Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Acute and Critical Care Practice in Context (Cardiology Pathway) reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Evidence-Based Coronary Care by All junior doctors and, in particular, trainee cardiologists will at some point in their training be involved in managing acute coronary syndromes and other cardiac emergencies. This handbook sets out the recognized clinical steps to take and backs them up with an analysis of the evidence supporting these decisions. EVIDENCE-BASED CORONARY CARE will provide junior doctors with the answers they seek when dealing with difficult clinical situations. Evidence-based medicine is still very topical, and this book will adopt a similar style to James: EVIDENCE-BASED OBSTETRICS in setting out the clinical management plan on the verso page and the evidence supporting that plan on the recto page.
Call Number: 616.12 CON
Publication Date: 2001
Cardiac Nursing by This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It is a comprehensive reference text which covers all areas of cardiac care that nurses need to know about. As well as the clinical conditions and syndromes, it covers health promotion and rehabilitation. Nursing care in relation to a variety of specific conditions is discussed together with current changes and management in cardiac care provision. Contributions come from clinical experts across the sub-specialties, and the book is richly illustrated including a colour plate section. Content completely revised and updated including the latest evidence base and clinical guidelines. Three new chapters on: hypertension, physiological assessment and palliative care. Additional material on Evolve including heart sounds for clinical assessment and useful web links.
Call Number: 616.12 HAT
Publication Date: 2008
Comprehensive Coronary Care by The new edition continues to be a practical, easy to understand, and up to date resource for managing coronary disease. It not only encompasses modern cardiology practice, but also considers how the patient came to arrive on coronary care, and what will happen them after they leave. The combined authorship of doctor and nurse reflects the close teamwork vital to the management of both patients and their families. Management of the cardiac patent is a complex process and this book has a clear approach conveying the necessary information in an easily understood way. It also has an excellent evidence base to ensure best practice and should appeal to staff in every cardiac unit. Up to date coverage of a rapidly developing field Offers a multi-disciplinary approach to coronary care Easy to read and therefore easily understood Research/evidence based content ensures best practice Adds material that reflects the growing literature on nurse-lead approaches to chest pain assessment, defibrillation, thrombolysis and specialist clinics (heart failure and dysrhythmias). Updates content in line with the latest guidelines from various medical bodies.
Call Number: 616.123 JOW
Publication Date: 2007
Drugs for the Heart by Drugs for the Heart presents highly portable, up-to-date information on every drug class used to treat cardiovascular disease. Drs. Lionel H. Opie and Bernard J. Gersh put the latest dosages, interactions, indications and contraindications, side effects, and more at your fingertips, equipping you to make effective clinical decisions on behalf of your patients Quickly check when to use each drug for any condition with the popular "Which Drug for Which Disease" chapter. Get expert advice from the practice-proven experience of two well-known editors who represent the best possible combination of clinical and research expertise in cardiovascular therapeutics. Expedite your reference with summaries of each drug class at the end of chapters. Carry it with you anywhere thanks to a highly compact, pocket-sized format. Navigate the latest pharmacologic advances through coverage of the newest drugs and drug classes, as well as all the latest clinical trial results and evidence used to treat heart disease. Effectively manage comorbid diseases. Apply international insights into cardiac drugs, thanks to new global contributors. Visualize key pharmacologic and physiologic actions thanks to dynamic new full-color drawings. Access the complete contents online at Expert Consult, with regular online updates posted by leading cardiologist, Dr. Opie. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
Call Number: 615.71 OPI
Publication Date: 2013
Coronary Care Manual by A comprehensive coronary care textbook for medical, nursing and paramedic staff The Coronary Care Manual, 2nd Edition is a practical medical manual designed to assist with management of the acute coronary patient. This respected medical resource is written by a group of coronary experts, both Australian and international. Its aim is to strike a balance between a large and rapidly-changing evidence base and practical application in the Coronary Care Unit, Intensive Care Unit, Emergency Department and the ambulance. The second edition of this important health textbook covers an extensive range of coronary care medicine, providing a handy companion for a night 'on call'. Chapter topics in the Coronary Care Manual, 2nd Edition include pathophysiology, drug and non-drug therapies and postcoronary management, with chapters organised into subsections. Completely redesigned with fresh, new artwork, this new edition of the Coronary Care Manual is organised to suit academics and medical practitioners alike. . covers a broad range of coronary care medicine . provides specific advice on the management of common clinical problems . eliminates the need to refer to a larger reference book . features a consistent style and focus, with standardised artwork for figures . is now also available as an eBook! A code inside the Coronary Care Manual enables a full text download, allowing you to browse and search electronically, make notes and bookmarks in the electronic files and highlight material
Call Number: 616.12306 THO + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Critical Care Nursing by An essential practical guide to all nurses working in intensive care.The second edition of this popular textbook encompasses the knowledge, skills and expertise employed in nursing the critically ill patient. It highlights the priorities of care and the principles of management in a range of problems common in the ICU. The reader will benefit from the strongclinical foundation and the high level of expertise of the authors. Emphasis is placed on the nursing aspects of a multi-disciplinary approach to caring for the critically ill patient.The structure of the book allows new students to understand the physiology underlying the patient's condition before concentrating on the priorities of interventions and nursing care.
