Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Platforms reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Computer Organization and Design by Computer Organization and Design, Fourth Edition, has been updated with new exercises and improvements throughout suggested by instructors teaching from the book.
It covers the revolutionary change from sequential to parallel computing, with a chapter on parallelism and sections in every chapter highlighting parallel hardware and software topics. It includes an appendix by the Chief Scientist and the Director of Architecture of NVIDIA covering the emergence and importance of the modern GPU, describing in detail for the first time the highly parallel, highly multithreaded multiprocessor optimized for visual computing. A companion CD provides a toolkit of simulators and compilers along with tutorials for using them, as well as advanced content for further study and a search utility for finding content on the CD and in the printed text. For the convenience of readers who have purchased an ebook edition or who may have misplaced the CD-ROM, all CD content is available as a download at bit.ly/nFXcLq.
This book is recommended for professional digital system designers, programmers, application developers, and system software developers; and undergraduate students in Computer Science, Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering courses in Computer Organization, Computer Design, ranging from Sophomore required courses to Senior Electives.
This Revised Fourth Edition of Computer Organization and Design has been updated with new exercises and improvements throughout suggested by instructors teaching from the book
Covers the revolutionary change from sequential to parallel computing, with a chapter on parallelism and sections in every chapter highlighting parallel hardware and software topics
Includes an appendix by the Chief Scientist and the Director of Architecture of NVIDIA covering the emergence and importance of the modern GPU, describing in detail for the first time the highly parallel, highly multithreaded multiprocessor optimized for visual computing
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Computer Organization and Design Arm edn. by The new ARM Edition of Computer Organization and Design features a subset of the ARMv8-A architecture, which is used to present the fundamentals of hardware technologies, assembly language, computer arithmetic, pipelining, memory hierarchies, and I/O. With the post-PC era now upon us, Computer Organization and Design moves forward to explore this generational change with examples, exercises, and material highlighting the emergence of mobile computing and the Cloud. Updated content featuring tablet computers, Cloud infrastructure, and the ARM (mobile computing devices) and x86 (cloud computing) architectures is included. An online companion Web site provides links to a free version of the DS-5 Community Edition (a free professional quality tool chain developed by ARM), as well as additional advanced content for further study, appendices, glossary, references, and recommended reading.
Call Number: 004.21 PAT
Publication Date: 2016
There are no recommended websites for this module.
There are no recommended journals for this module.
Digital Design and Computer Architecture by Digital Design and Computer Architecture is designed for courses that combine digital logic design with computer organization/architecture or that teach these subjects as a two-course sequence. Digital Design and Computer Architecture begins with a modern approach by rigorously covering the fundamentals of digital logic design and then introducing Hardware Description Languages (HDLs). Featuring examples of the two most widely-used HDLs, VHDL and Verilog, the first half of the text prepares the reader for what follows in the second: the design of a MIPS Processor. By the end of Digital Design and Computer Architecture, readers will be able to build their own microprocessor and will have a top-to-bottom understanding of how it works--even if they have no formal background in design or architecture beyond an introductory class. David Harris and Sarah Harris combine an engaging and humorous writing style with an updated and hands-on approach to digital design.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Modern Engineering Mathematics by This book provides a complete course for first-year engineering mathematics. Whichever field of engineering you are studying, you will be most likely to require knowledge of the mathematics presented in this textbook. Taking a thorough approach, the authors put the concepts into an engineering context, so you can understand the relevance of mathematical techniques presented and gain a fuller appreciation of how to draw upon them throughout your studies.
Call Number: 510.2462 JAM + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Professional Embedded ARM Development by A practical Wrox guide to ARM programming for mobiledevices With more than 90 percent of mobile phones sold in recent yearsusing ARM-based processors, developers are eager to master thisembedded technology. If you know the basics of C programming, thisguide will ease you into the world of embedded ARM technology. Withclear explanations of the systems common to all ARM processors andstep-by-step instructions for creating an embedded application, itprepares you for this popular specialty. While ARM technology is not new, existing books on the topicpredate the current explosive growth of mobile devices using ARMand don't cover these all-important aspects. Newcomers to embeddedtechnology will find this guide approachable and easy tounderstand. Covers the tools required, assembly and debugging techniques, Coptimizations, and more Lists the tools needed for various types of projects andexplores the details of the assembly language Examines the optimizations that can be made to ensure fastcode Provides step-by-step instructions for a basic application andshows how to build upon it Professional Embedded ARM Development prepares you toenter this exciting and in-demand programming field.
Call Number: 004.167 LAN + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Modern operating systems 4th ed. by Modern Operating Systems, 4th Edition, is intended for introductory courses in Operating Systems in Computer Science, Computer Engineering, and Electrical Engineering programs.
The widely anticipated revision of this worldwide best-seller incorporates the latest developments in operating systems (OS) technologies. The 4th Edition includes up-to-date materials on relevant OS. Tanenbaum also provides information on current research based on his experience as an operating systems researcher.
Call Number: 005.43 TAN + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Learning Computer Architecture with Raspberry Pi® by Use your Raspberry Pi to get smart about computing fundamentals In the 1980s, the tech revolution was kickstarted by a flood of relatively inexpensive, highly programmable computers like the Commodore. Now, a second revolution in computing is beginning with the Raspberry Pi. Learning Computer Architecture with the Raspberry Pi is the premier guide to understanding the components of the most exciting tech product available. Thanks to this book, every Raspberry Pi owner can understand how the computer works and how to access all of its hardware and software capabilities. Now, students, hackers, and casual users alike can discover how computers work with Learning Computer Architecture with the Raspberry Pi. This book explains what each and every hardware component does, how they relate to one another, and how they correspond to the components of other computing systems. You'll also learn how programming works and how the operating system relates to the Raspberry Pi's physical components. Co-authored by Eben Upton, one of the creators of the Raspberry Pi, this is a companion volume to the Raspberry Pi User Guide An affordable solution for learning about computer system design considerations and experimenting with low-level programming Understandable descriptions of the functions of memory storage, Ethernet, cameras, processors, and more Gain knowledge of computer design and operation in general by exploring the basic structure of the Raspberry Pi The Raspberry Pi was created to bring forth a new generation of computer scientists, developers, and architects who understand the inner workings of the computers that have become essential to our daily lives. Learning Computer Architecture with the Raspberry Pi is your gateway to the world of computer system design.
Call Number: 004.165 UPT + eBook
Publication Date: 2016