Welcome to your Pathophysiology and Pharmacology for Adult Nursing reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Porth's Essentials of Pathophysiology by Norris, T.L.Vital Disease Information for Your Success in Nursing Ready yourself for the realities of professional nursing practice with this proven approach to pathophysiology. Distilling need-to-know disease content in a clear, accessible format, Porth'sEssentials of Pathophysiology offers concise yet complete coverage of how the body works to help you establish the scientific foundation essential to success in your nursing career. Approachable presentation builds understanding from basic to advanced concepts and defines key terms as you progress. "Chunked" content--including Learning Objectives, Key Points boxes, and Summary Concepts sections--highlights critical points for reflection. Full-color illustrations clarify the clinical manifestations of diseases and disease processes. Review Exercises at the end of each chapter test your retention and identify areas for further study. References provide fast, efficient access to normal laboratory values in both conventional and SI units, as well as a comprehensive glossary. Narrated animations referenced by icons in the text and available online enhance your understanding of the most challenging and clinically relevant concepts.
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology for Nursing Students by Ashelford, S. ; Raynsford, J. ; Taylor, V.Carefully designed to provide an integrated introduction to both the biology of disease and the therapeutic agents that are used to manage them, this book considers the underlying pathology of many common illnesses and diseases but by focusing on those conditions which have a pharmacological intervention is able to provide nurses with a broader understanding of bioscience that reflects care given in practice. It covers the basics of pharmacology, the core pathological concepts of inflammation, infection and cancer as well as a systems-based consideration of the pathophysiology and relevant pharmacology of common disorders. Providing the ideal starting point for student nurses to develop a robust, integrated knowledge of human disease and pharmacology, this book will enable them to provide care based on up-to-date knowledge of this important subject.
Call Number: 615.1 ASH + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Essentials of Pathophysiology for Nursing Practice by Cook, N.; Shepherd, A.; Dunleavy, S.; McCauley, C.GIVING NURSES THE PATHOPHYSIOLOGY KNOWLEDGE TO THRIVE IN MODERN PRACTICECombining all the benefits of traditional textbook learning with additional videos and online resources that take you further. Using the person-centred practice framework as its guiding principle, the book explores the scientific principles that underpin health, illness and the main causes of disease. It covers specific disorders, including a new section on the pathology of Covid-19, and applies theory to practice throughout.Key features: See and learn: over 100 integrated video links providing insights and short explanations Full-colour diagrams and figures: all chapters supported by colourful, reader-friendly illustrations. Person-centred bioscience: a fictional family woven through the book encourages students to think holistically about pathophysiology and consider the lived-experiences of different conditions and illnesses. Online resources: access to online materials for lecturers and students, including multiple choice questions, video links, flashcards, a lecturer test bank, image bank and a media teaching guide.
Publication Date: 2022
Understanding Pathophysiology by Huether, S. ; McCance, K.Master the important pathophysiology concepts you need to know with the most engaging and reader-friendly text available. Filled with vibrant illustrations and complemented by online resources that bring pathophysiology concepts to life, Understanding Pathophysiology, 6th Edition continues its tradition of delivering the most accurate information on treatments, manifestations, and mechanisms of disease across the lifespan, giving you the fundamental knowledge needed to move forward in your nursing education and career. New additions include a new chapter on epigenetics, new content on rare diseases, a separate chapter for male and female reproductive alterations, streamlined features, simplified language, and fully updated information throughout. Introduction to Pathophysiology in the front matter section provides intro to the subject of pathophysiology and explains why it is important. Consistent presentation helps readers better distinguish pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment for each disease. More than 1,000 high-quality illustrations vividly depict clinical manifestations and cellular mechanisms underlying diseases. Lifespan coverage details age-specific conditions affecting pediatric, adult, and aging patients in depth. Algorithms throughout the text clarify disease progression. Risk Factor boxes alert readers to important safety considerations associated with specific diseases. Health Alert boxes highlight new developments in biologic research, diagnostic studies, preventive care, treatments, and more. Quick Check boxes test readers' retention of important chapter concepts. Geriatric Considerations boxes and Pediatric Considerations boxes highlight key considerations for these demographics in relevant chapters. Did You Understand? sections provide a fast and efficient review of chapter content. Chapter outlines help readers find specific information with ease. Chapter introductions explain why chapter content is important and how it fits into a broader health care context. Key terms are bolded throughout the text for fast, easy reference. Glossary of selected terms familiarizes readers with the most difficult or important terminology. Additional online resources on Evolve companion website offers access to animations, review questions, key terms matching exercises, and more. NEW! Chapter on Epigenetics gives students knowledge and insight into key processes that influence normal and abnormal cell growth and development. NEW! Streamlined tables and flowcharts make information easier to access. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest clinical findings and research across the full spectrum of pathophysiology. NEW! Additional content on rare diseases gives students a more comprehensive understanding of conditions that affect the human body. NEW! Division of Alterations of the Reproductive Systems chapter will now cover male and female reproductive systems in separate chapters. NEW! 25 additional illustrations bring key concepts to life.
