Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Principles of Advanced Healthcare Practice reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Advanced Practice in Healthcare by Advanced Practice in Healthcare outlines the key components of advanced practice in which healthcare professionals are engaged. With a clear skills focus, it explores issues critical to providing effective enhanced care to patients whilst managing and negotiating the complexities of the healthcare delivery system. Perspectives on advanced practice are illuminated throughout the text and are designed to promote the formation of new thinking in relation to practice, education and research. The text is comprised of three sections that address different aspects of advanced practice and these in turn: Provide guidance on the development of clinical skills, including consultation, clinical decision making, holistic care, and the role of care planning in advanced practice. Explain management skills and how to manage, negotiate and monitor the complexities of the healthcare system in order to ensure the delivery of quality patient care. Clarify the professional role of the advanced practice clinician and how implementation of the role can improve the delivery of patient care. In each chapter activities are presented that assist in the development, implementation and extension of advanced level practice. This text is especially relevant to nurses, midwives and allied health professionals practising within primary and secondary care who wish to advance their practice or clarify their roles within the context of advanced practice, particularly those undertaking masters level study.
Call Number: 610.737 COX + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Advanced Nursing Practice by Advanced Nursing Practice is a topical and emergent area of developing health practice, but as an area that is still developing it can also be seen as one of uncertainty. This authorative text provides helps understand ANP by offering a comprehensive overview of its evolution, including practice, theory and core concepts; and a wide review of the current clinical, strategic, educational and research developments in advanced practice. This is an essential resource for Advanced Nurse Practitioners, their educators and mentors, and is a valuable resource for undergraduate student nurses, registered nurses and service managers.
Call Number: 610.73 BAR
Publication Date: 2015
Professional Development, Reflection and Decision-Making in Nursing and Healthcare. 2nd edn. by This essential text brings together in one place the inextricably linked concepts of professional development, reflective practice and decision-making. Fully updated and revised throughout, the new edition of this easy-to-follow, jargon-free title is targeted at nursing and healthcare practitioners and nursing students, providing clear guidance to help the reader think critically about their practice, work within professional boundaries, be accountable for their actions, and plan for their future.
Call Number: 610.73 JAS + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Research for Advanced Practice Nurses by This book should provide graduate nursing students with the knowledge to evaluate research evidence and use it in practice. With the increasing focus on EBP, this book should serve as a useful resource." Score: 100, 5 stars. --Doody's This book would be useful for both graduate nursing students and practicing nurses."--Doody's Medical Reviews The second edition of this award-winning reference on formulating, achieving, and sustaining evidence-based practice (EBP) through clinical research updates all prior content and includes two new chapters on establishing and sustaining an evidence-based practice and environment, and how a research question drives the selection of research design, measurement, and analysis. Also featured are cutting-edge discussions of translational science and interprofessional research plus the contributions of several new authors. Designed for use by graduate students, clinical administrators, and managers and in DNP programs and in-service education, the text offers practical methods to translate evidence into practice by effectively using and appraising clinical studies. It presents research concepts in a clear, conversational tone and addresses the most current knowledge about how nurses can learn to formulate and achieve EBP as clinicians. From a single study to a meta-analysis, EBP concepts related to patient care are integrated throughout. Clinically relevant examples present ways students and staff can apply knowledge to daily clinical practice through the development, implementation, and evaluation of clinical protocols. Text boxes and web references reinforce information. Taken together, the content of the Second Edition will help the nursing profession in its move toward the forefront of institutional management, research, policy decisions, and ethical considerations√>=all to enhance safe patient care and health. The book also includes interactive PDF with fill-in, reusable templates, and is available in enhanced eBook format that includes audio/video Q & A. New to the Second Edition: Presents new content on translational science and inter-professional research. Updates all content from the first edition. Includes two new chapters on establishing and sustaining EBT and how a research question drives the selection of a research design, measurement and analysis. Presents the contributions of several new authors. Features psychosocial and physical data collection and analysis methods. Includes guidelines on evaluating research articles, including ethical components. Suggests strategies for establishing and sustaining an organizational evidence-based practice. Presents primary ways of evaluating cost as a dimension of evidence-based practice. Offers appendices with evidence-based practice activities and protocols, and a resource list of relevant websites. Features interactive PDF with fill-in, reusable templates. Available as enhanced eBook that includes audio/video Q & A
Call Number: 610.73072 MAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Advanced Practice in Nursing and the Allied Health Professions by Advanced Practice in Nursing and the Allied HealthProfessions enables nurses and members of allied healthprofessions to effectively diagnose and treat patients, in a widevariety of settings. It is especially relevant in regions whereaccess to other health providers is limited. This new, completely revised, third edition shows how advancedpractice continues to develop in response to the impact of healthservice reforms, the introduction of health policies aimed atdeveloping a patient-led service based in primary care and changesin working conditions. Advanced Practice in Nursing and theAllied Health Professions presents an examination of thepotential for advanced practitioners, at all levels, to have asignificant effect on the health of the population and provideholistic care for the sick. Practice is identified as the centraland most important feature of the advanced role in nursing andallied health professions. Advanced Practice in Nursing and the Allied HealthProfessions also considers: The development of advanced practice in nursing and the alliedhealth professions and the implications for future health andsocial care services; Challenging professional boundaries that hinder the provisionof care and pioneering innovation within a diverse society; The relationship between health policy and service reforms,current and future advanced roles; International developments in advanced practice; Leadership, management in relation to advanced roles; The responsibilities of advanced practitioners in meetinghealthcare needs in a diverse society; Educating advanced practitioners and tracking their careerdevelopment; The future possibilities for advanced practice and an agendafor research.
Call Number: 610.736 MCG + eBook
Publication Date: 2009