Call Number: 616.028 ADA
Publication Date: 2005
Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient by Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient sets out the principles and practices needed for early recognition and assessment of patients either at risk of or showing signs of acute deterioration, or those recently relocated from higher levels of care. The focus is on patient assessment, interpretation and evaluation of data, immediate management of significant problems, ongoing and further assessments in order to improve clinical outcomes. Rapid Assessment of the Acutely Ill Patient provides a framework for a systematic initial patient assessment and explores principles of effective assessment. Body systems are considered in order of life-threatening priority following the ABCDE approach, dealing with the assessment and management of airway, breathing, circulation, disability - and everything else; covering topics such as visual, palpatory and auscultatory assessment, use of additional documented information (charts, notes etc), and interpreting diagnostic investigations. Methods to ensure effective communication and team-working are also discussed. Key features Part of the Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses series Aimed at nurses working in wards and specialist departments Explores the assessment skills required for a rapid response to a patient at risk of becoming acutely unwell Enables students and practitioners to develop practical and interpretative skills Provides a framework for assessment and principles of first line treatment Includes ?Look?, ?Listen?, ?Feel? and ?Measure? icons Sheila Adam is Head of Nursing, Specialist Hospitals Board, UCL Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and author of Nursing in Critical Care: Science and Practice (now in its 2nd edition), The Oxford Handbook of Critical Care Nursing and Nutrition in the Critically Ill. John Welch is Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, and former Chair of the National Outreach Forum. Mandy Odell is Nurse Consultant in Critical Care, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust, Nurse and Allied Health Professional representative for the Intensive Care Society and former Chair of the British Association of Critical Care Nurses.
Call Number: 616.075 ADA + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Nursing the Acutely Ill Adult by Nurses in all areas of clinical practice must be able to recognise, assess and manage changes to a patient's condition. With a strong focus on pathophysiology, the comprehensive new edition of this essential textbook retains the case study approach that made the first edition so popular with students and educators alike. Offering further reading resources and definitions of key terms to aid learning it develops nurses' key skills such as identifying and explaining the pathophysiology of sepsis; recognising and managing hypovolaemic shock; assessment and management of cardiovascular, neurological and traumatic injury; and understanding priorities in initial stroke assessment and management, including nursing care following administration of a thrombolytic drug. Written by contributors from a range of clinical and academic backgrounds, Nursing the Acutely Ill Adult is essential reading for all students within the adult branch of nursing, a comprehensive book guide to understanding the common signs and symptoms related to serious acute illness in adults.
Call Number: 616.028 CLA
Publication Date: 2016
Physiology and Anatomy for Nurses and Healthcare Practitioners by The third edition of Physiology and Anatomy for Nurses and Healthcare Practitioners: A homeostatic approach presents homeostasis as a dynamic concept that provides the basis for understanding health and well-being. It recognises how failure to respond to homeostatic disturbances results in imbalances responsible for signs and symptoms of ill-health, and describes how healthcare interventions seek to reverse those imbalances. Accompanied by colour illustrations and a description of related anatomy, the book provides an integrated explanation of body functioning. It discusses the organisation of the human body, main features and processes that must be controlled for health, the organ systems that act as homeostatic regulators, and effectors of homeostatic regulation. It also discusses influences on homeostasis and provides case studies that place examples of ill health and health care into the context of homeostasis. Features of the third edition include: An overview of microbiology and principles of infection management Expanded information on pharmacological principles and actions of the major classes of drugs Expanded discussion on physiological functions in relation to specific pathologies Updates on how the Human Genome project has impacted healthcare Additional case studies to illustrate the healthcare provider¿s role as an external agent of homeostatic control Photographs of common clinical conditions Access to an accompanying website with supplemental information An essential physiology and anatomy text, this book guides readers through the basic structure and functions of the body systems to more complex issues of clinical disorders and healthcare practice. Coverage includes the cardiovascular, lymphatic, nervous, endocrine, reproductive, and respiratory systems as well as skeletal muscle, embryo development, and circadian rhythms.
Call Number: 612 CLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Critical Care Nursing by This handy reference is perfect for nurses entering or needing a refresher in critical care nursing. The book presents the latest information on more 100 critical care disorders in the award-winning Incredibly Easy! style, with light-hearted humour, memory joggers, recurring icons to emphasize key points, and numerous quick-scan tables, illustrations, and flow charts. The Review of Adult Critical Care Nursing concluded that every critically ill patient should have skilled critical care nursing available, either to care directly for them or to advise on the care required to meet their needs. As a result, pre-registration curricula have been revised to ensure all nurses are exposed to critical care environments, and are competent in critical care skills. The systems-based approach matches the UK nursing curriculum, and stresses the team-based approach to critical care.
