to the core skills and techniques that every pentester needs. Using a virtual machine-based lab that includes Kali Linux and vulnerable operating systems, you'll run through a series of practical lessons with tools like Wireshark, Nmap, and Burp Suite. As you follow along with the labs and launch attacks, you'll experience the key stages of an actual assessment - including information gathering, finding exploitable vulnerabilities, gaining access to systems, post exploitation, and more. Learn how to: Crack passwords and wireless network keys with brute-forcing and wordlists Test web applications for vulnerabilities Use the Metasploit Framework to launch exploits and write your own Metasploit modules Automate social-engineering attacks Bypass antivirus software Turn access to one machine into total control of the enterprise in the post exploitation phase You'll even explore writing your own exploits. Then it's on to mobile hacking - Weidman's particular area of research - with her tool, the Smartphone Pentest Framework. With its collection of hands-on lessons that cover key tools and strategies, Penetration Testing is the introduction that every aspiring hacker needs.
Call Number: 005.8092 WEI + eBook
Publication Date: 2014