Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Indie Game Development reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
The Indie Game Developer Handbook by The indie game developer's complete guide to running a studio. The climate for the games industry has never been hotter, and this is only set to continue as the marketplace for tablets, consoles and phones grow. Seemingly every day there is a story of how a successful app or game has earned thousands of downloads and revenue. As the market size increases, so does the number of people developing and looking to develop their own app or game to publish. The Indie Game Developer Handbook covers every aspect of running a game development studio--from the initial creation of the game through to completion, release and beyond. Accessible and complete guide to many aspects of running a game development studio from funding and development through QA, publishing, marketing, and more. Provides a useful knowledge base and help to support the learning process of running an indie development studio in an honest, approachable and easy to understand way. Case studies, interviews from other studies and industry professionals grant an first-hand look into the world of indie game development
Call Number: 794.81526 HIL + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Game Project Completed by How do you become a successful indie game developer?Excellent programming skills, smart game design and fancy graphics don't make you a successful game developer. It's the ability to complete a game project which brings you success, confidence and joy. Dominating the inner game of game making is what separates the pros from the wannabes. It's about staying focused, motivated and efficient as well as about thinking as a salesperson, not just as a designer, a programmer or an artist.This book shows you plenty of tricks how to prevent human nature from ruining your game project. Simple issues like embarrassment, procrastination or perfectionism can become death traps for your success. So you should be aware of these perils to avoid them or to cope with them.Most game development books address design, coding, graphics or similar topics. They teach how to make games. This book does not show you how to make them. It shows you how to finish them.
Call Number: 794.81536 SCH
Publication Date: 2014
The Game Production Handbook by The Game Production Handbook, Third Edition gives producers, leads, and studio managers all the information they need in order to successfully develop a game from concept to release-ready gold master. Fully revised and updated to reflect the rapidly evolving game development landscape, the third edition of this definitive and best-selling text covers pre-production, production, testing, and code release, as well as more specific topics including voiceovers, mo-cap shoots, marketing, localizations, managing external contractors, writing documentation, and project management practices. All-new material in the third edition includes new sections on mobile gaming and product management, an overview of useful production tools, and new interviews with industry professionals who offer an insider's view of successful game development as well as highly relevant real-world examples that contextualize the resources provided by the text. A detailed case study of a fictitious game project illustrates the production cycle, documentation, and other key production concepts. Accessible enough for beginners and comprehensive enough for experienced developers, The Game Production Handbook, Third Edition is an invaluable standalone text for students and professionals alike.Prepare students to successfully enter the exciting world of game development with The Game Production Handbook, Third Edition.New to the Third Edition: -Offers new interviews with industry experts who discuss insider knowledge and real world examples of what works and what doesn't work in game development.-Contains new sections on product management, audio as it relates to the production process, financing options, and the latest relevant production tools.
Call Number: 794.8 CHA
Publication Date: 2013
Fundamentals of Game Development by Written by veterans who are currently working in the game industry, Fundamentals of Game Development is unique because it provides the practical aspects of the processes involved in developing and completing game projects. Designed for introductory game development and game production courses, this text provides a hands-on approach using examples and exercises to walk the reader through the entire process of developing a game from concept to completion. The book covers the basic topics discussed in an introductory text as well as history, game genres, design, story-telling, character creation, pre-production, code release, career descriptions, and more.
Call Number: 794.81526 CHA
Publication Date: 2010
User Stories Applied by The concept of user stories has its roots as one of the main tenets of Extreme Programming. In simple terms, user stories represent an effective means of gathering requirements from the customer (roughly akin to use cases). This book describes user stories and demonstrates how they can be used to properly plan, manage, and test software development projects. The book highlights both successful and unsuccessful implementations of the concept, and provides sets of questions and exercises that drive home its main points. After absorbing the lessons in this book, readers will be able to introduce user stories in their organizations as an effective means of determining precisely what is required of a software application.