Call Number: 616.028 CUT
Publication Date: 2010
How to Read a Paper by The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Call Number: 610.73072 GRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The ECG Made Easy by For over forty years The ECG Made Easy has been regarded as the best introductory guide to the ECG, with sales of over half a million copies as well as being translated into more than a dozen languages. Hailed by the British Medical Journal as a "medical classic", it has been a favourite of generations of medical and health care staff who require clear, basic knowledge about the ECG. This famous book encourages the reader to accept that the ECG is easy to understand and that its use is just a natural extension of taking the patient's history and performing a physical examination. It directs users of the electrocardiogram to straightforward and accurate identification of normal and abnormal ECG patterns. A practical and highly informative guide to a difficult subject. Provides a full understanding of the ECG in the diagnosis and management of abnormal cardiac rhythms. Emphasises the role of the full 12 lead ECG with realistic reproduction of recordings. The unique page size allows presentation of 12-lead ECGs across a single page for clarity. A new opening chapter entitled 'The ECG made very easy' distils the bare essentials of using an ECG in clinical practice with minimal theory and maximum practicality. The second part explains the theory underpinning the recording of an ECG in order to start basic interpretation of the 12 leads. The third part looks at the clinical interpretation of individual ECGs in patients with chest pain, breathlessness, palpitations and syncope as well as understanding the normal variations in ECGs recorded from healthy subjects.
Call Number: 616.120754 HAM + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient by Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient is an invaluable,accessible guide to caring for critically ill patients on thegeneral ward. Now fully updated and improved throughout, thiswell-established and handy reference guide text assumes no priorknowledge and equips students and newly-qualified staff with theclinical skills and knowledge they need to confidently monitorpatients at risk, identify key priorities, and provide prompt andeffective care. This new edition includes the following five new chapters: Monitoring the critically ill child Monitoring the critically ill pregnant patient Monitoring the patient with infection and related systemicinflammatory response Monitoring a patient receiving a blood transfusion Monitoring pain
Call Number: 616.028 JEV + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by 'Christopher Johns is an internationally recognised pioneer of reflective practice in nursing and health care.' - Nursing Standard Becoming a Reflective Practitioner provides a unique insight into reflective practice, exploring the value of using models of reflection, with particular reference to Christopher Johns' own model for structured reflection. Now in its fifth edition, this book has been completely revised and updated to include up-to-date literature and reflective extracts. Contemporary in approach, this definitive text contains a variety of rich and insightful reflective extracts that support the main issues being raised in each chapter, and challenges practitioners and students to question their own practice. Now with further scenarios and case studies included throughout, these extracts provide the reader with access to the experience of reflective representation helping to explicate the way in which reflective practice can inform the wider notion of professional practice. With an increase in professional registration requiring reflective evidence, this new edition of Becoming a Reflective Practitioner is an essential guide to all those using reflection in everyday clinical practice.
Call Number: 610.73 JOH + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Critical Care Nursing by Fully revised and streamlined to include the most recent information, Critical Care Nursing: A Holistic Approach , 10e provides students with the theory and application knowledge necessary to fully prepare them for the highly specialized and complicated technical world of critical care nursing. These specially designed features assist students in providing competent and compassionate care to critically ill patients and their families: · NEW!! Evidence-Based Practice Highlights focus attention on the importance of research-based practice and include significant excerpts from AACN practice alerts as well as guidelines from other relevant organizations. · NEW!! Icons to identify drug therapy tables as well as laboratory and diagnostic tables focus attention on significant information. · NEW!! Spotlight on Genetics box, appearing in selected chapters, is key to understanding how genetic factors influence disorders. NEW!! Patient Safety boxes guide safe and effective practice by alerting the critical care nurse of risk factors, signs and symptoms, side effects, and complications. · Considerations for the Older Patient boxes highlight the special needs of the fastest growing part of our population - older patients. · Health History boxes summarize key areas that should be covered and relevant information that may be revealed during the health history. · Collaborative Care Guides, presented in a tabular format containing outcomes and interventions, describe how the health care team works together to manage a patient's illness and minimize complications. · Teaching Guides help the critical care nurse to prepare patients and family members for procedures, assist patients and family members with understanding the illness they are dealing with, explain post-procedure or postoperative activities, or prepare a patient for discharge from the hospital. · Nursing Diagnoses boxes use current NANDA terminology to summarize common nursing diagnoses for particular conditions. Nursing Interventions tables and boxes highlight key information for the critical care nurse
Call Number: 616.028 MOR
Publication Date: 2012
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by The 14th edition of the phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the standard for the discipline. The authors have maintained a superb balance between structure and function and continue to emphasize the correlations between normal physiology and pathophysiology, normal anatomy and pathology, and homeostasis and homeostatic imbalances. No other text and package offers a teaching and learning environment as rich and complete. WileyPLUS sold separately from text.
Call Number: 612 TOR
Publication Date: 2013