Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
As well as keeping up with your studies using the resources available online, remember to look after yourself. Below is a link to Mind, who have set up a page all about looking after your wellbeing during this time.
Coronavirus: Finding the Facts
Coronavirus: Finding the Facts
There is so much information available about Coronavirus (COVID-19), but where can you find reliable trustworthy information?
We have put together a few trusted sources for you to use. And remember, always be critical of information you read, especially online and if it is not from one of these official sources.
NHS Coronavirus Information
This is the official NHS page for information about the virus. It includes information on how to avoid catching the virus, symptoms up-to-date advice on what you should do if you think you may have it.
Coronavirus: UK Government Response
For up-to-date, official government information on their response to the virus, take a look at this page. It details information about self-isolation and social distancing, travel and updates on any new advice from the government,
World Health Organization Coronavirus Page
Updates and advice on the global situation from the WHO.
Public Health England: Finding the evidence: Coronavirus
Designed for use by healthcare professionals, this page signposts to a range of open access resources that have been promoted by different groups including National Library of Medicine Disaster Information Management Research Center, Erasmus MC, Cambridge University, Bedford Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Evidence Aid, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.
Coronavirus Misinformation Tracking Center
Check your information here. This new site lists all the news and information sites in the U.S., the U.K., France, Italy, and Germany that they have so far identified as publishing materially false information about the virus.
Emerald Publishing: Coronavirus, the management of epidemics and the wider impact on society
We have brought together a number of freely available research resources related to the Coronavirus group of viruses, and epidemics more broadly.
We are making these resources freely available to access. Whilst these materials do not only relate to the current clinical challenges of COVID-19, they may provide relevant context to how the world reacted to other previous Coronavirus outbreaks, notably SARS.
In addition, this content explores the wider impact on society and includes research on healthcare, education, homeworking, SCM and tourism.
We have guides available to help you with using our different online resources and that take you through important search skills for your studies.
Search with Summon Guide
Tips for using Summon, our online discovery tool.
Information Skills Guide
This guide provides information and support that will help you find important resources you will be expected to use during your university study
Using E-resources Guide
This guide provides help and information about our eResources, including how to use them and answers to some commonly asked questions.
Using eBooks Guide
This guide provides information about our eBooks and answers to commonly asked questions.
If you're having trouble accessing any online resources, take a look at the help in this guide.
Brush up on your online search skills with these eBooks.
Expert Internet Searching by
In an environment where increasing amounts of information (and fake news) flood the internet on websites and social media, the information professional's job is getting harder. It is important that they are skilled at finding and using the appropriate information and assisting users in working out what information they need and the best way of getting it. Expert Internet Searching provides library and information professionals with in-depth practical information on how to search the internet quickly and effectively to help their users and make their lives easier. Now fully revised for its fifth edition, this book covers the basics of search before going into detail on how to run advanced and complex searches using a variety of different search engines. This edition has been updated to include current trends in search, such as social media search, fake news, and discussion of the authority and validity of search results. It will ensure that information professionals, whether complete beginners or more experienced, are able to work efficiently to obtain accurate information in a timely fashion. Key topics covered include: an introduction to the internet and search engines; the Google experience and a discussion of its disadvantages; directory, clustering and similarity search engines; visual and image search engines; specialized search engines incorporating academic search and services for children; academic and other specialized search engines; news-based search engines including traditional media resources and a discussion of fake news; social media search engines; and hints and tips on better searching. This book will be useful reading for any information professional who is seeking to gain an in-depth understanding of the search process and the search industry. It provides a vital guide to the basics in search, but will also help experienced professionals stay up to date with the latest trends and information in the industry.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017-08-31
We will be moving our workshops online, and have upcoming webinars from some of our online resource providers to help you make the most out of their products. Find out what's coming up on the calendar below.