Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Nursing Theory 5: Preparing for professional practice reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module
Making Sense of Change Management by This definitive, bestselling text in the field of change management provides comprehensive guidance of everything needed to successfully navigate times of change. Making Sense of Change Management provides a thorough and accessible overview for students and practitioners alike. Without relying on assumed knowledge, it comprehensively covers the theories and models of change management and connects them to workable approaches and techniques that organizations of all types and sizes can use to adapt to tough market conditions and succeed by changing their strategies, structures, mindsets, leadership behaviours and expectations of staff and managers. This completely revised and updated fifth edition contains new chapters on digital transformation and becoming a sustainable business, new material on resilience, well-being and effective leadership, and new examples from organizations including Google, Burberry and Volvo. Supported by "food for thought" and "stop and think" features to aid critical thinking and understanding, as well as checklists, tips and helpful summaries, Making Sense of Change Management remains essential reading for anyone who is currently part of, or leading, a change initiative. New and updated accompanying online resources include international case study question packs for lecturers and lecture slides with reflective questions.
Call Number: 658.406 CAM
Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Organizations by Organizations are a part of everyday life, whether in schools, hospitals, police stations or commercial companies. In this classics text, Charles Handy argues that the key to successful organizations lies in a better understanding of the needs and motivations of the people within them. Understanding Organizations offers an extended 'dictionary' of the key concepts -- culture, motivations, leadership, role-playing, co-ordinating and consultation -- and then shows how this 'language' can help us find new solutions to familiar problems. Few management writers have been as consistently challenging and influential as Charles Handy. Firmly established as one of the core business texts, this book is essential reading for anyone interested in organizations and how to make them work better.
Call Number: 658.1 HAN
Publication Date: 1993
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management by Easy-to-read and understand coverage of the concepts essential to assuming leadership and management roles Comprehensive, practical advice on how to develop and sustain a successful nursing career Historical perspectives on nursing today Information on career mobility, advanced degrees, magnet status, practice levels, and professional organizations Beginning- and end-of-chapter case studies that promote clinical reasoning Content on evidence-based practice, situational leadership, staffing, diversity, and team building Self-assessment tools to identify personal strengths and empower the development of leadership skills Detailed information on the NCLEX exam Integrated coverage of Canadian nursing
Call Number: 362.173068 WEI + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Leadership in Health Care by The Fourth Edition of Leadership in Healthcare responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today and includes updated content to reflect the new guidelines set out in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards. The need for leadership in an everyday context is highlighted throughout the book with reference to both theory and practice. There are case studies, practical examples, reflective questions and even anecdotes from the authors′ own experience, showing students the potential and application of leadership. There are also activities that enable students to engage with every facet of leadership, as it connects to topics such as team-work, communication, problem-solving, emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Content updates in-line with the 2018 NMC Standards, the new NMC code, and Revalidation. The book is supported by online resources for both students and lecturers, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions.
Call Number: 362.1068 BAE
Publication Date: 2019
Leadership, Management and Team Working in Nursing by With all nurses expected to demonstrate leadership, management and team working skills it is vital that students engage with this aspect of their training as early as possible. As well as covering all of the core theory and knowledge, the authors encourage the reader to explore their own values and experiences when it comes to leadership that will help to develop emotional intelligence and a solid understanding of what good leadership and management practice looks like and why it matters to them. Key features: Written with the needs of student nurses firmly in mind with activities and case studies that bring theory to life Linked to the 2018 NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Provides practical guidance on the immediate challenges that the new nurse will face
Call Number: 362.173068 BAC
Publication Date: 2018
Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of Nursing Children and Young People by Nurses and healthcare professionals are constantly faced withethical and philosophical dilemmas when working with children ineveryday practice. Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of NursingChildren and Young People is a comprehensive text on the ethicsand philosophy behind paediatric nursing that reflects thecontemporary issues encountered while working with children andyoung people. The title provides a philosophical and historical analysisof the subject, looking at a review of sociological and politicaltheories concerning the nature of childhood, and providing acritical analysis of contemporary notions about childhood. It thengoes on to look at moral theories and their application topaediatric nursing practice, ethical issues when caring forchildren of all ages, from infancy to adolescence. It considersissues of disabled children, confidentiality, mental health issues,children's rights, and pain management. With case studies andactivities throughout, this book will enable students and newlyqualified nurses both to understand philosophical concepts andissues but also to articulate their own reflections andobservations on these subjects. Written by children's nurses for children's nurses With contributions from internationally recognised experts inthe field Reflective scenarios, further reading, extensive referencing,case studies, guided questions, and resources throughout Includes appendices on the RCPCH Guidelines onWithdrawal of Treatment, the ICN Ethical Code, the Summary of theUNCRC, and the RCPCH Guidelines for the Conduct of EthicalResearch
Call Number: 174.2 BRY + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Interprofessional working by This new edition of Interprofessional Working: An Essential Guide for Health and Social Care Professionals provides the underpinning theoretical and practical knowledge all undergraduate nursing and healthcare students will need to learn how to successfully communicate and work effectively as part of an integrated, interprofessional team. As part of the topical Nursing and Health Care Practice series, this highly accessible text offers a host of practice based, real-life scenarios to show theory in practice along with a real -life case studies, boxed features and new activities to develop critical thinking and understanding.
