Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your L4 Person-Centred Care Reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Compassion, Caring and Communication by Compassion and caring are at the very heart of nursing ¿ possibly that¿s why you were attracted to the nursing profession in the first place. But what does compassionate caring really mean in nursing practice? Compassion, Caring and Communication: Skills for Nursing Practice is a practical book that guides you through the complex dimensions of caring. It considers the ways in which you connect with patients, families and co-workers, and the long-lasting impact of emotions and feelings. Using real-life narratives, case studies and reflection activities, the authors demonstrate how you can develop and maintain the empathy and communication skills you need to create effective, compassionate and caring partnerships. New to the second edition: Comprehensively updated throughout to reflect and highlight current professional pressures and public concerns around nursing practice. Includes a broader range of relevant case studies, discussions and scenarios to engage students and qualified nurses at all levels. Contains new content about the impacts of recent government reports and policies on nursing care, developing an awareness of contemporary issues and debates. The BOND caring framework has been revised and updated alongside new ¿caring indicators¿, to support the development of compassionate caring skills. All references have been updated using the latest sources and evidence-based studies.
Call Number: 610.730699 BAU + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Shared Decision Making in Health Care by Over the past decade health care systems around the world have placed increasing importance on the relationship between patient choice and clinical decision-making. In the years since the publication of the second edition of Shared Decision Making in Health Care, there have been significantnew developments in the field, most notably in the US where "Obamacare" puts shared decision making (SDM) at the centre of the 2009 Affordable Care Act.This new edition explores shared decision making by examining, from practical and theoretical perspectives, what should comprise an effective decision-making process. It also looks at the benefits and potential difficulties that arise when patients and clinicians share health care decisions. Writtenby leading experts from around the world and utilizing high quality evidence, the book provides an up-to-date reference with real-word context to the topics discussed, and in-depth coverage of the practicalities of implementing and teaching SDM.The breadth of information in Shared Decision Making in Health Care makes it an essential resource for policy-makers and health care workers. As health care systems adapt to increasingly collaborative patient-clinician care frameworks, this will also prove a useful guide to SDM for clinicians of alldisciplines.
Call Number: 616 ELW
Publication Date: 2016
Person-Centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care by Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care is a comprehensive and practical resource for all nurses and healthcare practitioners who want to develop person-centred ways of working. This second edition which builds on the original text Person Centred Nursing, has been significantly revised and expanded to provide a timely and topical exploration of an important subject which underpins all nursing and healthcare, edited by internationally renowned experts in the field. Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care looks at the importance of person-centred practice (PCP) from a variety of practice, strategic, and policy angles, exploring how the principles of PCP underpin a variety of perspectives, including within leadership and in the curriculum. The book explores not only a range of methodologies, but also covers a variety of different healthcare settings and contexts, including working within mental health services, acute care, nursing homes, the community, and working with children and people with disabilities. Key features: Significantly updated and expanded since the previous edition, taking into account the considerable changes in recent health care advancements, including the 'Francis' report Builds on previous perspectives of person-centredness in nursing and applies them in a broader nursing and health care context Includes a stronger exploration on the role of the service-user Shows the use of life-story and narrative approaches as a way of putting the individual's identity at the heart of the care relationship Includes learning features such as links to current practice developments and reflective questions
Call Number: 610.6 MCC + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Foundations of Nursing Practice by This second edition of Foundations of Nursing Practice has been revised and updated specifically to meet the needs of nursing students in all fields of practice The book explains how and why sensitive, safe, evidence-based holistic nursing care is carried out, including topics common to all fields of practice. Core nursing skills are emphasised to reflect the importance of clinical skills as well as the underpinning theory. Aids to learning in each chapter: Learning outcomes Interactive boxes for all age groups and fields of nursing practice Key words and phrases for literature searching Useful websites, references and further reading. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to nursing that will meet the needs of students, nurses returning to practice, mentors and other registered nurses. Relevant to all branches of nursing settings: infants, children, adults, pregnant women, older people and people with a learning disability or mental health problems Themes relevant to all stages and fields of nursing practice include safety, infection prevention and control, managing stress, communication, managing wounds and pressure ulcers, and dealing with loss Scenarios develop the skills of evidence-based practice, critical thinking, reflection and health promotion, and encourage further learning The areas of psychology, sociology, physiology and pathology are clearly related to nursing practice Key principles of health promotion, the law and ethics, the human lifespan and development are explained in earlier chapters, then applied in later chapters Cultural diversity information helps with understanding the needs of people from different backgrounds Person-centred approach encourages problem solving and application to practice Evidence-based practice is explicit throughout, and best-practice guidelines underpin exploration/explanation of nursing care. Easy-reference Glossary at the back of the book. Meets the requirements of the new pre-registration nursing curriculum including the NMC (2010) competencies and Essential Skills Clusters Greater emphasis on safeguarding vulnerable people, maternal health and first aid Self-test questions with answers available on accompanying website.
Call Number: 610.73 BRO
Publication Date: 2013
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. Now in its third edition, Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it's facing. Other topics include: Health, illness and religious beliefs; Mental health and culture; Women's and men's health in a multicultural society; Caring for the elderly; Death and bereavement. Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice; Fully updated with guidelines for practice and education. amp;lt;/UL> Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice; Fully updated with guidelines for practice and education.
Call Number: 610.730941 HOL + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Spirituality in Nursing by Spirituality in Nursing: Standing On Holy Ground, Sixth Edition explores the relationship between spirituality and the practice of nursing. The text focuses on relevant topics in contemporary nursing such as the spiritual history of nursing, assessment of patient's spiritual needs as well as the nurse's role in spiritual care. The Sixth Edition also features three author developed theoretical models for nursing practice and an instrument to measure spiritual well-being, the 'Spiritual Assessment Scale.'
Call Number: 610.7301 OBR
Publication Date: 2017
Compassion and Caring in Nursing by 'Compassion, in its many manifestations, is the key to rediscovering what lies at the heart of nursing practice all over the world. It is absolutely essential that nurses start to revisit compassion as a central focus for nursing practice...' This user-friendly book adopts a patient-centred approach to care. The challenging theories are grounded in practical applications, encouraging readers to recognise opportunities for change in their daily practice. The book focuses on six key concepts central to compassionate care: A*
Call Number: 610.73 CHA + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Transforming Clinical Practice Using the MindBody Approach by This book assumes that it is no longer tenable to work in healthcare without considering the person as a whole being constituted by a rich weaving of mind, body, culture, family, spirit and ecology. The MindBody approach embraces this 'whole.' But how does it transform clinical practice and training for the clinician and treatment for the patient/client? The book collects together the experiences from a diverse range of clinical practitioners (including psychotherapy, specialist medicine, general practice, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, dietetics, , nursing, and complementary and alternative medicine practitioners) who have deliberately chosen to integrate a MindBody philosophy and skill set in their clinical practices. All reflect deeply on their unique journeys in transforming their clinical encounters. Most have been trained in the dominant Western framework and have inherited the classical dualistic approach which typically keeps mind and body apart.
Call Number: 616.08 BRO
Publication Date: 2013