Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Project & Dissertation reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Owing to the diversity of potential projects, the essential reading for any student will vary according to the specialist topic covered by the project. Students should choose texts from the Recommended Reading list which are most relevant to their approach.
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Network Engineering & Software Engineering, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Doing Your Research Project 6th edn. by This is the market-leading book for anyone doing a research project for the first time. Clear, concise and extremely readable, this bestselling resource provides a practical, step-by-step guide from initial concept through to completion of your final written research report.
Thoroughly updated but retaining its well-loved style, this 6th edition provides:
A brand new chapter describing the benefits of using social media in research, including how to use blogs, sharing ideas on research community sites, crowdsourcing, LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook
Tips on using online tools such as Delicious, Mendeley, Dropbox, EndNote and RefWorks to manage and organize your research
Guidance on searching efficiently and effectively online using Google Scholar, Google Books and library databases and on correctly citing online sources
Advice on creating online surveys for your research project, plus new material on using Skype and Google Hangouts for online interviewing
To support your learning, each chapter contains introductory key points, "Dead End" boxes to warn of pitfalls, "Success" checklists and further reading sections.
This practical, no-nonsense guide is vital reading for all those embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study in any discipline, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education and health.
Call Number: STSK 001.42 BEL + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Planning and Implementing Your Final Year Project - With Success! by This book provides computing and information students with all the toolsthey need to successfully complete a final year research project. Based onan approach which has been tried and tested on over 500 projects, itoffers a simple step-by-step guide to the key processes involved:* Developing your project proposal* Developing the problem description* Following objectives* Presenting and analysing your data* Drawing conclusions* Presenting and defending your work* Preparing the final version of your reportAs well as being an essential purchase for students, it also contains lotsof useful information for supervisors and examiners including guidelineson how to review a final year project.
Call Number: 004.072 BER
Publication Date: 2002
The Research Project by Now in its fifth edition, this guide to project work continues to be an indispensable resource for all students undertaking research. Guiding the reader right through from preliminary stages to completion, The Research Project: How to write it sets out in clear and concise terms the main tasks involved in doing a research project, covering: choosing a topic using the library effectively taking notes shaping and composing the project providing footnotes, documentation and a bibliography avoiding common pitfalls. Fully updated throughout, this new edition features a chapter on making the most out of the Internet, from knowing where to start, to assessing the quality of the material found there. Other features include a model example of a well researched, clearly written paper with notes and bibliography and a chapter on getting published in a learned journal for more advanced researchers. Whether starting out or experienced in research, The Research Project: How to write it is an essential tool for success.
Call Number: STSK 808.02 BER + eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Research Methods in Education by This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
Call Number: 370.72 COH + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Project research in information systems; a student's guide. 2nd ed by Aimed at final year undergraduates and Masters students undertaking research projects in information systems, this text offers a blend of practical guidelines and conceptual insight that will help students to complete high quality projects. Covering the whole range of processes in project work, from choosing a project, through project management, the collecting and analyzing of research data and on to writing the project report, the book provides an authoritative and comprehensive guide to the subject.
Call Number: STSK 371.30281 COR
Publication Date: 2005
Doing a Successful Research Project by This is a straightforward, user-friendly guide on how to manage your research project successfully. It provides students with the self-discipline and the confidence to conduct their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from, and also the understanding required to identify the advantages and disadvantages of different strategies. In its second edition, this no-nonsense textbook contains further discussion of internet-based research methods, research ethics and more.
Call Number: STSK 001.42 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Introduction to Research Methods by This practical, down-to-earth guide is for researchers, students, community groups, charities or employees - in fact anyone who needs to put together research projects quickly and effectively. It contains everything from developing your idea into a proposal, through to analysing data and reporting results.
Whether you have to undertake a project as part of your coursework, or as part of your employment, or simply because you are fascinated by something you have observed and want to find out more, this book offers you advice on how to turn your ideas into a workable project.
Specifically it will show you how to:
- choose your research methods
- choose your participants
- prepare a research proposal
- construct questionnaires
- conduct interviews and focus groups
- analyse your data
- report your findings
- be an ethical researcher.
Contents: Preface; 1. How to Define Your Project; 2. How to Decide Upon a Methodology; 3. How to Choose Your Research Methods; 4. How to Conduct Background Research; 5. How to Choose Your Participants; 6. How to Prepare a Research Proposal; 7. How to Conduct Interviews; 8. How to Conduct Focus Groups; 9. How to Construct Questionnaires; 10. How to Carry Out Participant Observation; 11. How to Analyse Your Data; 12. How to Report Your Findings; 13. How to be an Ethical Researcher; Useful addresses; Index.
Call Number: 001.42 DAW + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Statistical Methods for Organizational Research by This clearly written textbook clarifies the concepts underpinning descriptive and inferential statistics in organizational research. Acting as much more than a theoretical reference tool, step-by-step it guides readers through the various key stages of successful data analysis.
Covering everything from introductory descriptive statistics to advanced inferential techniques such as ANOVA, multiple and logistic regression and factor analysis, this is one of the most comprehensive textbooks available. Using examples directly relevant to organizational research it includes practical advice on such topics as the size of samples required in research studies, using and interpreting SPSS, and writing up results.
In helping readers to develop a sound understanding of statistical methods, rather than focusing on complex formulas and computations, this outstanding textbook is as appropriate for those who wish to refresh their knowledge as those new to the subject area.
Call Number: 302.35 DEW + eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Experimental Design and Statistics by The distinguishing feature of experimental psychology is not so much the nature of its theories as the methods used to test their validity. The first edition of Experimental Design and Statistics provided a clear and lucid introduction to these methods and the statistical techniques which support them. For this new edition the text has been revised, the coverage of two-sample tests has been extended, and new sections have been added introducing one-sample tests, linear regression and the product-moment correlation coefficient.
Problems associated with the applications of experimental design and how to use observations of behaviour in research are key questions for all introductory students of psychology. This new and expanded edition provides them with an invaluable text and source.
Call Number: 150.72 MIL + eBook
Publication Date: 1984
Researching Information Systems and Computing by With everything readers need to know about how to execute their research project, this book is written specifically for information systems (IS) and computing students. It introduces key quantitative and qualitative research methods, makes sense of underlying philosophies, and helps readers navigate and assess existing academic papers. Special features support students as they bridge the gap between theory and practice. These include: - research examples from the IS and computing disciplines; - suggestions on how to build internet research into each method mentioned; - an explanation of how knowledge is created, drawing an analogy between this and the creation of software systems Throughout, readers are supported by pedagogical features such as learning objectives, explanations, discussion questions, evaluation guides and further reading.
Call Number: 004.72 OAT
Publication Date: 2005
Research Methods for Business Students by Research Methods for Business Students has been fully revised for this 7th Edition and continues to be the market-leading textbook in its field, guiding hundreds of thousands of student researchers to success in their research methods modules, research proposals, projects and dissertations.
Call Number: 658.072 SAU + eBook
Publication Date: 2016