Call Number: 610.696 DAY + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
A Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health for Front-Line Professionals, Third Edition by This handbook provides a succinct introduction to child mental health, covering the nature, prevalence, treatment and management of mental health problems in children and young people. The authors explore a range of issues surrounding the emotional needs of young people, showing how specific problems such as ADHD and learning difficulties can be targeted, while also recognising diversity issues and paying particular attention to at-risk groups. This edition is updated to reflect current direction in services, cutting edge approaches to interventions in primary health care, teaching and social service settings, as well as incorporating children's views on what mental health means to them and the impact of social media. Setting out ways in which young people can be supported by all practitioners in primary care, and covering early years through to late adolescence, the authors have created an invaluable resource for any front-line practitioner working in this area.
Call Number: 618.9289 DOG
Publication Date: 2018
Leadership in Healthcare by Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, additional discussion questions, and web links. Today's healthcare leaders face constant challenge and change. Even as they cope with a rapidly evolving environment, they also must overcome existing obstacles inherent to running multifaceted operations. A solid value system will anchor leaders as they navigate these daily hurdles. This highly regarded book examines leadership through the lens of such values. It provides a comprehensive overview of leadership principles specific to the healthcare environment and explores both personal and team values that drive appropriate and effective behavior. Case studies, exercises, and self-assessment tools facilitate teaching, dialogue, and self-reflection. A valuable resource for seasoned practitioners and their leadership teams, the book is also used extensively in academic courses in leadership. Updates to this edition include: Expanded coverage of academic theories and popular approaches to leadership A new chapter articulating the need to identify and develop new types of leaders in healthcare A new chapter on the extensive work of researchers who have examined the impact of leadership on organizational outcomes Updated and expanded discussion of servant leadership, change makers, employee engagement, emotional intelligence, and groupthink Fresh examples and cases featuring clinical leaders, including both nurses and physicians
Call Number: 610.68 DYE + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Leadership and Management in Healthcare by Now in its Third Edition, this best-selling textbook continues to support you on your journey from being an emerging registered healthcare professional through to becoming a competent care manager. Action points, case studies and strong practice guidelines enable you to understand how leadership and management theory applies to the care you deliver in a wide range of care settings.Fully updated throughout, the new edition includes: More case studies and examples from a wide range of care settings and countries. New key topics such as dimensions of leadership, NHS Change Model, transition to registered practitioner and revalidation requirements, emotional intelligence and resilience. A companion website with access to further case studies, journal articles and web links. This book is essential for nursing, health and social care students taking modules on leadership, management and transition to practice in their final year, as well as for newly qualified professionals or those seeking to refresh their skills.
Call Number: 362.10684 GOP
Publication Date: 2017
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology by Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology introduces nursing and healthcare students to the pathophysiology of the child, and offers an applied full-colour visual approach throughout. Explaining the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology, it enables the reader to develop the understanding, knowledge, and skills required to know how to respond and provide safe and effective high-quality care to children and their families. Key features: Written by an experienced author team Filled with superb full-colour illustrations Packed with learning features, including key words, test-your-knowledge, exercises, further reading, and learning outcomes Includes case studies to help readers understand how to apply the knowledge in clinical practice Contains links to clinical observations, vital signs to look out for, investigations boxes, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, and medication alerts Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology is an ideal book for pre-registration nursing students, including child and adult nurses, as well as for all healthcare professionals who come into contact with children and their families.
Call Number: 618.92007 GOR + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Leadership and Nursing Care Management by Develop your management and leadership skills. Leadership and Nursing Care Management, 6th Edition maintains its AONE competencies, and features the most up-to-date, evidence-based blend of practice and theory related to the issues that impact nursing management and leadership today. A fresh, conversational writing style provides you with an easy-to-understand, in-depth look at these prevalent issues. Key topics include the nursing professional's role in law and ethics, staffing and scheduling, delegation, cultural considerations, care management, human resources, outcomes management, safe work environments, preventing employee injury, and time and stress management. UNIQUE! Chapters divided according to AONE competencies for nurse leaders, managers, and executives. Research Notes in each chapter summarize relevant nursing leadership and management studies and highlight the practical applications of research findings. Case Studies at the end of each chapter present real-world leadership and management situations and illustrate how key concepts can be applied to actual practice. Critical Thinking Questions at the end of each chapter present clinical situations followed by critical thinking questions that allow you to reflect on chapter content, critically analyze the information, and apply it to the situation. Full-color design and photos makes content more vivid. Updated! Chapter on the Prevention of Workplace Violence emphasizes the AONE, Joint Commission's, and OSHA's leadership regarding ethical issues with disruptive behaviors of incivility, bullying, and other workplace violence. Updated! Chapter on Workplace Diversity includes the latest information on how hospitals and other healthcare facilities address and enhance awareness of diversity. Updated! Chapter on Data Management and Clinical Informatics covers how new technology helps patients be informed, connected, and activated through social networks; and how care providers access information through mobile devices, data dashboards, and virtual learning systems.