Call Number: 794.81 COH
Publication Date: 2004
Agile Testing by Te>Two of the industry's most experienced agile testing practitioners and consultants, Lisa Crispin and Janet Gregory, have teamed up to bring you the definitive answers to these questions and many others. In Agile Testing, Crispin and Gregory define agile testing and illustrate the tester's role with examples from real agile teams. They teach you how to use the agile testing quadrants to identify what testing is needed, who should do it, and what tools might help. The book chronicles an agile software development iteration from the viewpoint of a tester and explains the seven key success factors of agile testing. Readers will come away from this book understanding How to get testers engaged in agile development Where testers and QA managers fit on an agile team What to look for when hiring an agile tester How to transition from a traditional cycle to agile development How to complete testing activities in short iterations How to use tests to successfully guide development How to overcome barriers to test automation This book is a must for agile testers, agile teams, their managers, and their customers. The eBook edition of Agile Testing also is available as part of a two-eBook collection, The Agile Testing Collection (9780134190624).
Call Number: 794.81
Publication Date: 2008
Awesome 3D Game Development by This book teaches aspiring game developers how to create their own 3D computer games without programming skills, and provides an in-depth understanding of how the game design process works, from writing the story to creating the graphics.
Call Number: 794.8151 CRO
Publication Date: 2004
Indie Games PB by Honors for Don Daglow's From Dream to Delivery books: Winner, 2019 Independent Press Book Awards - Finalist, 2018 Foreword INDIES Book of the Year Awards - Finalist, 2019 National Indie Excellence Awards - Honors, Readers' Favorite Book Awards - Finalist, 2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards - Finalist, Book Excellence Awards - Medalist, CIPA EVVY AwardsA Step-by-Step Master Class for Indie Game Designers and Programmers. from the Creator of the Emmy(R) Winning Neverwinter Nights(TM)"Don Daglow has survived 40+ years creating games and always retained his positive attitude. Learn from the master." - Jeff Braun, co-founder of Maxis (Sim City, The Sims)"I was impressed with the organizational wisdom. I wish that I had been able to read this book 30 years ago." -- Chris Crawford, pioneering game designer and Founder of the Game Developers Conference"Indie Games: From Dream to Delivery should be on the desk of everyone who's considering an indie game company. It builds a bridge between books on game development and 'How to Start Your Own Business' books. Daglow starts with holistic questions that cover not only nuts and bolts issues of your games and your business, but the kind of life you want for you and your team. I wish I could go back in time and hand this book to the leaders of several start-ups I've watched crash and burn; it might have made them successful. I'll be recommending it to all of my students with indie dreams." -- Prof. Stephen Jacobs, School of Interactive Games and Media, Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT)"5 OUT OF 5 STARS -- Indie Games: From Dream to Delivery is the best book to start with if you are considering developing your own game. Don L. Daglow brings you his years of experience in game design and development in a straightforward and comprehensive guide. He will show you a step by step method, proven techniques, and pitfalls to avoid... It makes no false promises... Daglow writes in a voice that is a cross between a patient sage under a Bodhi tree and a hardcore street philosopher strengthened by mixed realities... The insights and nuggets of truth you will acquire in Indie Games: From Dream to Delivery will temper your idealism with realism and] stoke the fires of your passion." - Readers' Favorite; August, 2019 The only indie games book that asks, "What do you want to do?" before it starts telling you, "Here's what you need to do." Six sets of questions to review and refine your vision, skills and plansOver 500 pages of "lessons learned" from a 3-time Inc. 500(TM) CEO and award-winning game designerBased on Don Daglow's top-rated sessions at major games conferences around the worldIntroduction by indie games pioneer Rami IsmailThe only person who can define the path to creating your indie game is you. Indie Games: from Dream to Delivery helps you do just that, by leading you through a guided conversation with yourself.Section by section, you'll record your answers to carefully chosen questions. Then we'll use your unique personal responses to build the customized roadmap you need to turn your indie game into reality.Techniques to use, traps to avoid, terminology to understand. And how to fit it all into your life without damaging your relationships or your future.Never started a business? We've got it covered. Skip what you already know, dig deeper on things you want to learn.It's the one book you need to take your indie game from Dream to Delivery.
