Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Group Project reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development by Master the Unity Game Engine to Design and Develop Games for Web, Mobile, Windows, macOS, and More! If you want to design and develop games, there's no substitute for strong hands-on experience with modern techniques and tools--and that is exactly what this book provides. The first edition was frequently the top-selling game design book on Amazon, with more than 70% of the reviews being 5 stars. In a testament to the iterative process of design, this new edition includes hundreds of improvements throughout the text, all designed to make the book easier to understand and even more useful. This book was written with Unity 2017; the book.prototools.net website will cover changes for later versions of the software. Award-winning game designer and professor Jeremy Gibson Bond has spent more than a decade teaching game design and building great games. In that time, his most successful students have been those who combine knowledge of three critical disciplines: game design theory, rapid iterative prototyping, and practical programming. In this book, Bond distills the most important aspects of all three disciplines into one place. Part I: Game Design and Paper Prototyping * The Layered Tetrad framework: a synthesis of 50 years of game design theory * Proven practices for brainstorming and refining game designs through the iterative process of design * Methods and tools to manage game projects and small teams * Processes to make playtesting and feedback easier Part II: Digital Prototyping with Unity and C# * Chapters that guide you through learning C# the right way * Instruction that takes you from no prior programming knowledge through object-oriented programming * Deep exploration of Unity, today's most popular game engine on both macOS and Windows * Methods for understanding and debugging code issues you encounter Part III: Game Prototype Examples and Tutorials * In-depth tutorials for seven different game prototypes, including a simple action game, a space shooter, a solitaire card game, a word game, and a top-down adventure * Instructions to compile these games for PC, web, or any of the dozens of other release platforms supported by Unity * Improved structure and layout that makes the steps of each tutorial easier to follow * A completely new Dungeon Delver prototype not present in the first edition
Call Number: 794.81526 BON + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Agile Project Management for Dummies by Flex your project management muscle Agile project management is a fast and flexible approach to managing all projects, not just software development. By learning the principles and techniques in this book, you'll be able to create a product roadmap, schedule projects, and prepare for product launches with the ease of Agile software developers. You'll discover how to manage scope, time, and cost, as well as team dynamics, quality, and risk of every project. As mobile and web technologies continue to evolve rapidly, there is added pressure to develop and implement software projects in weeks instead of months--and Agile Project Management For Dummies can help you do just that. Providing a simple, step-by-step guide to Agile project management approaches, tools, and techniques, it shows product and project managers how to complete and implement projects more quickly than ever. Complete projects in weeks instead of months Reduce risk and leverage core benefits for projects Turn Agile theory into practice for all industries Effectively create an Agile environment Get ready to grasp and apply Agile principles for faster, more accurate development.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Computing and Computer Games, have a look at your Subject Guide.
The Game Production Handbook by The Game Production Handbook, Third Edition gives producers, leads, and studio managers all the information they need in order to successfully develop a game from concept to release-ready gold master. Fully revised and updated to reflect the rapidly evolving game development landscape, the third edition of this definitive and best-selling text covers pre-production, production, testing, and code release, as well as more specific topics including voiceovers, mo-cap shoots, marketing, localizations, managing external contractors, writing documentation, and project management practices. All-new material in the third edition includes new sections on mobile gaming and product management, an overview of useful production tools, and new interviews with industry professionals who offer an insider's view of successful game development as well as highly relevant real-world examples that contextualize the resources provided by the text. A detailed case study of a fictitious game project illustrates the production cycle, documentation, and other key production concepts. Accessible enough for beginners and comprehensive enough for experienced developers, The Game Production Handbook, Third Edition is an invaluable standalone text for students and professionals alike.Prepare students to successfully enter the exciting world of game development with The Game Production Handbook, Third Edition.New to the Third Edition: -Offers new interviews with industry experts who discuss insider knowledge and real world examples of what works and what doesn't work in game development.-Contains new sections on product management, audio as it relates to the production process, financing options, and the latest relevant production tools.
Call Number: 794.8 CHA
Publication Date: 2013
Fundamentals of Game Development by Written by veterans who are currently working in the game industry, Fundamentals of Game Development is unique because it provides the practical aspects of the processes involved in developing and completing game projects. Designed for introductory game development and game production courses, this text provides a hands-on approach using examples and exercises to walk the reader through the entire process of developing a game from concept to completion. The book covers the basic topics discussed in an introductory text as well as history, game genres, design, story-telling, character creation, pre-production, code release, career descriptions, and more.
Call Number: 794.81526 CHA
Publication Date: 2010
Game Design Perspectives by Everyone has their own idea of what good game design is, and this unique collection of articles provides a variety of different perspectives and ideas to consider in your designs. The articles are written by a diverse group of designers with varying levels of experience. Most of the key areas of game design are covered, and practical techniques and tools are included throughout. Each section begins with a broad overview of the topic and then includes a collection of ideas from other designers on how they think about or approach the subject. If you are just beginning in game design, you'll find useful information throughout the book, and if you're an experienced designer, you'll find new ideas to complement and compare with your own designs. Producers and managers will also benefit from the user community and managing a game development business sections. If you're interested in learning how other designers think about game design, you'll find plenty of great, and sometimes controversial, ideas to consider here!
Call Number: 794.8 LAR
Publication Date: 2002