Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Holistic Assessment of adults in Specific Practice Settings reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module
Assessment Made Incredibly Easy! by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Assessment Made Incredibly Easy, 5e presents nursing assessment skills in the reader-friendly Incredibly Easy! format that makes learning fun. With an appealing 4-color interior and light-hearted humor throughout, the text provides the know-how nurses need to obtain pertinent health histories, perform physical examinations, and recognize normal and abnormal findings. Abundant full-color illustrations, charts, memory joggers, and other special features help nurses master assessment techniques and remember key information. The Practice Makes Perfect self-test includes updated NCLEX®-style questions with rationales for correct and incorrect answers. A companion Website offers ancillary materials, including an image bank, printable study cards, and numerous games newly added for this 5th edition.
Call Number: 616.075 ASS
Publication Date: 2012
Physiology and Anatomy for Nurses and Healthcare Practitioners by The third edition of Physiology and Anatomy for Nurses and Healthcare Practitioners: A homeostatic approach presents homeostasis as a dynamic concept that provides the basis for understanding health and well-being. It recognises how failure to respond to homeostatic disturbances results in imbalances responsible for signs and symptoms of ill-health, and describes how healthcare interventions seek to reverse those imbalances. Accompanied by colour illustrations and a description of related anatomy, the book provides an integrated explanation of body functioning. It discusses the organisation of the human body, main features and processes that must be controlled for health, the organ systems that act as homeostatic regulators, and effectors of homeostatic regulation. It also discusses influences on homeostasis and provides case studies that place examples of ill health and health care into the context of homeostasis. Features of the third edition include: An overview of microbiology and principles of infection management Expanded information on pharmacological principles and actions of the major classes of drugs Expanded discussion on physiological functions in relation to specific pathologies Updates on how the Human Genome project has impacted healthcare Additional case studies to illustrate the healthcare provider's role as an external agent of homeostatic control Photographs of common clinical conditions Access to an accompanying website with supplemental information An essential physiology and anatomy text, this book guides readers through the basic structure and functions of the body systems to more complex issues of clinical disorders and healthcare practice. Coverage includes the cardiovascular, lymphatic, nervous, endocrine, reproductive, and respiratory systems as well as skeletal muscle, embryo development, and circadian rhythms.
Call Number: 612 CLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Clinical Investigations at a Glance by Clinical Investigations at a Glance provides an up-to-date, evidence-based overview of diagnostic investigations, looking at their choice, importance and interpretation for commonly presenting symptoms and conditions. Designed to help develop the evidence-based use of investigations and interpret results properly, the book provides a unique perspective on many critical issues in medical testing, with the aim of improving diagnostic accuracy and reducing unnecessary tests or harm. Clinical Investigations at a Glance is structured in three parts: an overview of tests; common presentations (such as chest pain, nausea and vomiting, weight loss and anaemia,); and conditions organized by body system, such as cardiovascular disease, respiratory disease and nephrology. Key features include: * How to interpret investigations, using high quality illustrations to compare 'normal' and 'diseased' results * Evidence-based, including references * How to select the most appropriate investigation, the accuracy of tests and how to manage incidental findings
Call Number: 616.075 GLE
Publication Date: 2017
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Examination and Practical Skills by Fully updated and revised for its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Examination and Practical Skills is the only truly comprehensive pocket guide to all aspects of history taking, physical examination, practical procedures, data interpretation, and communication skills. Packed with expert knowledge and practical guidance it gives realistic advice on coping with common situations.nbsp;The handbook is structured to allow rapid reference of key information, and to aid understanding with concise and practical clinical guidance. Full colour throughout, it includes over 140 detailed photographs and diagrams of all common examination skills to show you exactly what you need to do and the theory, practice and complications for each. More photos have been included, with over half completely new and specially produced for this edition. Each system chapter covers applied anatomy, history, examination, and the presentation of common and important disorders. Data interpretation covers the basics of x-rays, ECGs and other key areas. A new chapter on the eyes is included along with the sections on body language and non-verbal communication, and the section on practical procedures has been expanded. This handbook will help to ensure you have the confidence and skill to carry out an 'A' grade examination every time.
Call Number: 616.075 THO
Publication Date: 2014