Call Number: 794.8 DAG
Publication Date: 2018
Game Design Workshop by Master the craft of game design so you can create that elusive combination of challenge, competition, and interaction that players seek. This design workshop begins with an examination of the fundamental elements of game design; then puts you to work in prototyping, playtesting and redesigning your own games with exercises that teach essential design skills. Workshop exercises require no background in programming or artwork, releasing you from the intricacies of electronic game production, so you can develop a working understanding of the essentials of game design.
Call Number: 794.81526 FUL + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Agile Game Development with Scrum by Deliver Better Games Faster, On Budget--And Make Game Development Fun Again! nbsp; Game development is in crisis--facing bloated budgets, impossible schedules, unmanageable complexity, and death march overtime. It's no wonder so many development studios are struggling to survive. Fortunately, there is a solution. Scrum and Agile methods are already revolutionizing development outside the game industry. Now, long-time game developer Clinton Keith shows exactly how to successfully apply these methods to the unique challenges of game development.nbsp; Keith has spent more than fifteen years developing games, seven of them with Scrum and agile methods. Drawing on this unparalleled expertise, he shows how teams can use Scrum to deliver games more efficiently, rapidly, and cost-effectively; craft games that offer more entertainment value; and make life more fulfilling for development teams at the same time. You'll learn to form successful agile teams that incorporate programmers, producers, artists, testers, and designers--and promote effective collaboration within and beyond those teams, throughout the entire process. From long-range planning to progress tracking and continuous integration, Keith offers dozens of tips, tricks, and solutions--all based firmly in reality and hard-won experience. Coverage includes Understanding Scrum's goals, roles, and practices in the context of game development Communicating and planning your game's vision, features, and progress Using iterative techniques to put your game into a playable state every two to four weeks-- even daily Helping all team participants succeed in their roles Restoring stability and predictability to the development process Managing ambiguous requirements in a fluid marketplace Scaling Scrum to large, geographically distributed development teams Getting started: overcoming inertia and integrating Scrum into your studio's current processes Increasingly, game developers and managers are recognizing that things can't go on the way they have in the past. Game development organizations need a far better way to work. Agile Game Development with Scrum gives them that--and brings the profitability, creativity, and fun back to game development.
Call Number: 005.1 KEI
Publication Date: 2010
The Indie Game Development Guide by This text details the process of designing, developing and self-publishing games for the PC. Whether you are a programmer, an artist or sound engineer, this book teaches how to lead an independent game project, explaining how to take a game idea from design through to publication on the Internet.
Call Number: 794.815 MIC
Publication Date: 2003
Scrum Project Management by Originally created for agile software development, scrum provides project managers with the flexibility needed to meet ever-changing consumer demands. Presenting a modified version of the agile software development framework, Scrum Project Management introduces Scrum basics and explains how to apply this adaptive technique to effectively manage a wide range of programs and complex projects. The book provides proven planning methods for controlling project scope and ensuring your project stays on schedule. It includes scrum tracking methods to help your team maintain a focus on improving throughput and streamlining communications. It also demonstrates how to: Combine traditional project management methods with scrum Adapt the familiar work breakdown structure to create scrum backlogs and sprints Use a scrum of scrums to manage programs Apply earned value management, critical path, and PERT in the context of scrum Having successfully deployed and implemented scrum across multiple companies and departments, the authors provide valuable insight into how they achieved their past successes and how they overcame the trials involved with the deployment of a scrum environment. Throughout the text they discuss improvisation, creative problem solving, and emergent phenomena--detailing the methods needed to ensure your team achieves project success.
Call Number: 658.404 PRI
Publication Date: 2019
Game Creation and Careers by Featuring interviews with many game designers, this book offers advice on the aspects of game creation. It covers topics such as creating games for the new generation platforms such as X-Box, Playstation 2, and more. It discusses the business side of the game industry. It helps readers learn how to sell their own shareware via the internet.
Call Number: 794.8151 SAL
Publication Date: 2003