Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Business Event Management reading list. Here you will find your essential and recommended books, as well as other resources to support you during this module.
Business Events by The dynamic and fast-expanding business events sector plays a vital role in the professional lives of hundreds of millions of people worldwide by providing settings in which they can meet for the purposes of negotiation, deliberation, motivation, the dissemination of knowledge, and the celebration of their greatest career-related achievements. This book provides a sound practical and theoretical context for the study of this subject by covering, in depth, all categories of business-related events including corporate meetings, association conferences, political events, incentive travel, exhibitions, corporate hospitality, awards ceremonies and SMERF (social, military, educational, religious and fraternal) gatherings. This new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect recent developments in business events, including: Five new chapters on business events destination marketing, knowledge, sustainability, ethics and technology New 'It's my job' voice boxes offering practical insights from people employed in the business events industry A wide range of new case studies illustrating business events throughout the world, including emerging business events destinations such as Russia and the Middle East Written in an accessible yet analytical manner, Business Events is essential reading for all students of events, tourism and hospitality management.
Call Number: 338.4791 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Event Stakeholders by This new text and reference focuses on stakeholder theory applied to event management and goes beyond traditional approaches by treating event management as an applied field. The book goes further than the economic impacts of events, and looks with a new perspective at issues such as-* The relationships between stakeholders and the consequences that such relationships create* An approach strongly rooted in management and the commonly-recognized management functions of planning, organizing, staffing, directing and controlling* Introducing throughout the relevant theory and showing how theory is being used in the events sectorThe book uses a wide range of relevant examples and case studies that will be relatable to the real world. Online resources will also be included, such as annotated bibliographies, lists of further readings and periodicals, and relevant websites. It will be an essential introduction for all events students and practitionersThe Events Management Theory and Methods Series examines the extent to which mainstream theory is being employed to develop event-specific theory, and to influence the very core practices of event management and event tourism. Each compact volume contains overviews of mainstream management theories and methods, examples from the events literature, case studies, and guidance on all aspects of planned-event management. They introduce the theory, show how it is being used in the events sector through a literature review, incorporate examples and case studies written by researchers and/or practitioners, and contain methods that can be used effectively in the real world. Series editor: Donald Getz.With online resource material, this mix-and-match collection is ideal for lecturers who need theoretical foundations and case studies for their classes, by students in need of reference works, by professionals wanting increased understanding alongside practical methods, and by agencies or associations that want their members and stakeholders to have access to a library of valuable resources.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Events Project Management by This book provides events management students with an accessible and essential introduction to project management. Written by both academics and industry experts, Events Project Management offers a unique blend of theory and practice to encourage and contextualise project management requirements within events settings. Key questions include: What is project management? How does it connect to events management? What is effective project management within the events sector? How does academic theory connect to practice? The book is coherently structured into 12 chapters covering crucial event management topics such as stakeholders, supply chain management, project management tools and techniques, and financial and legal issues. Guides, templates, case study examples, industry tips and activity tasks are integrated in the text and online to show practice and aid knowledge. Written in an engaging style, this text offers the reader a thorough understanding of how to successfully project manage an event from the creative idea to the concrete product. It is essential reading for all events management students.
Call Number: 394.2068 PIE + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Conferences and Conventions by Providing a comprehensive, in-depth analysis of the international conference industry, Conferences and Conventions: a global industry second edition examines the industry's origins, structure, economics, career opportunities, and future development. It also explains its links with the wider tourism industry. Now in its second edition, it is packed with a wealth of new international case studies covering the city of Melbourne, Queen Elizabeth II conference centre, London, Abu Dhabi, MCI Group, the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Glasgow and team San Jose, California. It also has new sections on: * Market segmentation and web marketing* Conference and event budgeting* Technology and communications, from video conferencing to web casting and pod casting* Corporate social responsibility and sustainable and green events. Conferences and Conventions: a global industry is illustrated with case studies and examples from around the world, including Great Britain, Canada, Australasia, Dubai, Greece, Thailand, South Africa, USA, Austria and many other destinations. It also provides challenging and reflective questions at the end of each chapter so that readers can test their knowledge and think about the issues raised, accompanied by practical assignments.Tony Rogers is Executive Director of the British Association of Conference Destinations and Association of British Professional Conference Organisers, UK
Call Number: 394.2068 ROG + eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Marketing Destinations and Venues for Conferences, Conventions and Business Events by Marketing Destinations and Venues for Conferences, Conventions and Business Events introduces students to key areas of marketing and promotion that are essential if destinations are to compete successfully in the rapidly expanding global business event sector. It achieves this by looking at issues surrounding business event marketing, strategic planning, destination and venue selling strategies and future challenges. The 2nd Edition has also been updated to include: New content on: destination marketing organisations' and venues' use of technology, use and impact of social media, sponsorship and partnership issues, economic changes as well as their responses to demand for sustainable meetings locations Updated and new case studies on growth areas and emerging markets e.g. Middle East, Asia, Eastern Europe/Russia, Africa and South America, but also to include material on mature markets, destinations and venue operators A genuinely international focus in terms of content and examples New review and discussion questions and, where appropriate, learning outcomes New online resource package for students and lecturers including: weblinks, power point slides and project questions (coming soon). Accessible, global and informative, this is essential reading for all future business event and conference managers.