Call Number: 362.173068 HUB
Publication Date: 2018
Mindful Leadership by Never has it been so important that aspiring leaders are quipped with the theoretical and practical know-how to drive forward health reform and ensure quality. This timely and exciting new text enables health care students and practitioners to become reflective and genuinely mindful leaders.
Call Number: 362.1068 JOH
Publication Date: 2015
Leadership roles and management functions in nursing by Help your students develop the skills they'll need on the job with today's #1 bestseller. Taking an active learning approach, this Ninth Edition emphasizes the symbiotic elements of leadership and management. All professional nurses today face limited resources and emerging technologies, and this book prepares students through up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of leadership and management concepts, ranging from managing conflict and working collaboratively to organizing patient care and staffing. Benefitting students who often have limited opportunities to observe high-performing middle- and top-level managers in practice, a variety of real-world scenarios are featured throughout and provide opportunities for hands-on learning. New to the Ninth Edition: More than 280 learning exercises (26 NEW to this edition) help students see how concepts can be applied in a wide range of practice situations and health-care settings. The variety of learning modes in the exercises gives students opportunities to apply theory, develop strong critical-thinking skills, and internalize learning. Updated Content Crosswalks--based on the latest AACN, AONE, QSEN, and, new to this edition, ANA standards and competencies--show how content in each chapter draws from or contributes to content identified as essential for baccalaureate and graduate education, for practice as a nurse administrator, and for safety and quality in clinical practice. Updated content on new trends/developments in health care includes the Affordable Care Act, meaningful EHR use, projected nursing shortages, and newer care delivery models focused on ambulatory care and outpatient settings. Expanded coverage of workplace topics includes whistleblowing, liability of supervision of unlicensed workers, bullying, incivility, mobbing, workplace violence, and the authority-power gap. Improved leveling in the test bank allows for better assessment of student progress
Call Number: 362.173068 MAR
Publication Date: 2017
Management and Organisational Behaviour by Now in its 11th edition Laurie Mullins's Management & Organisational Behaviour is the essential guide to OB for students today. Over half a million students have used this engaging and practically focused book as their introduction to the world of management and organisational behaviour, and it continues to evolve and improve to serve the needs of modern students.Using both theory and practical, real-world examples, the textbook considers how organisational performance can be improved through effective management of people. This unique approach to the subject enables students to relate Organisational Behaviour to Management in the broader social and cultural contexts.
Call Number: 658 MUL + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Clinical Judgement and Decision Making for Nursing Students 3rd edn. by Clinical decision-making is an indispensable facet of professional nursing care. It is essential that students develop sound decision-making skills in order to deal with the challenges they will encounter as registered nurses. This book enables preregistration nursing students to understand, develop, and apply these skills in order to practice safely and effectively. The structure of the book helps the student progress in effective decision-making right from the first to final year of their program. The book links theory to previous students' experiences and clinical scenarios to show how to use these skills in practice. Transforming Nursing Practice is a series tailor made for preregistration student nurses. Each book in the series is: Affordable Mapped to the NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters Focused on applying theory to practice Full of active learning features
Call Number: 610.73 STA + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing by For courses in nursing leadership and management in programs, including baccalaureate degrees in generic and BSN completion, and graduate-level nursing programs. The essential information and key skills nurses need to become effective managers and leaders More than ever before, today's rapidly changing, volatile healthcare environment demands highly developed management skills and superb leadership. Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing will help both practicing and student nurses manage successfully today, as well as into the future. This book combines practicality with conceptual understanding, tapping expertise of contributors from many relevant disciplines, especially healthcare management professionals. Updated to reflect the current state of healthcare, the 9th edition offers new or expanded coverage of the Affordable Care Act; evolving models of healthcare; cultural and gender diversity; quality management; emotional leadership; social media; harassing, bullying, and lack of civility in healthcare; emergency preparedness for terrorism, disasters, and mass shootings; and prevention of workplace violence. Two new chapters round out this award-winning text: "Understanding Legal and Ethical Issues" and "Imagining the Future." Also available packaged with MyLab(tm) Nursing or via Pearson eText. MyLab is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Pearson eText offers a simple-to-use, mobile, personalized reading experience that lets instructors connect with and motivate students - right in their eTextbook. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab, or via Pearson eText, ask your instructor to confirm the correct ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab, search for: 0134848640 / 9780134848648 Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing Plus MyNursingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 9/e Package consists of: 0134153111 / 9780134153117 Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing, 9/e 013476093X / 9780134760933 MyNursingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing, 9/e If you would like to purchase the Pearson eText version, search for: 0134873564 / 9780134873565 Pearson eText Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing -- Access Card, 9/e
Call Number: 362.173068 SUL
Publication Date: 2018