Call Number: 616.07 HUE + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 15th Edition by Katzung, B. G.The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Call Number: 615.1 KAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Pathophysiology by McCance, K.L.; Huether, S.E.With easy-to-read, in-depth descriptions of disease, disease etiology, and disease processes, Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children, 7th Edition helps you understand the most important and the most complex pathophysiology concepts. More than 1,200 full-color illustrations and photographs make it easier to identify normal anatomy and physiology, as well as alterations of function. This edition includes a NEW Epigenetics and Disease chapter along with additional What's New boxes highlighting the latest advances in pathophysiology. Written by well-known educators Kathryn McCance and Sue Huether, and joined by a team of expert contributors, this resource is the most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text available! Over 1,200 full-color illustrations and photographs depict the clinical manifestations of disease and disease processes - more than in any other pathophysiology text. A fully updated glossary includes 1,000 terms, and makes lookup easier by grouping together similar topics and terms. Outstanding authors Kathryn McCance and Sue Huether have extensive backgrounds as researchers and instructors, and utilize expert contributors, consultants, and reviewers in developing this edition. Chapter summary reviews provide concise synopses of the main points of each chapter. Consistent presentation of diseases includes pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment. Lifespan content includes ten separate pediatric chapters and special sections with aging and pediatrics content. Algorithms and flowcharts of diseases and disorders make it easy to follow the sequential progression of disease processes. Nutrition and Disease boxes explain the link between concepts of health promotion and disease. EXTENSIVELY Updated content reflects advances in pathophysiology including tumor biology invasion and metastases, the epidemiology of cancer, diabetes mellitus, insulin resistance, thyroid and adrenal gland disorders, female reproductive disorders including benign breast diseases and breast cancer, and a separate chapter on male reproductive disorders and cancer. NEW! Chapter on epigenetics and disease. Additional What's New boxes highlight the most current research and clinical development.
Call Number: eBook + 616.07 MCC
Publication Date: 2014
Pathophysiology for Nurses at a Glance by Nair,M.; Peate, I.Everything you need to know about Pathophysiology... at a Glance! From the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series, and from the authors of the successful Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology textbook comes the ideal revision guide for all the key diseases and conditions that nursing and healthcare students need to be aware of. Combining superb illustrations with accessible and informative text, this book is perfect for all nursing and healthcare students, and anyone who is looking for an overview of pathophysiology. Pathophysiology for Nurses at a Glance covers all the key diseases and disease processes affecting each body system, and key concepts encountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing or healthcare course. Key features: Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout Written specifically for nursing and healthcare students with all the information they need Self-assessment questions provided for each chapter Pathophysiology for Nurses at a Glance is ideal for nursing and healthcare students as well as qualified practitioners, providing a comprehensive yet accessible overview of human pathophysiology.
Call Number: 616.047 NAI
Publication Date: 2015
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance by Neal, M.J.Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is recognised as an excellent starting point for pharmacology study. This international best-seller is the perfect companion for all medical and health students, providing an accessible, visual overview of pharmacology. This 8th edition has been extensively updated, especially in the areas of anaesthetics, drugs used in AIDs, cardiovascular drugs, drugs used in anxiety, depression and schizophrenia, urological drugs, drug metabolism, as well as practical concerns such as drug indications and side effects. Ideal for USMLE and pharmacology exam revision, Medical Pharmacology at a Glance features: * The basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption and excretion * Chapters based on diseases or syndrome, for efficient clinical learning * An emphasis on drug mechanisms * References to the pathophysiology of disease, to aid understanding of drug choice and action * Case studies with questions and full explanation of answers * A companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/pharmacology featuring online cases and flashcards
Call Number: 615.1 NEA
Publication Date: 2015
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by Rang, H.P.; Dale, M.M.; Flower, R.J.; Henderson, G.For 25 years, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has delivered the core basic and clinical science information required by students and healthcare practitioners worldwide. Authors H. P. Rang, J. M. Ritter, R. J. Flower, and G. Henderson have ensured that the 8th Edition of this easy-to-read, comprehensive text continues the tradition of excellence with new coverage of drugs affecting the skin and new components online at Student Consult. Get the essential pharmacology information you need from one authoritative source with an outstanding global reputation for excellence. Progress confidently through all relevant aspects of pharmacology, beginning with a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Find important content quickly thanks to a color-coded layout that enables easy navigation and cross-referencing. Master difficult concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes, and full-color illustrations throughout. Stay up to date with new information in the field, including an all-new chapter on drugs that affect the skin. Take advantage of new and unique features online, including 500+ chapter-specific multiple choice questions for immediate self-assessment. eBook version included! For the first time, you can access the entire book online or offline across all devices with the Student Consult eBook! Build your basic and clinical pharmacology knowledge with a comprehensive yet easy-to-use text