Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Games Research Methods reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Game Research Methods by "Games are increasingly becoming the focus for research due to their cultural and economic impact on modern society. However, there are many different types of approaches and methods than can be applied to understanding games or those that play games. This book provides an introduction to various game research methods that are useful to students in all levels of higher education covering both quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. In addition, approaches using game development for research is described. Each method is described in its own chapter by a researcher with practical experience of applying the method to topic of games. Through this, the book provides an overview of research methods that enable us to better our understanding on games."--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: 794.80721 LAN
Publication Date: 2015
Research Methodology by Designed with students, for students and now shortlisted for the British Book Design and Production Awards 2019! Eight steps, two pathways, one book. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project. Eight steps: Foolproof for any beginner researcher, the book breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into achievable stages. It delivers students from research problem to their written research report at the pace they need, with clear explanations, DIY tasks and study skills support. In a new landscape format it presents figures, models and visualizations elegantly, so they don′t break over a page, making even complex concepts easier to understand. Two pathways: With an innovative, beautiful design, regular progress checkpoints have been built into the book and its online resources. As students proceed through the 8 steps, each chapter provides regular opportunities for students to check understanding or give themselves a challenge. Each pathway then gives them the resources they need. Confused? Stop, practise with quizzes and flashcards, or use a video to look at a concept a different way. Up for a challenge? Access a wealth of additional material including research articles, readings, case studies, activities, bibliography tools and inspiration to pursue your curiosity, impress your lecturer, and nail your assignments. With this one book, every student gets what they need to succeed. It is the perfect essential text for students and beginner researchers across the social sciences.
Call Number: 300.72 KUM
Publication Date: 2019
Research Methods by Research Methods: The Basics is an accessible, user-friendly introduction to the different aspects of research theory, methods and practice. Structured in two parts, the first covering the nature of knowledge and the reasons for research, and the second the specific methods used to carry out effective research, this book covers: Structuring and planning a research project The ethical issues involved in research Different types of data and data quality Analysing and organising data to draw sound conclusions Writing up and displaying data in effective ways @text:Complete with a glossary of key terms and guides to further reading, this book is an essential text for anyone coming to research for the first time, and is widely relevant across the social sciences and humanities.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Writing for Science Students by Catering to the specific needs of science students, this award-winning guide will equip students of all scientific disciplines with the skills they need to communicate effectively in written assignments. The book guides students through each of the key stages involved in producing a piece of scientific writing. It begins by developing students' understanding of the different types of scientific writing, including lab reports, essays and abstracts. Students are then taken through the writing process, from the initial stages of interpreting the question and conducting research through to writing a draft and responding to feedback. This is an essential resource for all science students who are required to produce lab reports, extended essays, dissertations and other written assignments as part of their course. It is also ideal for international students who are new to academic study in the UK. Winner of the 2018 Academic Book Trade 'Book of the Year Award'.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Critical Thinking Skills by Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Call Number: STSK 370.152 COT + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Research Methods in Experimental Psychology by The Handbook of Research Methods in Experimental Psychologypresents a comprehensive and contemporary treatment of researchmethodologies used in experimental psychology. Places experimental psychology in historical context,investigates the changing nature of research methodology,experimental design, and analytic procedures, and features researchin selected content areas. Provides an excellent source of potential research ideas foradvanced undergraduate and beginning graduate students. Illustrates the range of research methodologies used inexperimental psychology. Contains contributions written by leading researchers. Now available in full text online via xreferplus, theaward-winning reference library on the web from xrefer. For moreinformation, visit www.xreferplus.com
Call Number: 150.724 DAV
Publication Date: 2005
Success in Academic Writing by Helps students to develop confidence, technique and clarity of purpose as a writer in their discipline. Takes the reader through the complete writing process from understanding the task through researching, reading and planning, to drafting and composing, reviewing and finalising their copy with many self-study exercises included throughout.
Call Number: 808.0428 DAY
Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Research Methods in Industrial and Organizational Psychology by Handbook of Research Methods in Industrial and Organizational Psychology is a comprehensive and contemporary treatment of research philosophies, approaches, tools, and techniques indigenous to industrial and organizational psychology. Only available research handbook for Industrial & Organizational Psychology. Contributors are leading methodological & measurement scholars. Excellent balance of practical and theoretical insights which will be of interest to both novice and experienced organizational researchers. Great companion to the content-oriented Handbooks. Now available in full text online via xreferplus, the award-winning reference library on the web from xrefer. For more information, visit www.xreferplus.com
Call Number: 158.7072 ROG
Publication Date: 2004
Reading at University by This concise and practical text will equip students with the effective reading strategies they need when preparing for their university assessments. It dispels assumptions often made about the nature of reading at university, and provides an overview of the culture of academic reading, note-making, and what markers expect. This text provides support for reading structured around the process of crafting an assignment, including reading critically and developing an academic voice.
Call Number: 378.170281 ROB
Publication Date: 2020
Presentation Skills for Students by This is the essential guide to the most transferable of all student skills: delivering a presentation clearly, coherently and confidently. Written in a friendly and accessible style, it takes the fear out of public speaking and helps students to acquire the skills they need to deliver effective presentations at university and in their future careers. Revised and updated throughout, it provides readers with practical guidance on controlling their nerves, creating visual aids and structuring presentations. This is an invaluable resource for students of all disciplines in further or higher education who have to give presentations as part of their course. It is also ideal for recent graduates looking to hone their presentation skills as they enter the job market.
Call Number: 808.51 VAN
Publication Date: 2016