Call Number: 658.8 ROG + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Events Management by Contemporary events management is a diverse and challenging field. This introductory textbook fully explores the multidisciplinary nature of events management and provides the student with all the practical skills and professional knowledge they need in order to succeed in the events industry. It introduces every core functional area of events management, such as marketing, finance, project management, strategy, operations, event design and human resources, in a vast array of different event settings from sport to political events. This new edition has been updated to include: * New and updated content on developments in technology, risk management and event volunteering. * New and updated case studies that include emerging economies. * New industry voices by international practitioners. Every topic is brought to life through vivid case studies, personal biographies and examples of best practice from the real world of events management. Written by a team of authors with many years' experience of working in the events industry, Events Management: An Introduction is the essential course text for any events management programme.
Call Number: 394.2068 BLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Events Management by Events Management is the must-have introductory text providing a complete A-Z of the principles and practices of planning, managing and staging events. The book: introduces the concepts of event planning and management presents the study of events management within an academic environment discusses the key components for staging an event, covering the whole process from creation to evaluation examines the events industry within its broader business context, covering impacts and event tourism provides an effective guide for producers of events contains learning objectives and review questions to consolidate learning. Each chapter features a real-life case study to illustrate key concepts and place theory in a practical context, as well as preparing students to tackle any challenges they may face in managing events. Examples include the Beijing Olympic Games, Google Zeitgeist Conference, International Confex, Edinburgh International Festival, Ideal Home Show and Glastonbury Festival. Carefully constructed to maximise learning, the text provides the reader with: a systematic guide to organizing successful events, examining areas such as staging, logistics, marketing, human resource management, control and budgeting, risk management, impacts, evaluation and reporting fully revised and updated content including new chapters on sustainable development and events, perspectives on events, and expanded content on marketing, legal issues, risk and health and safety management a companion website for lecturers and students which includes PowerPoint slides, extra case studies and multiple choice questions to aid both teaching and learning.
Call Number: 394.2068 BOW
Publication Date: 2010
Risk Management and Corporate Governance by The asymmetry of responsibilities between management and corporate governance both for day-to-day operations and the board's monthly or quarterly review and evaluation remains an unresolved challenge. Expertise in the area of risk management is a fundamental requirement for effective corporate governance, if not by all, certainly by some board members. This means that along with board committees such as "compensation", "audit", "strategy" and several others, "risk management" committees must be established to monitor the likelihood of certain events that may cause the collapse of the firm. Risk Management and Corporate Governance allows academics and practitioners to assess the state of international research in risk management and corporate governance. The chapters overlay the areas of risk management and corporate governance on both financial and operating decisions of a firm while treating legal and political environments as externalities to decisions undertaken.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Events Management by Events Management provides an introductory overview of the fundamentals in managing events from conception to delivery, highlighting both the theoretical and operational aspects, to prepare students for a career in events management and hospitality. Now in its Third Edition, the authors have included new chapters on Crowd Control and Crowd Dynamic; Expos, Conferences and Conventions; Brand Co-creation and Social Media, and have added new content on contemporary trends like the environmental and social impact of large scale events such as the Olympics. International case studies covering all manner of events are used throughout and include: The impact of the London 2012 and Rio 2016 Olympic Games Van Gogh Augmented Reality in Nuenen Sands EXPO and Convention Center, Las Vegas Glastonbury Music Festival Lame Horse Night Club, Russia The Leeds Caribbean Festival Suitable for Events Management students at Undergraduate and Postgraduate level.
Call Number: 394.2068 RAJ
Publication Date: 2017