Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks - Reference Management: Creating Bibliographies and Writing your Paper

Welcome to the RefWorks guide. This page will help you with creating bibliographies within RefWorks and writing your paper.

Need help?

Have questions regarding RefWorks?

Answers to questions about referencing can be found here.  If you need further help please book an appointment with an appropriated adviser here.

You can contact learning services by email learningservices@uos.ac.uk

Creating a Bibliography 

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon A screenshot of the create bibliography icon

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

A screenshot of the expanded create bibliography menu.

Next, search for your output style and select it.  Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.

A screenshot of the output style menu, with a box highlighting the drop-down menu of styles.

To use a custom output style from your RefWorks account, click here.