Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Professional Development, and Career Planning, in Practice reading list. Here you will find your essential and recommended books, as well as other resources to support you during this module.
Business Student's Handbook by ' The Business Student's Handbook brings together personal skills, study skills and employability ?skills to help you succeed in your academic and professional lives. This handbook is all about ?applying theory to practice; so you will find it filled with exercises, practical suggestions ?and tips. ? This new edition covers: ?Expanded sections on employability and transferable skills to help you become a highly ?desirable graduate. A strong focus on written and oral communication skills and presentation skills.' Expanded data analysis and numeracy sections.' New emphasis on self-management, team work and planning makes this an essential resource ?for any business student.' The new TECHSkills boxes focus on your digital skills to ensure you're making the most of the ?best tools you can find online.
Call Number: 650.1 CAM + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Critical Thinking Skills by Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Call Number: STSK 370.152 COT
Publication Date: 2017
Events Management by This book is the essential text for all Events Management students. It is constructed around the authors' 6E's Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Management Framework. It contains 87 key models (within the 6E's Framework) that all Events Management students will need to be successful in their studies, setting them up for a fantastic career in the fast-growing events industry. It broadens the definition of Events Managers, which the authors - in the new events paradigm - reframe as Event, Venue and Experience (EVE) Managers. Finally, it is authored by academics (Chris Edger and Richard Oddy) who, between them, have nearly fifty years' experience operating, teaching and writing within the leisure/events domain.
Call Number: 394.2068 EDG
Publication Date: 2018
Understanding Work-Based Learning by This important book is for anyone who wants to make the most of work-based learning: employees, employers, educationalists, policy makers and researchers. It sheds light on ways of giving full-time employees the chance to take up learning opportunities which are of the same level and rigour as those on offer to the full time student. It approaches the subject from the perspective of the learner, drawing on case studies to provide detailed insight. It suggests that universities already have in place much of the machinery needed to support learners who are in work: they just don't make enough use of it. Look closely and you will find a substantial legacy of this kind of activity by universities. This is a book about seizing opportunities. In one volume, Understanding Work-Based Learning makes a valuable contribution to current employer engagement and learner demand debates, and provides first hand learner experiences to guide existing and potential work based learners, employers, educationalists, policy makers, and researchers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Getting Critical by This concise, no-nonsense guide shows students how to adopt a critical approach in order to unlock their academic potential. It explains why students need to be critical and provides practical advice on how they can integrate critical analysis into their research, reading and writing. Each succinct chapter is visually engaging and informative, and gives students the support they need to succeed in applying critical thinking to their work. It is an invaluable resource for all students who are required to write essays, reports and other pieces of extended writing as part of their course. It is also an ideal text to be used in conjunction with study skills programmes and critical thinking modules at HE and FE level.
Call Number: STSK 371.302 WIL
Publication Date: 2014
Academic Writing by Now in its fifth edition, Academic Writing helps international students succeed in writing essays and reports for their English-language academic courses. Thoroughly revised and updated, it is designed to let teachers and students easily find the topics they need, both in the classroom and for self-study. The book consists of five parts: The Writing Process Elements of Writing Language Issues Vocabulary for Writing Writing Models The first part explains and practises every stage of essay writing, from choosing the best sources, reading and note-making, through to referencing and proofreading. The four remaining parts, organised alphabetically, can be taught in conjunction with the first part or used on a remedial basis. A progress check at the end of each part allows students to assess their learning. All units are fully cross-referenced, and a complete set of answers to the practice exercises is included. New topics in this edition include Writing in Groups, Written British and American English, and Writing Letters and Emails. In addition, the new interactive website has a full set of teaching notes as well as more challenging exercises, revision material and links to other sources. Additional features of the book include: Models provided for writing tasks such as case studies and essays Use of authentic academic texts from a wide range of disciplines Designed for self-study as well as classroom use Useful at both undergraduate and postgraduate level Glossary to explain technical terms, plus index Written to deal with the specific language issues faced by international students, this practical, user-friendly book is an invaluable guide to academic writing in English.
Call Number: 808.0428 BAI
Publication Date: 2018
The Study Skills Handbook by This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Call Number: STSK 378.170281 COT
Publication Date: 2019
Skills for Success by Whatever stage your students are at, it's never too soon for them to be thinking about their future. Competition for jobs is fierce, and having a degree is no longer enough. This indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and develop the skills and capabilities required by today's employers. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. This versatile resource is ideal for students on personal development modules from foundation through to postgraduate level. It can also be used independently by students from all disciplines.
Call Number: PGR 650.1 COT + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Event Studies by Event Studiesis the only book devoted to developing knowledge and theory about planned events. It focuses on event planning and management, outcomes, the experience of events and the meanings attached to them, the dynamic processes shaping events and why people attend them. This title draws from a large number of foundation disciplines and closely related professional fields, to foster interdisciplinary theory focused on planned events. It brings together important discourses on events including event management, event tourism, and the study of events within various disciplines that are able to shed light on the roles, importance and impacts of events in society and culture. New to this edition: New sections on social and intangible influences, consumer psychology and legal environment, planning and policy framework to reflect recent developments in the field Extended coverage of philosophy and research methods and how they can best be used in event studies; social media as a marketing tool; and the class and cultural influences of events New and additional case studies throughout the book from a wide range of international events Companion website to include PowerPoint slides and updated Instructor's Manual including suggested lecture outlines and sequence, quizzes per chapter and essay questions.
Call Number: 394.2 GET + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Work-Based Learning Student Handbook by This is the original full-length handbook which caters to the specific needs of work-based learners. Compiled by work-based learning experts from institutions across the world, this hands-on guide helps new learners to successfully navigate academia and get the most out of their university experience. It provides clear guidance on the processes involved in getting recognition for prior learning, setting up learning contracts and completing work-based projects. Real-life case studies, useful tips and reflective activities are embedded throughout to enrich students' learning experience. This is the essential companion for all undergraduates on work-based learning degrees across a range of disciplines, including Business and Management, Health and Social Care, Law, Sport and Exercise Science and Tourism. It will also be an invaluable resource for work-based learning tutors, workplace supervisors and organisations with an interest in work-based learning.
Call Number: 378.170281 HEL + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Academic Writing and Grammar for Students by Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post to arrive? Request and receive your e-inspection copy today! 'Alex unpacks the complexities of language to provide sound advice on writing for university at all levels. The book ranges from basic grammar to more advanced examples such as the complexities of "hedging". The advice is well supported by examples from a range of disciplines.' - Dr Sue Tangney, Cardiff Metropolitan University 'This exciting new publication helps students understand the requirements of academic writing in today's world. I have no hesitation in recommending this book to all students.' - Penelope Hood, Anglia Ruskin University This handy guide shows you how to quickly get to grips with using academic English grammar and punctuation. Highlighting common grammar mistakes and how to avoid them, the author also shares a wealth of examples and advice from tutors from a range of subjects, enabling you to immediately improve your work at university. Inside, you'll find practical advice on: common mistakes punctuation conciseness proofreading referencing. All the advice has been tried and tested through workshops that the author runs with students. It is ideal for undergraduates on a wide range of courses, to help promote independent learning as well as practical writing skills. Personal tips and advice from the author online For additional resources and one-to-one advice from Alex 'like' his Facebook page Academic Writing and Grammar for Students: www.facebook.com/academicwritingandgrammarforstudents SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Call Number: STSK 808.066378 OSM
Publication Date: 2013
Cite Them Right by This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
Call Number: STSK 808.027 PEA
Publication Date: 2019